We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #73 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for a long weekend 14 -17 September. Unfortunately our room was not cleaned when we arrived, and it looked as though there were a few issues around the front desk so we were moved to a sister hotel for the first night. This was pretty unsatisfactory as we had arrived very late on Friday night and had planned our trip on pretty much heading out straight away. It took a while to move (the taxi the hotel called pretended he did not know the way!) and the room were given in the sister hotel was not what we had booked (executive) but in fairness we were not charged. The desk attendant at the other hotel was very apologetic and helpful and gave great advice on a local tapas restaurant which we ended up going to and to sister restaurant beside placa de catalunia on 2 of the other nights. We were moved back to the pau mate on Saturday morning. I had expressed my dissatisfaction and said I wanted to speak to the manager but I was surprised that this was not done when we were moved back.

In any event all of the staff in pau mate were very friendly and we didn't let the set back with the room mess up detract from our weekend. The hotel is in a fantasic location, on Fontella just beside the airport bus stop on place de catalunia. The rooms are nice, small perhaps but cleaned each day and beds made and fresh towels. There is a fridge in the room and you can buy beers etc from downstairs at the desk. Breakfast was very adequate and the coffee machine in the breakfast area made a decent coffee. Only thing was the beautiful terrace does not open after breakfast. I am not sure why this is because it is very nice and would be cool to hang out there and have an afternoon drink.

All in all while unhappy I was never spoken to by the manager this is very nice little hotel, in a great location with excellent and friendly staff. I am marking a 4 out of 5 but would really give it a 5 out of 5 only for the experience we had. I will without doubt stay here again and would have absolutely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Executive room on internal terrace I would imagine are quieter. There are some executive rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldglory78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest;

On behalf of all the components who works in Room Mate Emma and Pau, we first of all apologize for the incidents suffered on arrival at our hotel.

We are both very happy that our daily work and attention of our staff both Emma and Pau help you to have a pleasant stay in Barcelona.

I am sorry not to have been able to meet in person, but if you want to return to Barcelona, please feel free to contact me again, I will be very happy to help you with your reservation and your stay.

My best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA&PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    470
    86
    18
    9
See reviews for
136
692
63
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cool and Hip hotel in a great location. Our room overlooked the main street and we thoroughly enjoyed the street watching. Staff was fabulous and very accommodating. Breakfast we adequate to get you going.We really like the Room Mate chain. For those looking for a hotel with a great vibe, Emma can't be beat for the price. Seasoned travelers to Europe will appreciate this find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipARoss01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Philip,

On behalf of the whole Emma's team I would like to express how glad we feel knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for the nice comments you made about the style of our hotel, our services and specially about our staff.

Thank so much for recommend our hotel on Tripadvisor website.

All the team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you back soon in Emma.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pros : Very good service, the front man (Oscar) was extremely friendly and even gave us an upgrade to the suite room.

Clean, comfortable bed and nice big plasma tv.

Also the bathroom and large shower were extremly nice.

Lastly, the room on the 9th floor was an outside concrete bath tub, which we didn't use but was quite tempting, and I imagine is quite good for hot summer days or nights.

Cons; The only space for only shared amenities is a dinning hall located at the far end of the corridor. This means that there is no real place in the hotel where you can "relax" apart from your room.

Lady serving breakfast can be rude, as she works the floor by herself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoMz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for you comment about your stay at Room Mate EMMA and above all for the nice words you have dedicated to the work of all Emma staff, specially for the excellent words you have dedicated to our front desk worker Oscar. We will share them with him for sure.

Cleanliness, comfort and quality of service are the basis of our work so we are very happy to know that this is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay with us.

Please feel free to contact us again if you wish to return to Barcelona.

Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic hotel. No fringe benefits (spa, concierge, etc). 1 mile to the ramblas, 2 to the beach. we probably will stay closer to those areas the next time, but it was a relatively quiet area. the front desk is very helpful. the rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregd790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for trusting in Room Mate EMMA for your stay in Barcelona.

We are delighted to know that you value positively those of the most important issues of our work such as the comfort of the rooms, the cleanliness of our facilities and the quality of the service we provide

All Emma team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you soon at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our room was a bit noisy, being aside the main road, but not too bad. The hotel is convenient for the metro and there are lots of handy eateries nearby! Staff are friendly and extremely helpful! It is a bit pricey, but you won't feel like you've been robbed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanLarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Customer,

I would like to thank you for taking part of your time in sharing the details of your experience at Room Mate EMMA with other Tripadvisor users.

All the impressions from customers who have already stayed with us are really valuable because that allow us to continue working on the line to provide a good service to make our customers stay as nicer as possible.

All Emma team hopes you keep us in good memory and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in early september and was pleasantly surprised with room mate emma's modern feel and attention to detail, something not easy to find on a budget in a huge city like barcelona.There is an undoubted corporate element present, the hotel is part of a chain that aims to improve 'the product' as it says in the post-stay survey. However a spotlessly clean room, great use of space, in-room music system, and fantastic shower emphasise the advantages of corporate style.

Outside noise can be a problem, there are two bars below the hotel so try to get a room above the 3rd floor. Beware though, the 'interior facing' rooms do not have a window. They have semi-transparent glass section of the wall overlooking an interior part of the hotel. The lack of window was not made clear when booking so we had to pay 10euro extra per night to upgrade to a superior room with window. If you want a super quiet stay on the other hand, book an interior room.

Location may not seem great initially, it is a long walk from La Rambla, but the metro is a 5min walk and was really handy. The area is quiet at night and is pretty much in the gay district - good for those interested. For a continental European country breakfast was very good, and it is served til 12 which was great. Really good selection of cakes, donoughts etc. Fresh fruit, hams, tortilla, breads, fresh juices.

Staff are friendly, but as I said, it is slightly impersonal. If you want the friendly, homely touch found in an independently run hotel this is not for you. But if you want a good, modern standard on a budget this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA I would like to convey our sincere thanks for the comments you have made about your expertise in our hotel during your stay in Barcelona.

As you have said in Room Mate Emma the detail at work is really important for the daily functions of each of our departments.

We are very happy that you liked and enjoyed many aspects of our service, design and location
and knowing that our clients appreciate them really help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in our hotel.

If you ever decide to return to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Other than the great location, rooms are comfortable, modern and funky. Best of all the staff are the most helpful and fun. They went out of their way to help with reservations and directions to various locations. There is a great coffee shop and market just around the corner that is awesome and inexpensive. I would stay here again and would stay at other Roomates for sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Donna,

The entire Emma's team wants to thank you for the nice words you have dedicated about your stay in our hotel but beyond that our most special thanks goes for your comments about the human team of the hotel​​ who works day after day with the main purpose of ensuring that all our customers enjoy a memorable stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to us if you ever decide to come back to Room Mate EMMA hotel and do not hesitate to contact us when this could happen.

Best Regards,
Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#70 of 521 in Barcelona
211 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#58 of 521 in Barcelona
1,239 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#26 of 521 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
1,099 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
2,957 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#67 of 521 in Barcelona
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing