We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Hostel Barcelona
Nearby Hotels
$149
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$242
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
23
21
11
8
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
21
11
8
32
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 95 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The best thing about this hostel are the friendly helpful staff, closely followed by its ideal location. 5 mins walk to the waterfront, less than 10 minutes walk to La Rambla, 5 mins walk to the metro to get anywhere else.

Rather than dorm rooms, this hostel has individual rooms. When you book it is worth asking about the available rooms to suit your requirements, as they vary dramatically from quite small singles with no external windows to nice large doubles with double doors opening out onto balconies.

Being a hostel, it is basic accomodation but everything was clean and tidy and the kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook for yourself when you want.

If you confirm your flight details and mobile number when they ask, the staff even check your arrival times to make sure they are there when you turn up even if you get delayed, especially good if travelling with Ryanair....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

First of all, the location of the Blue Hostel is just perfect - it's close to most of the attractions, underground stations, restaurants and the beach.

The room was simple with a fan. Free Wi-Fi available all day. They provide a kitchen, a fridge and cooled drinking water for the guests.

There are only two bathrooms, so sometimes you have to wait to use it, but you have almost everything there from shower gel to shampoo and even a hair dryer.

The staff was very nice and helpful, although they are not always around at the hotel, but you can always call them.

Me and my friend enjoyed our stay a lot and would stay there again if we have a chance. However, if you are a couple or family with children, I wouldn't recommend you stay here as it might not be able to offer you as much privacy as you may need.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The location is incredible. It's close to two metro stations and most of the major attractions. There is no lack of great restaurants and tapas bars within walking distance.

Be aware that there is no reception desk. It is pretty much an apartment with rooms rented out. You need to be exact about when you will arrive.

The rooms are not very quiet. You can hear everything in the hall and outside the building. Most of the people staying there seemed considerate. It's not a backpackers' hangout. If you are a light sleeper, however, this is not the place for you.

The staff is extremely helpful. They will give you tips on where to go and how to get there. They really do show great hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

So we arrive at the hostel, there's no one at the reception. The cleaning lady let us in. As we entered our room which was extremely small for 3 people, one of the beds wasn't made! We asked the cleaning lady to make our bed and she just walked away! So we had to make our own bed! Then the girl at the reception came to knock at our door because she was leaving for the day (and it was only 11 am!!) and she asked us to pay her right away. She took the money and never gave us a receipt of anything! This hostel if very badly organized! We didn't even know how to open the door since no one explained it to us! The room was very humid and extremely hot, even though we had a fan, it wasn't enough. However, the hostel is located right next to Barceloneta and 10-15 minutes walk to Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nani12_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Traveled with my sister. Pleased with location and price. Up a few flights of stairs, which would be tricky if you have a lot of luggage or are disabled. Manager very helpful and friendly, fluent in English. Quiet accommodations with pleasant guests. Our room had 2 single beds and a window that opened onto a window well. Floor fan provided to keep cool. Less desirable room next door was tiny, windowless and had a bunk bed. Largish kitchen has window and fridge with both individual and shared shelves, stove, microwave, toaster, counterspace and fully equipped. Sitting room has window and couches/coffee table plus eating table and chairs. Includes water cooler and use of computer while manger was there, and free wireless internet. Useful map on wall indicates short descriptions and directions for many tourist points of interest. Two bathrooms, one spacious with large tub the other with shower. Allowed us to keep luggage in one of the rooms while we were on an overnight trip elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liisa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews