We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff, nice rooms”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located at the heart of the city, few minutes walk from Catalunia square, La Ramblas, Segrada Famillia, gothic, etc. many restaurants and bars next to the hotel. The room is nice but I heard the street. The room is comfort and clean, the staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank matyovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Emma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay in this fabulous city, the hotel is fairly central we managed to walk almost everywhere and the local bakeries were great for a very reasonably priced breakfast. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we were able to hear lots of traffic noise as well as late revellers enjoying themselves!!!!! This we could cope with but we were woken each morning with drilling and banging, we asked at reception if there was work being undertaken within the hotel and were told that the work was outside of the hotel and therefore nothing could be done!!! Probably best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper as I am... Shame about the noise it was otherwise a very nice place to stay, beds are very comfy and the shower was. So very good. The only other little annoyance was the lack of lights in the room it's very hard to read at night and early morning. Probably try another hotel when I come back with my husband next year..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel, you won't regret it.. Don't pay for breakfast there are...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyW689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent central location for this great modern and clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, good choice of continental breakfast. Internet available in the reception if you require it. We were provided with some good recommendations for eating out by the hotel staff, when we asked.

We were offered a room that overlooked a glass roofed atrium rather than the street. We changed to a street facing room but it was very noisy and we constantly heard the sliding door into reception. We were able to change back to the other room for the rest of our stay and it was a lot quieter and lovely.

The open plan bathroom in the first room did not afford any privacy at all. It was a separate toilet with sliding door. Then the shower with a clear glass sliding door that was viewable from the room (ok, it steamed up when you were in the shower). The sink was in an alcove with no door, therefore very little privacy. Not sure WHO'S idea this was, because the other room we were given was a much bigger room with a "proper" shower room that was private (as it should be) Would’ve liked a full length mirror in the room, or even one above the desk/dressing table.

No hotel bar, or tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but there’s a 24 hour friendly supermarket next door with really cheap booze, and you can get takeaway tea/coffee from anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and not overlooking the street as it's noisy at ALL hours of the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Such a great location that we walked almost everywhere from Room Mate Emma to La Rambla, Sagrada Familia etc. Plenty of bars, cafes, clubs a short walk from the hotel with a little research. A particular favourite was Bar Paris a short walk away with cheap drinks and a friendly atmosphere. Reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times of day and night. Breakfast was self service, always relaxed with plenty of spare seats and staff replaced food regularly. Continental fodder only. Scrambled eggs and bacon were available but these didn't look too appetising. If you want a full english this is not the place for you. There was no bar and no tea/coffeemaking facilities in the room but as a great cup of coffee is readily available on every street corner why make instant in your room?
The rooms are quirky but not terribly practical. My partner was not a fan of the open plan style bathroom. Frosted glass door for toilet, open plan sink with mirror and clear glass shower door(clearly visibily if anyone walked into the room so don't forget to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on when you take a shower!
I personally would have liked a full length mirror in the room and a proper dressing table so often missing in hotels (they seem to be designed by men!) so that I could sit and dry my hair and apply make-up etc instead of having to stand in front of sink. Would consider staying here again but would definitely recommend staying in this area of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Even rooms with windows seem very dark so I wouldn't recommend the internal rooms with no window...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the colourful rooms and lighting features to the huge shower, to the breakfast, Room Mate is brilliant value for money. We were lucky to have a room to the front with a window because apparently inner facing rooms do not have one, though if you want to completely escape streat noise then that might be a plus! There are inbuilt soundsystems in every room - a really cool feature - but ours stopped working on the first day and wasn't fixed.

The staff are very friendly, however I didn't find them very helpful when asking about restaurants etc in the local area. Also, whilst the breakfast was great the staff on duty there seemed a little stricts. My partner fell ill with a bug and couldnt even move, let alone go get breakfast, so when I asked the staff member if I could take a piece of toast to the room, she seemed suspicious and not super happy about letting me take anything... I felt it was a little unsympathetic! I also felt like she was watching me to see what I was doing... But thats a fairly minor thing really.

Overall fantastic urban hotel, will stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleterial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, new modern hotel. The building is not very impressive and there is no view. The great plus is the excellent service and the very friendly staff. Very good breakfast and convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location, not that central but close enough to walk from the main sights. It has a nice feel to it and the staff are really friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
366 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
1,015 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#47 of 513 in Barcelona
1,178 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing