We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 4 Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Ranked #232 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights recently and it was a wonderful trip helped in no small part by the hotel and its staff. The location was perfect in a nice quite area with a metro station nearby to access all that Barcelona has to offer. The staff were very friendly and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as we like to explore little cafes for this but we did eat in the restaurant in the evenings and it was of excellent quality and very reasonable. If i was to have one small issue with the hotel it is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but that is very minor and i would have no problem whatever in recommending Hotel 4 very highly.
Richard (Ireland).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crusader9872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear Richard,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have already ammended the issue with the coffee/tea as we have bought some kettles to be able to offer that service to our clients.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever wish to come back to Barcelona.
Thanks for your post, and hope to see you soon!
Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    574
    200
    40
    34
See reviews for
154
670
53
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here for three very comfortable nights. The rooms are large, well decorated / fitted and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave the impression that they wanted us to enjoy our stay in Barcelona. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice; it did however get quite crowded and we felt the restaruant was very small for the size of the hotel, another coffee machine is needed! The hotel is in a pretty good location, quiet but not too far from the action. The beach is a five minute walk and a metro station 5 to 10 minutes in the other direction. Overall a great stay and would book again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear Daveh104,

Thanks for your review.
We are happy to hear our guests enjoy our hotel and marvelous city!
Just to let you know that we already bought a new coffee machine, so we expect to have this problem sorted out in a couple of weeks.
We hope to see you soon at our hotel!
Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Hotel is lovely, the rooms are nice, very well decorated, you wanna decorate your house like that room!! Very modern room and bathroom. Not to mention that it is brand new. The amenities were wonderful. There is a "spa area" (sauna and steaming room) that is sooo nice and clean, I loved it ! Great for relaxing after a long day of walk around Barcelona. The staff was nice all the times even with my poor Spanish they never gave up on trying to understand what I needed. The TV has lots of channels. The only negative thing is the location. It is kind of far from everything. You are supposed to leave the subway and walk 3 blocks to get to the hotel, but I took a wrong exit on the subway and got really lost! Nobody knows that street where the hotel is!! It is incredible. So I couldnt go back because people didnt know how to help me! I had to walk 45 minutes to find the hotel again because taxis wont stop for you in the streets of Spain, (you have to call them). So get a good map and memorize the way from hotel to the subway station. I advise to get there before dark because at night it is really dark to get from the subway to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, General Manager at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear Mr/Mrs,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments about your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at hotel4@besthotels.es if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards,

Arturo Soler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Lovely, new hotel, beautiful decor, bright and airy. We were on the 6th floor with a sea view. Big room, twin beds pushed together making a very large, comfortable sleeping area. Good sized bathroom, walk-in shower, plenty of hot water and fresh white towels. Breakfast was included which had something for every taste and plenty of it. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel, three courses each with choice of three, wine, water and coffee for 15euros - excellent!
The location is a 10 min walk from Llacuna metro through an industrial area. Not particulary pretty but didn't feel unsafe. They are doing a lot of improvements in the area. Walk from the hotel to the beach is much nicer where you will find many eating places. A stroll along the seafront to La Rambla will take about an hour.
My only critisism is that breakfast finishes at 10.30 and right on the button they start to clear everything away, even the morning it was very busy and we had to queue to get a table. Maybe they could be a little more relaxed with the time.
We would return to this hotel in a instant, a little out of the centre but easy access to all the attractions. Great hotel, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Assistant Manager at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear Elaine,
I would like to thank you so much for your comments about your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at hotel4@besthotels.es if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Overall we had a good experience with this hotel. I was looking for a hotel that had easy access to a metro stop and at a more economical price. The 3 blocks was a little further than I wanted but it ended up being fine because we stayed out most all of the day and just came back at the end of the day. The metro ride into the city was very easy and you only have to make one transfer.

They do have free high speed wireless. The only down side to it was the fact that you have to get a code from the front desk which is only good for 2hrs, you can get as many as you want but it gets a little old going down there every time you want to get back on the internet.

The rooms are average sized but each have large operable windows usually with great views, one of our rooms you could see the beach, the other the city along with the Sagrad Familia, so that was a huge plus.

The staff all spoke very good English, which was great we did have a few times when trying to find out about certain places and tours where they wanted to push us to book thru them but other than that they were very helpful.

The main issue we had was that we got a non-smoking room and there was a smoker in the room right next to us and so we could smell the smoke every time they smoked and it was the worst waking up to your neighbor smoke

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordangrace3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Jordangrace3,

Thank you for your review!
Please accept our apologize for the troubles with the smoke on the room next to you. We will try harder to keep the non-smoking areas free of smoke.
Do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to visit Barcelona again.

Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

very helpful staff who al spoke good english, good breakfast and also we tried an evening dinner instead of dinning out which was also good.
it is situated in a great little town near port olimpic and if you come straight out of the hotel and walk in a straight line for about 100 metres you've got Llacuna METRO which links all the great towns and sights of Barcelona and its easy to use

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topgoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Topgoon,

Thank you for your post! We are glad thast you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Would definately recommend this Hotel. Easy access to tube and great to be so near the beach and port Olympic. Breakfast was good too and staff very helpful. Only downside was the noise from the corridor when some lads came in late at night but most hotels have thin walls anyway. Free wifi is a great bonus too and our small notepad even fitted in the big safe

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breakingnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBBHotel4Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for your post! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon! Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Barcelona!
Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Front Maritim
#315 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#229 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
#218 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Poblenou
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
#374 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#251 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 4 Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 4 Barcelona

Property: Hotel 4 Barcelona
Address: Carrer Doctor Trueta, 164, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly GBB Hotel 4 Barcelona)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 4 Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This smart and stylish hotel, opened at the beginning of 2010, is located in the up-and-coming area of district 22, just a short walk from the beach, and Rambla de poble Nou. In Its 142 rooms are equipped with wire less and cable internet connection, outside direct telephone line, air conditioning, full bathrooms with shower or bath tub, and hair dryer. Some of the rooms are with splendid views to the Mediterranean sea. In the same building is the restaurant with local cuisine, a cocktail bar, and the fitness room with steam bath and sauna. Furthermore there is a business centre with pc connected to internet and parking in the same building.The hotel has 4 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events, for up to 120 delegates.We offer highly flexible meeting room capacity. Our highly trained staffs are on demand to ensure that your meeting runs smoothly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 4 Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 4 Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing