We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice property; a bit removed in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #178 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Having been to Barcelona many times--and having always stayed around the Bari Gotica part of town--I decided to try something a bit different this time. I'm an Accor frequent guest member, and there's lots of properties from which to choose in BCN. I chose this one because it's on the main métro line, only a few minutes from the Plaças Espanya and Catalonya, in a more residential, local area.

The rooms are typical of newer Novotels: good size, great bathrooms, nicely structured. Little things like blackout curtains are pluses; a shortage of proper drawers to put clothes away into (I was there for nearly a week) a tad bit annoying. The wifi was adequate, barely, but it is also free. But doing a Skype video call was dodgy--really expect more from Accor (and the hotel has acknowledged this and is working on improving the service).

One of the great thing about the property is the roof deck. There's a gym, a pool and a wading pool for kids (I thought it was a jacuzzi, but it's not). There are some nice lounge chair and from noon onwards a café service. But the chairs get grabbed early and people tend to park themselves for hours if you want a lounger. I had several hours from check out until my flight in the evening, so nabbing a lounger and spending the afternoon up there was niiiiice.

Staff are multilingual and helpful. Not 5 star service, but it's not a 5 star hotel. No complaints there. I did not do the breakfast buffet, which seemed overpriced at €18. From 08h onwards there are several cafés in the area to get some breakfast--this is Catalonia so things are open late and therefore don't open up very early. Including many international brands like Starbucks and McDonalds. So us northern European early risers struggle a wee bit. ;)

The hotel is across Avenida Diagonal from cc Gloriés, one of the newer shopping malls in town. There's a Carrefour hypermarché and many international brands there--very convenient. Walk 5 minutes down Avenida Diagonal (away from the city centre) and you come across the rambla for Poble Nou, which is much more "real" that the main Rambla in the centre. Head East on the rambla and you hit a great beach/seawall area (one part nude, if that's your thing) in less than 20 minutes.

When I go back to Barcelona I'd certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: higher, southern facing rooms get a great view of the city, including Mont Juïc, la Sagrada Familia...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank JawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Jawn,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Novotel and we thank you for considering our hotel to stay in Barcelona.

It is pleasant to know that your experience did meet your expectations and that our location have allowed you to discover the real Barcelona and to sightseeing around the city.
We are also glad for hearing that you and your family have had a great time and to let us being been part of it.

We hope to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,600)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Barcelona City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 3,603 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Barcelona City in July 2014. The hotel is clean and sufficent. Exactly what you would expect from a Novotel. The staff were really friendly and gave us exact toursit information to help us find our way around. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
The location is a little out of the city, about a 10min cab ride to the main part of the city which cost us no more than 10euro and there is a taxi rank right in front of the hotel so it is never a problem to get a taxi. The train station is a 2min walk from the hotel and to get to La Rambla it was only 4 stops and a 2.30euro ticket. There is a great little shopping complex just outside the hotel. We actually preferred to stay a little out of the city (10min away) as it wasnt as crowded.... Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Alisha,

We thank your for sharing your comments regarding your stay.

It is pleasant to hear that your experience did meet your expectations according to Novotel standards. We are glad to know that our location has allowed you discover the whole city due to the proximity to the metro,bus and tramway station.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a great stay at barcelona. The rooms c and hotel cater well for children. Location is good for transport shops and restaurants.
Only negative is pool is freezing, milk in breakfast buffet is warm and taxis bookings were not on time (this may not be hotel fault though).
All in all we would recommend to others for a stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Lissas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are glad to know that you have had a great time in Barcelona and that our location have allowed you to sightsee around the city.

Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that the temperature of our outdoor pool and the temperature of the milk on breakfast was not your like. As a sign of our concern, I have shared the comment with our Chef and I am glad to assure you that we are taking steps in order to improve the quality of our breakfast service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Best regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Iyad-H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay. We had inter connecting rooms for 2 adults and 3 kids. The rooms were spacious and comfy beds. Caters well for kids with xbox games. Easy walk to shops restaurants and markets. Hop on hop off tour bus across the road. Pool would have been better if heated and taxi service a little slow when booking for 5 people.
Breakfast best we've had so far on a long European trip.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Suzie,

We appreciate your comments regarding your visit at our Novotel.

It is pleasant to know that your experience did achieve your expectations and that our location have allowed you to enjoy the Tourist Bus due to have a station just in front of the hotel.

We are also glad to hear that the breakfast was the best you had so far on a long European trip.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

When you choose Novotel, you are expecting a certain standard. This Hotel has that standard, but there are some flaws.

The rooms, beds and stuff like that are ok and are fully living up to the general Novotel standard.

Unfortunately the breakfast does not live up to that standard. The food is again, ok, but there are flaws, the biggest one beeing that they are not cleaning the room while the breakfast is ongoing. This is a very big hotel, so there are quite a few guests. When you are sitting and trying to enjoy your breakfast you will also be in 'company' of the last guest at your table as floor is filled with breadcrumb and other leftovers from the previous guests. We have stayed at several Novotel hotels, but never with this lack of standard on the breakfast.

There is also a fitness room, but this room is to say it mildly, sparsely equipped. However if you like running on machines, they have 3 of them.

There is a swimming pool on the topfloor, where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of Barcelona. But at our stay the pool was freezing cold, so we did not use it. You will get towels from the lifeguard.

There is free wifi, but when we stayed it was somewhat unstable and most of our devices where regularely thrown of the net.

But otherwise a good hotel. It is placed jus a few meters from the Glories mall and the Glories metro station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breidablik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here one night before commencing a tour, then again for a further 4 nights afterwards. I was slightly disappointed that my longer stay was in a room with a very lumpy and noisy bed.

Other than this the rooms were excellent, and clean. the bathrooms very spacious, however the wifi didnt work very well at all in either of my rooms on both my laptop and phone. The lobby was ok though.

The staff were very nice and helpful with any questions. Public transport and taxi's are right at your door, along with a shopping mall across the road. The food was excellent, and I found all of the wait staff to be very pleasant.

Pool and gym were good, yet small. You need to get in early to get a place to sit, or the treadmill! I would definitely return to this hotel when i next return to barcelona

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ebonybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#209 of 513 in Barcelona
2,995 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,968 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,112 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
2,527 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $115 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing