We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go there with too much expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residencia Melon District Marina
Ranked #92 of 721 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
izmit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Do not go there with too much expectations”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This building is like a student dorm as the rules are strictly being applied to all customers including mature clients. Location is good as it is 2km away from La Rambla (3 metro station away from Line 1). Swimming pool is not what it looks on the website where you don't expect to see well-sanitary area on the top of the building. Nothing was being replaced or cleaned in the room as everything costs a considerable deal of money if you consider it is mainly designed for youth generation. Great price if you use booking.com as we pay 30 euro per one per night in Aug which was absolutely amazing. I recommend this place to those who have low salaries and want to stay close to Barcelonata and city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettoremessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    508
    242
    88
    65
See reviews for
83
635
50
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ok, it's not really a hotel, instead it is student accommodation that is being used for tourism during the holidays. Don't let that put you off though, we've just got back from a week in Barcelona and the service and accommodation were top class.

We received a friendly welcome (as did everyone else arriving and in a number of languages), everything was explained to us clearly, the room was clean, comfortable and well organised.

It's not far from Marinas metro station which is about ten minutes from Barcelona city centre, you can walk down to the beach in less than half an hour if you want or you can lounge around by the pool on top of each building.

We loved it and are looking to book up there again next time we go to Barcelona.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without en-suite shower rooms, we chose one with and it was well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as a traveler and not as a student. I am not particulary picky, a couple of years ago I was also a student and now I still like budget place to stay, especially if I am walking in the city all day and need a room only to sleep at night.
That is why I was thinking this could be a good choice, good price, good reviews, nice location.
The room is very small which is okay, the bathroom is the same. I only went to complain at the reception when we arrived back to the hotel late in the evening and the bathroom was in the same disgusting shape how we left in the morning. I know that cleaning is not included but the shower curtain was so short that we could not shower without making the whole bathroom floor full of water and there was nothing how we could clean it. So I asked the reception in the morning to do something about it but they apparently did not. The room was stinking because the airconditioning was also poor and windows could be opened only a bit.
In the evening, when I went to the reception again, I was really pissed of, there was an extremely nice guy at the reception. He told that he can give us another room on the same floor and the also told that they are awar of the courtain problem (that it is too short) and they are planning to change it in the whole building. His attitude made me happy and it also increased my satisfaction about the hotel. The reason why I am giving only 2 point (on a 5 scale) is that it should be realized and improved in the reality - ok, it is very positive, that the attitude is already there.
Anyway it is really a student place and is very new. But there are these small things that sometimes are not the question of money but logical thinking (how long is the showercurtain).

I loved the view from the rooftop, you can see the Sagrada Familia. The swimming pool is also cool but very small, however it is nice to have.

Prices in the Melon Cafe are okay, burger is tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DReka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Brilliant residence in the Marina district with tube and tram stops minutes away.
Rooms are a bit small but everything you need for a Barcelona break is available: rooftop swimming pool, massive kitchen lounge with all appliances per floor, clean and air-conditioned room, cafeteria with reasonable prices, 24h reception, security guard at night and luggage service.
And needless to say that the price for all this is a killer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siyanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, near metro station Marina, about 15 min walking to city or to the beach. Staff needs to do more good job in directing people ( ex. The reception told us that beach and night clubs is 50 min walking and we should take a taxi, but it was only 15min with normal walking. ) very good security. No place to dry your clothes and the wifi is good only if you are in the shared kitchen of your floor. There are also venting machines for coffee snacks and soft drinks which are quite cheap. Dispite the fact that has some negatives it is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

On arrival you are greeted by a very nice person that explains everything you need to know about Melon District and some tips on Barcelona hot-spots. You have a shared-kitchen you can use, that is very nice and quite big, you also have your own space to deposit food and everything is very clean and cozy. The room is small but it's all you need, clean and very comfortable. There's a rooftop pool but you are 2 tram stations away from the beach so its position is excellent!
A very funky place to be while visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeaAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms themselves are small but well maintained, clean and include ac which is a big bonus for the price! There is a cafe downstairs and vending machines, however we found the nearby lidl and stocked up our locker in the fridge/freezer. Kitchen is well equipped and a great keeping the cost of my stay down! The pools are a great addition, from what I gathered each block has its own pool on the roof so although they look small even at the height of aug in nice weather it was not overcrowded (saying that the beach is only down the road). We did hire bikes as it is a little further than i would have hoped to walk into town in the heat and also the city is so bicycle friendly it seems a shame not too! there is also a metro station on the street and it is only a couple of stops into town. The staff at the melon were great, all very helpful and friendly, the place itself has a really nice laid back atmosphere and I would happily return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#86 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Montjuic
Residencia Melon District Poble Sec
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#159 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#38 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Poblenou
Twenty Tu Hi-tech Hostel
Twenty Tu Hi-tech Hostel
#120 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Melon District Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Melon District Marina

Property: Residencia Melon District Marina
Address: Sancho de Avila 22, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 721 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:1 star — Residencia Melon District Marina 1*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melon District is the largest student residence hall in Barcelona with a new concept of accommodation for short trips to the city. MelonDistrict offers both double and twin bed rooms for daily stays, all with private bathroom, and a shared cooking lounge to cook, socialize and relax. At the rooftop you will find a pool to enjoy Barcelona's weather. Melon District also offers Free Wi-Fi internet access, parking and cafeteria. Melon District Marina is located two minutes away from subway stop L1 Marina. The residence is also very close to Sagrada Familia and Barcelona's beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencia Melon District Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Melon District Marina Hotel Barcelona
Residencia Melon District Marina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing