We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business orientated hotel in Barcelona suberbs...”
Review of Hotel 4 Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Ranked #243 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business orientated hotel in Barcelona suberbs...”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This review if for the GBB Hotel 4 Barcelona, C/ Doctor Trueta, 164 08005 Barcelona.

LOCATION:
Firstly the hotel is about a 25 minute cab ride from the airport, secondly it’s located near the seafront in a mainly urban area, which is rather run down, there is nothing in the way of shops, bars or restaurants near by, you'll have to take a taxi into the town for that. (And on the subject of taxi's, I used several over the three days I was in Barcelona, and none of the taxi drivers knew where the hotel was! Thank goodness for sat-nav!)

HOTEL
The hotel itself is smart, clean and very business like in appearance, however, luxurious it isn’t, and I'll be honest I think the ‘4 stars’ rating is very optimistic.

RECEPTION
Reception is manned by friendly (mostly) English speaking staff.

BUSINESS CENTRE
The 'Business Centre' on the ground floor is a let down, two old HP pc's running Vista (and remember, its all in Spanish, including the keyboard layout) does not make a business centre, there are no fax or other facilities, just a some tables and chairs - more of an internet room.

WI-FI
The hotel does offer free wi-fi throughout, but be prepared to log back in as the system times you out regularly.

HOTEL ROOMS
The rooms themselves are spread 26 per floor over 7 floors, the views from the top floor of the seafront are very nice, but be aware, the hotel is situated in front of a very large cemetery!
I booked a superior room, and it was large, well aired, with a very large and comfortable bed, good (if rather complicated) air-conditioning, but alas no bath, what is it with European hotels, showers are great but really, no bath, come on!
And don't expect a mini-bar, or a fridge, or even tea and coffee making facilities, because there aren’t any, which seems rather stingy (for a 4 star hotel) to me.

FOOD
Food, a very limited menu, repeated each day, so not much in the way of variety there.
A bizarre twist on the ‘room service’ offering, room service that’s only open between 8pm and 11pm, and overpriced, expect to pay twelve euros for a burger and chips.
Breakfast was better, if a bit crowded, and only a two hour sitting so no time to dawdle! The usual 'continental' fare here, but perfectly edible.

GYM
On the lower ground floor is a well equipped gym, free to paying guests.

PARKING
There are also car parking spacing in a lower parking basement under the hotel for guests bringing cars. There are ‘on street’ spaces outside the hotel as well.

SUMMERY
To sum up, located too far from the centre of town and attractions to be a true tourist hotel, but also too far from the business area to appeal to business travellers.
To under equipped for those 4 stars so I'm not quite sure what category this hotel falls into, and when I'm back in Barcelona I'll try somewhere else, not because the hotel wasn’t any good, it just wasn’t good enough, with too many annoying little things that add up to a stay that leaves you feeling like you could have had better…

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    584
    208
    41
    35
See reviews for
155
688
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Although situated a little distance from anything noteworthy, this hotel is easily accessible due to Barcelona's fabulous metro system and buses so we had absolutely no problem getting around. When we arrived, the staff were super-friendly and helpful. They even booked us the seats we wanted for a BarcelonaFC game at no commission to them! The room was spacious and the amenities in the bathroom were some of the best I've come across. Towels and linen were changed every day, although this could be limited due to environmental concerns. The breakfast was tasty but not worth the 15 euro it apparently costs (we didn't pay for the breakfast as we had booked a last-minute special deal which was the room and b'fast for under 60% of normal rates). All the breakfast consists of is a variety of pastries, cheeses, cold-cuts, fruit, boiled eggs and fritattas. As mentioned, tasty but could definitely be improved. The hotel staff are also very prompt. When our room safe broke down, they came within 20 minutes (on a Sunday morning) to repair it. The only thing I really didn't like was that their business centre doesn't have a printer. If you want to print out documents, you need to email them to the front desk and they print it out for you. In short, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a standard business hotel. Think a slightly higher quality Ibis standard. The rooms are a decent size and all pretty much exactly the same, including the superior ones (which also have tea, coffee, extra toiletries and a free minibar). The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The internet was reliable and free, although strangely the signal was stronger on the 7th floor than on the 3rd.

As previously mentioned in one review the airconditioning is a real issue if you stay in autumn or spring. According to management it is not reverse cycle and they have to change it from heating to cooling and vice versa, which takes three days either way. We stayed here for a week in October/November and they had already changed over to heating, so that if it was on, irrespective of the room temperature, you got hot air. The daily temperature was around 25 - 28 celcius which made the rooms very warm. The advice from the front desk was to open the windows, which was fine over night but didn't provide much relief when you came in hot off the street. We heard several other people complaining about the same issue at the front desk but the airconditioning was not switched back to cooling in the whole week we were there.

The main reason we raised the issue with management was our rate for the first night was 165 Euros which is a lot of money to pay and spend a very hot night. On subsequent nights the rate dropped to less than half this. Managements response to our raising the heat issue included a letter of apology detailing the reasons for the situation at that time of year.

As already mentioned the hotel is close to the Poblenou area of Barcelona, an area of urban renewal and also to the beach. A 5 minute walk to the subway and 10 minute ride into the centre. The City Sightseeing bus stops around the corner too. We enjoyed being in this area it was more like being part of normal suburban life and we had plenty of time to enjoy. Barcelona's sights are quite spread out so it is necessary to use the City Sightseeing bus hop-on hop-off facility, Metro or long walks to various areas anyway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much identical. The extra's in the superior rooms are probably not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

the webiste highlights this hotel as being in "an up and coming area" and I guess in Estate agent speak, that means a bit of a hole. Upon arrival, if this is classified as up and coming I would hate to stay in a worse area!! Surrounded by run down, boarded or vandalised shops and apartments, this hotel sticks out as being in the wrong place.

The hotel itself is average. For €118 a night, I got B&B, a basic room, a colour TV and a shower room. For another €25 per night you can get tea and coffee making facilities! Wow!

The room was just about OK, cleanish. However, be warned if you don;t like hot hotels, avoid this one. The aircon does not work in the winter months as they switch it off - even though the temperatiure in my room according to the stat was 28 degrees!! "open the window" the reception staff suggest - but when you do the noise is bad from the surrounding roads, or the beautiful view of a petrol station. (yes I know the photo's show the sea, but three sides of the hotel look over classic sites - the block of run down apartments to the right, the run down street to the back, and the petrol station to the left)

Walls and floors are typically paper thin - you can hear people shower, wash and pee. Not good. Other peoples TVs are clear through walls, people above you can hear tip toeing around... not good. No ironing board either, so instead a paid for, maid ironing service. But you do get wireless in the price. (but don't expect much from it)

Breakfast is typical continental fayre, and to be fair everything was very good, even the coffee which is always a problem in hotels.

Overall, it's somewhere I won't be returning to or recommeding. You can get better.

Room Tip: don't go there?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

For a weekend trip we looked for a hotel in Barcelona. Usually this takes us about two hours, now it took us four days. With every hotel we looked at in booking.com, tripadvisor etc. something was wrong either the hotel was good but the price was too high or the price was good enough for us but the hotel had some issues like a bad neighbourhood, lousy staff, small rooms, no airco etc.

In the end we almost wanted to give up when we found GBB hotel 4 hotel. The hotel is a little from the center but very close to the beach. While we didn't intent to have a beach holiday it did give us access on walking-distance to some very good nicely price seafood restaurants :-). The center of the city is easily accessible by the subway (about five to ten minutes walk) although if you intent to dine out a lot in the center be prepared to make use of taxi as the public transport closes early (between 23.00 and 23.30).

The hotel itself is new and has a modern styling. All the staff members were very friendly. Room service is until 22.00 but in case you are very hungry you can walk in five minutes to McDonald’s in case that is of interest to you ;-).

The hotel apparently offers a discount on the breakfast if you stay for more than three days. In that case you pay 9 euro per person instead of 14 euro’s. While better value breakfast might be available in some local bars around the hotel we decided to take the breakfast. It is above average hotel food. The restaurant area is ok compared to the size of the hotel but it can be busy between 09.00 and 10.00.

It is possible to dine in the hotel. While we didn’t did it (the seafood restaurants at the beach were too good) many guests seemed to enjoy there dinner.

The room was extremely clean and all the things you can expect are there except (mostly for British people?) perhaps the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. Also there is no mini-bar (we never use it anyway). There are vending machines for drinks on the 3rd and 7th floor where the drinks are very reasonable priced (1 euro for a bottle of water). If we have to nitpick perhaps two bathrobes should have been in the room for a four star hotel and the selection of tv-channels was not so interesting for us (about 15 channels mostly German, Spanish and some English).

We have to mention the bed and pillows separately: they were most comfortable about the best we have experienced in a hotel.

Note: it is possible to have a mini-bar, bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities but the you either have to ‘upgrade’ your room when you check in or book a superior room in the first place.

We had some trouble with the airco and the hotel staff tried to fix it but it was of no use. It remained warm (23-24 degrees) the whole time. Maybe because we visited after summer the airco can only warm the air? (like you sometimes see in other hotels).

Note 2: The taxi ride from and to the hotel is about 30 – 40 euro’s. During the day there are plenty of taxi’s outside the hotel so there is no need to make reservations.

All in all we had a really good time in lovely Barcelona partly thanks to this hotel :-).

Room Tip: Corner rooms seems to be bigger. On the third and seventh floor there is a vending machine for drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great room. Quiet atmosphere, as we were seriously jet lagged on our first night and really appreciated the quiet. No complaints about my loud bf and I preparing to go out to Port Olimpic with our house music. Friendly, accomodating staff. Great location we walked to the beach a couple of times. Also within walking distance from a Barcelona Turistic stop, the city's double decker tour bus. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girldoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The nearest metro station, llacuna is 5-10 mins walk away and the area on this side of the hotel is shabby. The area on the seafront side of the hotel is much nicer. The room was quite large, the bathroom was clean and modern, the shower was superb. the strange thing was the bathroom door which was made of glass and would not stay closed. Also the trendy square sink didnt drain properly. The bed was firm and comfortable.

The room was fairly quiet but it was hot because the aircon didnt cool the room properly. Breakfast is 9 euros, so we skipped it. There are cafes nearby.

The walk to the sea front from the hotel is through a park. there are plenty of resturants on the sea front about 15-20mins walk away. On the other side of the hotel is an area called poblenou which also has some good restaurants that are more typically spanish, and small supermarkets. The best way to travel to the city centre is by bus - there are several stops nearby. The buses in barcelona are excellent.

All in all its a reasonable location, but a little expensive. Overall i would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Front Maritim
#303 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#206 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
#234 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Poblenou
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
#390 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#253 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 4 Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 4 Barcelona

Property: Hotel 4 Barcelona
Address: Carrer Doctor Trueta, 164, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly GBB Hotel 4 Barcelona)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 4 Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This smart and stylish hotel, opened at the beginning of 2010, is located in the up-and-coming area of district 22, just a short walk from the beach, and Rambla de poble Nou. In Its 142 rooms are equipped with wire less and cable internet connection, outside direct telephone line, air conditioning, full bathrooms with shower or bath tub, and hair dryer. Some of the rooms are with splendid views to the Mediterranean sea. In the same building is the restaurant with local cuisine, a cocktail bar, and the fitness room with steam bath and sauna. Furthermore there is a business centre with pc connected to internet and parking in the same building.The hotel has 4 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events, for up to 120 delegates.We offer highly flexible meeting room capacity. Our highly trained staffs are on demand to ensure that your meeting runs smoothly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 4 Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 4 Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing