We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of cruise stay at great hotel”
Review of Hotel 4 Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Ranked #247 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“End of cruise stay at great hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of a Mediterranean cruise. In fact, it was the fact that these two nights were Included in the cruise which maxe up our minds to book it. We love Barcelona and this was the icing on the cake. Hotel 4 Barcelona was very conveniently situated for all aspects of a Barcelona stay. Five minutes from the beach and its amazing boardwalk, lined with bars and restaurants and a couple of minutes from the Bus Turistic stop - the tour takes you all over the city, and you can hop on and off wherever you want. We got a small discount on the bus tickets by booking at hotel reception. The staff were really helpful and pleasant and recommended some nice eating places nearby. Hotel breakfast buffet was fine, if a little cramped, but the food and coffee were good. The room was more than adequate, quite comfortable and clean. Free Wifi was available although service was poor in our first room, so we were moved to another room where it was not much better but adequate for our simple needs! All in all, a really nice hotel which we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Views are not really a feature of this hotel, in spite of being near the beach. For a short stay it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H4Barcelona, Gerente at Hotel 4 Barcelona, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Lesdey,

Thanks for your accurated post!
Regarding the WIFI, we are working on that, and I apologyze for the inconveniences. Please contact me if you wish to come back at anytime.
Best regards,

Pilar Aso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    590
    212
    43
    35
See reviews for
159
696
54
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wallasey uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

an excellent hotel for a short break. Near beach, nice room with a good breakfast. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A short pleasant walk 15 minutes takes you to the marina where there's a mall cafes bars and restaurants. Also close to the port if your cruising.theres also a hop on hop off bus stop opposite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We can keep this brief by just confirming the various other positive reviews of this Hotel.

It was our first trip to Barcelona (we loved it!), 5 nights in early May (2013), and the 'Hotel 4' offered a reasonable rate of just under € 100 per night, breakfast included.

The neighbourhood is nice and appeared to be safe at any time of day, the building is new (when we checked, Google “street view” showed a construction site!), the room was nice and well kept, the location convenient, even when we decided to walk into town and not to use the nearby subway train or any of the buses. Even a stop of the sightseeing bus (recommended) is close.

If we pick a different Hotel for our next trip to Barcelona, it is only because we would look for a place in the north-western part of the city, just to be closer to the things we haven't been able to visit the first time around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossilizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home after staying in this hotel for 4 nights. We think this hotel is in a great location, it's a 5 min walk to the nearest metro and a 5 min walk to the beach. For us this was perfect as we combined a city break with some relaxing beach time!! The hotel provide you with beach towels free of charge.
The hotel is within a 5-10min walk of the vibrant poublnou district - this area is a great local neighbourhood to grab a bite to eat or sit out in a cafe for a drink - it's not touristy so you're mixing with locals giving a real feel of Barcelona. It also has a much more tranquil feel to it after a busy day in the bustle of the centre of the city.
We tend to walk a lot on holiday so decided to walk into the centre of Barcelona one morning - we walked along the promenade - this only took us 30mins (admittedly at a reasonable pace). But it's a lovely walk allowing you to check out the marina and the beaches.
The hotel room is just what you would expect of a 4 star hotel - reasonable size, hard but comfortable bed, great shower, all toiletries provided, cleaned daily, good soundproofing, great blackout curtains to aid sleeping, adequate air con.
We had breakfast included in our room rate through Oltels.com - this worked out as great value for us, hot and cold food available from 7.00-10.30am, but I dont think it's worth the €15 per person the hotel charge you if you just turn up on the day to pay for it as there's lots of local cafes within a 10 min walk.
On our last day we had a late flight home, the hotel kept our luggage for us and offered us shower facilities in the gym before departure (this was great).
Overall we'd definitely stay here again when visiting Barcelona.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank citybreak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fantastic hotel steps from the beach. Rooms are larger than typical European hotel rooms, very modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style with a large selection to choose from. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They speak excellent English and even taught us a little Catalan. Only issue we encountered was a loss of water pressure occasionally in the shower, which wasn't really a problem as it would return within moments.

It's in a quiet neighbourhood and very peaceful, no drunken revellers disturbing us at all hours, but close enough to La Rambla and the Gothic Quarter that we could enjoy a late night ourselves when we felt like it.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be coming back here.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the 7th floor, great view of the city and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

For a four day city break, we really couldn't fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful for the most part, the room was a decent size with a lovely large bathroom, very comfortable bed and every thing is very clean. The biggest whinge from me was the wifi, it was terrible, so intermittent and really, really annoying. The other thing that annoyed me was we had the room right as you get off the lift. On the first night we had children knock on the door and run after coming out of the lift grr. The location of the hotel was great, a little out of the main city, but a lovely 45 minute walk beachside or only about a 5 min walk to metro station Llacuna and although we didn't use it, apparently the bus stops right out the front. We didn't do breakfast, but within 3 minutes there is a Mcdonalds with breakfast on until 12 (the bacon and egg mc muffin was so much fresher than any I have ever tasted anywhere in the world delicious!) and you can continue on for 2 minutes to the beach. On our last day we had to check out by 12 midday but our flight was late that night so we were able to leave our luggage with reception and when we returned to the hotel for our transfers, they let us use the lovely showers in the gym (towels supplied) to freshen up before flying again. All in all nice hotel, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 times - last time we spent our honeymoon there (last summer) and after 2 weeks we will go there again :-).Hotel staff is very helpfull and nice, hotel has good location - it is about 7 min to matro Llacuna and close to beaches (5 min). Rooms are clean and all has daylight. Both times we had double room. This hotel is really very good! The only small disadvantage is that the hotel restaurant is relativelly small so it can happen that you wait in a queue for a breakfast, but never longer then 5 min and if we went for a breakfast around 8 or 9 this problem never occured. Food offer for breakfast was very good. Really if you are searching for a good hotel for a good price and with good and strategic location, choose this hotel. You will be satisfied for sure ;-)!
We are really looking forward to spend our vacation since 11th July in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Front Maritim
#304 of 513 in Barcelona
940 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
#244 of 513 in Barcelona
1,354 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#240 of 513 in Barcelona
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#254 of 513 in Barcelona
1,304 reviews
Poblenou
Eurohotelbarcelona
Eurohotelbarcelona
#386 of 513 in Barcelona
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 4 Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 4 Barcelona

Property: Hotel 4 Barcelona
Address: Carrer Doctor Trueta, 164, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly GBB Hotel 4 Barcelona)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 4 Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This smart and stylish hotel, opened at the beginning of 2010, is located in the up-and-coming area of district 22, just a short walk from the beach, and Rambla de poble Nou. In Its 142 rooms are equipped with wire less and cable internet connection, outside direct telephone line, air conditioning, full bathrooms with shower or bath tub, and hair dryer. Some of the rooms are with splendid views to the Mediterranean sea. In the same building is the restaurant with local cuisine, a cocktail bar, and the fitness room with steam bath and sauna. Furthermore there is a business centre with pc connected to internet and parking in the same building.The hotel has 4 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events, for up to 120 delegates.We offer highly flexible meeting room capacity. Our highly trained staffs are on demand to ensure that your meeting runs smoothly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 4 Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 4 Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing