We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop Over Before Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #76 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stop Over Before Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Room mate Emma 1day before and 1 day after our cruise. The hotel is located very close to the Metro and walking distance to La Rambla. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by. The rooms were clean, comfortable and a nice size for a short stay. There were no outside windows in our room but we didn't miss it as it was just a place to sleep. The staff were awesome! They spoke English well and were very friendly and helpful. They even stored our luggage as check in is not till 1 pm. We were also lucky to get a complimentary tour due to a promotion by Opal(a car company). Barcelona is a beautiful city and Room mate Emma just enhanced our experience. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: This was a great place to stay before and after the cruise. The higher rooms are quieter(rm 605) Rm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TED1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear TED1920;

On behalf of all Room Mate Emma´s team, thank you very much for the fantastic comment about your stays with us.
Thanks for commenting that our staff and cleaning are wonderful, because we want you to feel as a friend´s home and it's an honor to know that we succeeded.

Also thanks to comment our promotion with Opel were so nice.

If in the future you return to Barcelona, I hope you consider Room Mate Emma, will be a pleasure to have your visit one more time.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Room Mate Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    470
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
136
693
63
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late October early November. As other reviewers have noted it is excellently located in Eixample. Very handy to the metro and within easy walking to some of the best streets and shopping in Barcelona. Lots of excellent restaurants and cafes around the hotel. The breakfast was very good value for money. The staff were very efficient and helpful particularly Issac who we had dealings with. Would highly recommend this hotel. The room, while not particularly large, was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very good. The staff, who all spoke English, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCK0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear JCK0956,

Thank you very much to share with us how nice and comfortable was your stay in Room Mate Emma.

We are so proud about our staff (thanks for your incredible references about Isaac) because we check day by day it is so important to get our main idea:Feel you as in a friend´s home.
And by your comments we were hepful and you enjoyed very much our location so close from everything, and we are so happy to know about it.

We hope to receive your visit when you return to Barcelona.

Kind Regards.

Elena Gómez
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Room Mate Emma

We hope to receive your visit when return to Barcelona.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The service we experienced here was better than some of the 5* hotels we have stayed in. We did not expect this and the staff could not have been any more helpful, very strong communication skills, nice atmosphere, great location.

I would highly recommend staying here for any visit to Barcelona. I would definitely return.

I can see why it rated so highly on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piglett81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Piglett81,

All members of our staff want to give you sincerely thanks for your incredible words about your stay at Room Mate Emma.

I suppose you know our main idea is to feel you as a friend´s home, and we are so proud to have been helpful during your visit to do it and know that you loved everything about your stay with us.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to discover Barcelona again.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Room Mate Emma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Room mate Emma is ideally located in Eixample. Lots of nice options to eat around, the metro station (provincia) is 2 min away. The staff is really helpful and the room is ok (we had a room on the first floor which wasn't very nice but I guess on the higher floors it's much nicer). We had a deluxe room (3 girls staying in the same room) and it was comfortable. The room is clean and the lighting makes the room look much nicer than it actually is. All and all a good stay at Room mate Emma!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Misstidy,

First of all, thank you so much to share with us your experience at Room Mate Emma.
We are so grateful to know everything were nice during your stay with us.
Next time we will try to give you a room on high floor, but in case of been triple, must be on the 1st-2nd floor because of the room space.

We hope to receive your visit one more time to enjoy again our emplacement,magnificent staff and all our facilities.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Room Mate Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hi,

We returned yesterday from Room Mate Emma in Barcelona. 3 nights and four days in Barcelona which can only be described as a wonderful trip and experience. The hotel as a base was perfect for us. We prefer to walk and with the unseasonal high temperature and beautiful sun we found ourselves walking miles around the city.
The metro can take you everywhere, but to be honest if you are reasonable fit and can walk for 30 mins plus you can pretty much walk to the majority of central attarctions. We walked to the seafront a couple of times without any problem. Walking is the best way to appreciate the architect of this wonderful city. Every block has a gem.

The hotel room itself is modern, CLEAN as can be, rooms cleaned daily, towels changed, toiletries topped up.
We paid for a superior room and the room was perfect for us. OK there was no tea making facilities and no mirror in the lounge/bedroom which would have been handy but we are not complaining one bit as the pluses way out weigh the negatives. The view from our window wasn't great by any means but we didnt go to stare out of a hotel window, we went to see the city. Our room was 506 on the 5th floor. We could hear a rumble of the underground train occasionally but I am the lightest of sleepers and it didin't interupt our sleep one bit.

STAFF - well I can honestly say that these people deserve the greatest of credit. The managers and people who own the hotel need to take care of the staff as they are very special and helpful. Always smiling, saying hello and helping us with directions and what to do/not to do. Even helped us get tickets for the Barcelona v AC Milan game :-)

We didnt do breakfast as we like to try to surrounding cafes and wow was there a few. One particular which we used every day for coffee/tea and croissants each morning. Just over 4 euros for the two of us!

All in all a big thank you.

*Remember it isnt the Ritz but it's clean, roomy, well situated if you like short walks and a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dave H,

On behalf of all Room Mate Emma´s team, thank you very much for the fantastic and descriptive comment about your stay with us.
We take notes on all aspects you show us, thanks to them we will improve more and more.
Thanks for commenting that our staff and cleaning are wonderful, because we want you to feel as a friend´s home and it's an honor to know that we succeeded.
If in the future you return to Barcelona, I hope you consider Room Mate Emma, will be a pleasure to have your visit one more time.

Kindest regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.
Hotel Room Mate Emma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked on the basis of trip advisor reviews and were happy with our choice.

The hotel is in the Balmes area and a pleasant 15 minute stroll from Plaza de Catalunya. There are 3 different tube lines with stations in the near area and we used these quite a bit as one of our party had recently broken his leg. Opposite is a supermarket for drinks if you need.

Our room was on the 9th floor and had a view across the rooftops. It was quite large with a sofa and table. The bathroom is in the room so if you are sharing be aware that if someone is sat in the bed they can see into the shower/bath. With this, and the toilet being just behind a sliding door to the side of the bed, it is reasonable to say this isn't "first weekend away together" territory.

Nonetheless we were happy with the room, the bed comfy and it was very clean. Breakfast was basic but OK and the front desk was helpful.

All told the hotel was very good value for money in a city that can charge more than is needed.

Room Tip: Room 902 was quiet with a nice view over the rooftops rather than facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Clifttravels,

Is a great pleasure for Emma´s team to know your stay with us was as nice as you explained, because is so important for us that you felt to be as a friend's home as we always try with every client.
Thank you for your comments about our helpful staff and comfortable new beds(changed 2 weeks ago) and we take note about all your comments in order to improve day by day.

Waiting for your next visit,
Kind Regards

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.
Room Mate Emma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was a little disappointed, it looked quite glam in the photos but a lot of the room was painted chipboard! It was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful, but it wasn't the stylish, chic hotel I was expecting. I'd even paid a few pounds more for a superior room but it wasn't particularly big, and the view was of a roof and a wall.
The location is good though. There's lots of little bars and cafes nearby.
I recommend taking the Metro to Diagonal when arriving, it's a bit of a hike with bags from Placa de Catalunya.
We didn't opt for breakfast, instead getting up late and grabbing something at the bakery on the corner - it's hectic but cheap and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear LadyKlondon,

Thanks for sharing with us your opinion about your recently stay at Room Mate Emma.

As you know, to improve day by day is very important for us to know directly from our clients how nice were their stays.
I´m so proud about your thinks about our staff and opposite, I´m sad to check that you did not enjoy the style. If we were known it, we would have been able to change to another room,So,next time you will visit our city,I would be so glad if you contact us to give you all our options and I´m totally sure you will enjoy very much.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.
Hotel Room Mate Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#70 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#58 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#27 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#67 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing