We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable, simple, nice staff, no extra service”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #69 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable, simple, nice staff, no extra service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want a good, comfortable, clean room, in a modern environment, do not need to have all the extras of a 4 star hotel, this is a good choice.
We had booked 3 nights, but the first night it was full. So they sent us to the sister hotel - Room Mate Pau, more central - for that night. Apologized during the 3 days!
Very helpful and the bed is quite comfortable.
But do not expect a great lobby and extras.
Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Customer,

As the acommodation manager of Room Mate EMMA and on behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel with the rest of tripadvisor users.

We apologize for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay and we really wish you enjoyed and had a nices stay with us despite of all.

Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you ever decide to return to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    479
    88
    18
    10
See reviews for
143
713
66
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Room Mate Emma Barcelona between 12/24/12 and 12/28/12. We had reservations to stay at a different hotel between 1/2/13 and 1/4/13, but we decided to cancel those and return to Room Mate Emma. Why?

Location. The hotel's location could not be beat, less than a block from a metro station on a quiet street (by Barcelona standards) in a safe neighborhood that was close to many tourist sites, restaurants, and shops. We walked from the hotel to the Sagrada Familia, Barri Gotic, most of the Gaudi-related sites. We even walked back from Barcelonata (about 30-45 minutes) one beautiful afternoon. At the same time, we felt extremely safe in the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood.

Price. The hotel's price was excellent, relative to its location, the level of service provided, and the facilities. I have stayed in many places in Europe, and Room Mate Emma outshone most other hotels in terms of the quality-price ratio. The breakfast, at 6.90 euro, was a great deal as well. It was well-stocked with a good variety of breakfast foods, including various types of eggs, cheeses, breads, fruits, drinks, etc... As a plus, breakfast was served until noon each day.

Staff. The hotel's staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I am used to cynical, smart-aleck service when in Europe. But at Room Mate Emma the staff is friendly and goes of their way to help guests and make them feel at home. For example, I asked one morning about the brand of orange juice served (which was quite tasty for being bottled), and a staff member took the time to bring out the bottle to show me the brand.

Rooms. The rooms were clean and offered bright, interesting design. Rooms also have a little fridge where you can keep your beverages and snacks cold. The rooms also had a built-in speaker system. If you have a double-sided 3.5mm cord you can even plug your iPhone, iPod, or other music player into the system. That was particularly useful for me, as I sleep with a white noise maker when I travel; I was able to have the white noise surround the entire room. I found the rooms to be a bit on the warm side (probably because other guests were cranking the heat). If you have trouble sleeping in overly warm rooms during winter months, make sure to get a room with a window that you can open at nights. Otherwise, you can probably get away with a window-less room, especially if you visit BCN in the winter, when it is likely to be dark by the time you return to your room anyway.

Sleeping conditions. I am a light sleeper, so I take this very seriously. I found the bed to be satisfactory and the sheets, and pillows to be quite comfortable. The hotel was quiet, for being in a major European city. I had no problems sleeping, noise-wise.

If (when!) I return to Barcelona I plan to stay at Room Mate Emma again!

Room Tip: * The built-in room speaker system has a tiny blue light that flashes all night long. It wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafaldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Monica and Daniel,

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA we could just dedicate a big THANK YOU to you for the nice, beautiful and special comment you have made about your stay in our hotel.

We really appreciate you enjoyed your stay from the beginning to the end and we are so happy you value positively every detail of our hotel, from the location to the design, the cleanliness and confort of our rooms,our breakfast but beyond of all that we are happier and most gratefull because of the nice words you have dedicate to the quality of our service. Knowing that we have contributed to make your stay a bit nicer motivate us to continue working and improving.

All the team wishes you keep us in good memory and it would be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back whenever you decide to return to Barcelona.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Room Mate Emma hotel from 24.12 to 01.01. The hotel struck me as very modern, stylish and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned daily. In the room there is a tv, radio and a fridge, and I absolutely loved the design solution of the bathroom! In fact, now and then some noise from the street could be heard in the room but it did not bother me at all, because we spent each day 'touring heavily' and by night we were so tired we did not care about the noise(and it was not that loud anyway). By and large, Room Mate Emma was a perfect place to return to after an exhausting day of sightseeing - the ambience is so pleasant and beautiful. I advise this hotel to everyone who appreciates modern design and efficient staff. For me this hotel was an unforgettful experience and it made me want to visit more hotels of this chain.
Muchas gracias por hacer nuestra estancia en Barcelona inolvidable! Fue un placer pasar tiempo en este hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaMinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Olga,

On behalf ot the entire team of Room Mate EMMA I would like to thank you for taking your time to explain to other tripadvisor users your experience in our hotel.

All of our departments try to work hardly every day to improve and provide our guests with a pleasant and unforgettable stay so we are very happy to know that in your case we helped to make it happen specially during this special occasion you shared with us as Christmas time has to be.

Please do not hesitate to contact me whenever you decide to return back to Barcelona. It would be a huge pleasure to all of us to welcome you back in EMMA.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We checked in after travelling for 24 hours and slept well, but the next four nights were very noisy as the hotel is located near many clubs and bars - and we learned the hard way that people in Barcelona are out in the streets until 4 or 5 am - even setting off firecrackers! We loved the decor in the hotel, bed was comfortable, room was small but functional, staff was very helpful to get us places, and the breakfast was very good serving until Noon. If you want to sleep at night, you could try a room at the back of the hotel - that may help. If you want to stay out all night, or you weren't bothered by noise, this hotel would be great for you!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for the comment you have shared with other tripadvisor users about your stay in Room Mate EMMA. They are very helpful for us because they allow us to improve to
offer a good service to all of our customers.

We hope that you had a nice stay at EMMA and that you will keep us in good memory.

The whole Emma Team wishes you the best.

Kind regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have stayed there in November 2012 for a week. The staff were very helpful from the beginning when we were trying to make reservation and when we arrived there. Room was clean, I love the fact that there is a button beside the bed for the music goes to the washroom :) so much fun staying at this hotel. Breakfast was amazing!!! Even though we had plans for limited time we couldn't rush for the breakfast, we took our time and enjoyed every moment of it :)
Location was good, staff is always helpful to find your way. We went to Ibiza for couple days and came back to stay with them again. Everything was just PERFECT!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Custormer,

On behalf of all Emma Team I would like to convey how grateful we are for the nice comment you have made on tripadvisor website about your stay in our hotel.

Our main purpose is constantly work to improve and offer a good service and help our customers to have an unforgettable and nice stay in Barcelona so we are very pleased if we helped you to get it.

If you ever decide to return to Barcelona it would be a huge pleasure for us to welcome you back in Emma so please do not hesitate to contact us again whenever you may decide to come back.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

unique styling of the hotel, top service and friendliness of staff, good breakfast, convenient location in the artdeco district and close to subway, the only deficit are the windows of the rooms on the street side as we slepped at the seventh floor and nevertheless heard all the noise from the street during the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank NikolasBracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Nikolas,

All Emma Team wants to thank you for your nice comment about your stay at our hotel.

It is a great pleasure for the whole team that our daily work helped you to have a pleasant stay in Barcelona and it would be such a nice pleasure to welcome you back in Emma if you ever plan to come back to Barcelona. Do not hesitate to contact us if you ever do that.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#71 of 512 in Barcelona
269 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 512 in Barcelona
326 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 512 in Barcelona
1,723 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 512 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#47 of 512 in Barcelona
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing