We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it!”

Barcelona CicloTour
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.42*
and up
City Center Bike Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #103 of 591 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the city of Barcelona just like the locals do: by bike. It’s the fastest and most environmentally friendly way to discover the city, not to mention the most fun. Hire a bike and explore on your own, with rental prices from 2 hours up to a week. Perhaps you would prefer to take one of our daily guided city tours, which show you Barcelona’s most popular sights: stunning works by Gaudí, the ancient streets of the Gothic quarter, the multi-cultural district of El Raval, the beaches and much more.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It was inexpensive, informative and a great way to get some light exercise and see the sights of Barcelona.

Thank dkljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did this tour during the first week of June and picked it because it was close to our hotel on Las Ramblas. The english speaking tour guide was very nice and worked very hard after being given a group of almost 20 to guide through the very busy streets of Barcelona. Often times, the group was split in 2 from the quick changing traffic lights and it was very hard for everyone to stick together as a group while travelling from one site to the next. On the way to the Gaudi Cathedral we had to cycle in the streets with large tour busses coming within what seemed to be inches of us at times. This was scary as we had a young teenager on the tour. He could definitely keep up with the slower pace of the tour but still you worry about the safety of a big City. We stopped and had a beverage at the beach area which was nice. The poor guide had to rush around and take everyone's drink order and help serve all. What we all learned from the guide about Barcelona could fit on a postcard. But we did get a nice flavor for what that area of Barcelona is like and made us more comfortable walking around later that night and the following day. The 3 hour tour took 4 hours because of the size of the group and the constant waiting necessary for the laggards to catch up. In the end, i wouldn't do this again unless I was going to be in a group of 6 or less.

Thank MoreBoatDrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaCicloTour, Director of Sales at Barcelona CicloTour, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear MoreBoatDrinks,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. We do appreciate all feedback, even negative, because it help us to turn situations like these into learning experiences.

We are concerned to read that you perceived a dangerous situation on the way to the Sagrada Familia (the Antoni Gaudí’s unfinished church) because of heavy traffic. We are aware that the tour must take to the road for a mere 300m, however (the rest of Marina St. has bike lanes) and the City Council is taking measures to restrict bus access to the church area and build more bike lanes. This action will benefit both pedestrians and cyclist. Meanwhile, we will work in an alternative route to avoid these streets until these measures are applied. But we would like to assure you that we have a 100% accident free record.

We are sorry to hear that the tour took longer than scheduled but our intention is to show our city in a relaxed and leisurely way. We take great pride in the quality of the product we deliver and the guides we work with and their commitment. All of our guides undergo additional training if they do not meet our service level standards. As per your comment we are currently revising all information about the city and facts that guides give to customers during the tours to ensure absolute satisfaction.

As you commented before, we use to split the group in 2 when we have more than 20 people, and usually we do not have any problem with this number of persons (if they are bike users). While it was a difficult tour, the guide did their best to balance the needs of the group with the needs of the slower riders.

Once again, thank you for your invaluable feedback.

Many kind regards,

Barcelona CicloTour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We met up at the Plaça Catalunya and our guide, Tullis, a wonderful Englishman started talking to us straight away, a really nice welcome! He created a really good mood in the group. A bottle of water and a bag on the steering handles were included with the bikes, and you got a drink included at a stop at the beach. The tour took us to a lot of places, and some we wouldn't have seen otherwise. However we felt a lack of talking at the different stops, a big part if the tour was spent on the bike, from where you could only watch and not be told anything about what you saw. With more interesting facts it's a 5!

Thank ErikKratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our daughter talked us into doing the bicycle tour around Barcelona and I have to admit we really enjoyed it. Our guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Doing this tour afforded us the opportunity to cover a lot of ground and see major sites without all the walking. We did walking tours in several cities, and it was nice to see things a bit differently. It wasn't difficult keeping up at all. We enjoyed the free drink at the beach.
Give it a try!

Thank sgflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Well the tour guide was a very nice young girl she just moved to Spain a little more than a year ago. I wanted to do this tour to hear some interesting facts that I could not look up in a tour book. While she did provide one interesting story the tour pretty much was a waste of time and money.

We visited sites where sometimes all she stated was the obvious this is a apartment built by gatti you can go inside. Really that's all you got and she was an art student so even if it was a fact on the artist vision that would he cool. She messed up a bunch of important dates that luckily I had my tour book out and corrected her. It was really uneducational and pretty much looked at a place for 10 minutes and that was it. I would just tour on my own if I was you speaking to person reading my review

3  Thank Scott33Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona CicloTour also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona CicloTour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing