We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #90 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was a little disappointed, it looked quite glam in the photos but a lot of the room was painted chipboard! It was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful, but it wasn't the stylish, chic hotel I was expecting. I'd even paid a few pounds more for a superior room but it wasn't particularly big, and the view was of a roof and a wall.
The location is good though. There's lots of little bars and cafes nearby.
I recommend taking the Metro to Diagonal when arriving, it's a bit of a hike with bags from Placa de Catalunya.
We didn't opt for breakfast, instead getting up late and grabbing something at the bakery on the corner - it's hectic but cheap and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear LadyKlondon,

Thanks for sharing with us your opinion about your recently stay at Room Mate Emma.

As you know, to improve day by day is very important for us to know directly from our clients how nice were their stays.
I´m so proud about your thinks about our staff and opposite, I´m sad to check that you did not enjoy the style. If we were known it, we would have been able to change to another room,So,next time you will visit our city,I would be so glad if you contact us to give you all our options and I´m totally sure you will enjoy very much.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.
Hotel Room Mate Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Perfect spot in Barcelona - easy tube access to all parts of town but short stroll to Rambla and Passaig de Gracia - really friendly staff - special mention to the folks who make the rooms up, excellent. We had an outside facing room which was great for light and fresh air but very noisy at night (Though we aren't used to noise) Good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear fieldvole,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in Room Mate Emma.
Is a great pleasure to know you enjoyed very much the Hotel ,also the location( just in the Eixample area and our services as the housekeeping.

We will be so glad if you would be interested to repeat your Room Mate Experience and check the improvements made like the change of our mattresses.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager,
Room Mate Emma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in RoomMate Emma in October 2013. Unfortunately it was a so-called 'interior' room, which basically means that you do nor have any daylight and access to fresh air because the room is facing the atrium of the building. So my good advise to travellers will be to double-check that the room they book is actually not the 'interior' one. Otherwise you pretty much risk to spoil your experience in Barcelona altogether, cause your sleep will be nightmarish...

Another word should be said about breakfast, which many of other travellers describe as magnificent and perior. Sorry, but it is NEITHER magnificent, NOR superior. It is rather basic. In the country where gastronic experience is essential, having such breakfast as at Emma's is somewhat insulting.

In a word, I would hardly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not choose the interior room. Although on Booking.com there is no warning about it. Double check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlenaAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank for the time it has taken to writing about your stay in Room Mate Emma.

I regret that we did not meet your expectations. But, we wish that we have made known your displeasure when you was hosted, we could had the opportunity to offer a change of room in order to feel more comfortable.

Regarding the breakfast, we note about your opinion, but we must bear that the price of our breakfast is very tight, and the relationship with the high quality we offer is extraordinary.

I will be happy that you contact me in order to help book in any Room Mate Hotel, and have the opportunity to change the image that you have.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Very clean and modern twin room. Only down side is that rooms don't have windows (except onto central atrium) so it could be a little disorientating. The hotel is close to an underground and we could hear the trains pass under but it wasn't troublesome.

Staff had excellent English and were v helpful.

The location is good for sights and shopping and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Had no issues with pickpockets despite being warned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Katrina B;

All members of Emma's staff are so glad to know your stay with us were so nice,as you wanted to share on your comments.
Is so important for us check you felt to be as a friend's home as we always try with every client.

Please,If you would return to visit our city,do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Emma during our holidays in Spain in first week of July. Emma's staff was very helpful and was accurate in guiding us to visit various places of interest during the available time. Rooms are clean, location is near a subway station and also near shopping area. There are lots of restaurant within walking distance. We loved Italian restaurant near by, La Tagliatalle....exceptional food....all in a very good experience....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Nirav40.

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at Room Mate Emma Hotel and also for the special mention to our staff.

For us was a pleasure to help you giving you information about Barcelona and emblematic places to visit and finally convert your stay in a Fantastic one!!

All members of Room Mate Emma want to see you on your next visit.

Kind Regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited Barcelona for a few days before going on a Mediterranean Cruise and stayed 4 nights at Room Mate Emma. RM Emma is clean, conveniently located, has friendly staff and a great breakfast. It is located 2 blocks west of the subway and great shopping. There are lots of restaurants near by. The rooms are funky, ours was white and burgundy. We definitely would stay at a Room Mate Hotel again.
If you fly to Barcelona, there is great bus transportation from the airport to the Center of the city. The bus stops at Catalunya Square which is about one mile from Room Mate Emma.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Vic D.

All Emma´s team wants to thank you your comments about your stay with us.
As you know, is very important for another clients, who are looking for a hotel, and also for us because is very important to know that our effort to make your stay as a friend´s home stay have been sucessful.

Hope to see you soon(at Emma or another Room Mate Hotels).

Kind Regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly and helpful. Room is very nice size. Hotel is in a perfect area. Lots of restaurant options within just a few blocks. Breakfast is well worth the extra price. Lobby chairs should change as they are too low to the ground. Very modern hotel. Wifi and ability to get wifi mobile also. Ask at the desk. We loved our stay.

Thank RichJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear RichJellybean;

Thank you very much for telling us your stay were such comfortable as you described.
We everyday try to improve our services to help you to find the best stay, from staff, to cleaning and style(we take note about your comments), and we are so proud to have done it.

We hope to receive your visit soon in Room Mate Emma,

Kindest Regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#51 of 516 in Barcelona
375 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 516 in Barcelona
1,226 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#21 of 516 in Barcelona
447 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#70 of 516 in Barcelona
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $67 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing