We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away but reasonable for family with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #179 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed 5 night at Christmas time, chose this hotel because of kids free policy but were disappointed by breakfast price (18 euro per person!). Fortunately, big Careffur supermarket and food court was just a cross the street. Metro station is 5 min walk, Clot-Argo train station ( aeroport direct train) is 10 min walk
We used metro all days because it is not convinient walking distance to city centre with kids, except Sagrada Familia (20 min walk).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank lena_elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 3,641 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Novotel Barcelona is a very typical novotel. Big rooms and friendly and helpfull staff. We asked for our in-room safe to be fixed but this took a couple of times asking to be done but genrally the staff our very efficent.

We had a familly room for two adults and two children with one double bed and a sofa bed. Unlike some novotels that we have stayed at before, the sofa bed turned out to be another double bed which simply wasn't big enough for two reasonably big children which is an issue as adding an extra room is not cheap!!

A thing that is always consistent across all novotels is the quality of the breakfasts that they serve. The selection is great with a wide choice of both hot and cold options. Children eat for free which is definetly a bonus. The bar is reasonably priced for an inner city bar.

What also makes this hotel special is its location. It is well served by transport as there is a taxi rank just outside, bus and tram stops just across the road and a metro station three minutes walk away. There are also good resturants nearby.

We were going to watch a barcelona fc football game and this novotel is in a perfect location as one of the buses that goes from outside the hotel takes you directly to outside the ground.

All in all, we had a very good stay and would definetly reccomend Barcelona city novotel.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the lifts don't get noise from the lifts so this is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback relating to your recent stay at Novotel Barcelona City.
I'm delighted you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very Good Hotel
Nice Restaurant where you can eat local food.
fitness and Hammam are also available as well as a swimming Pool.
Near to the center, you don't nedd a car and can travel by bus, tram or metro.




  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Christopher,
First of all we would like to thank you for dedicated your time to write positive comments about the restaurant and location of the hotel.
We hope to see you again in Novotel Barcelona City

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Arno B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I organised a 5 day meeting for a client with the Novotel City.

Slightly out of the centre, but in a great mixed zone (residential, restaurants, shopping, good transport links) the Novotel City is a large, business-orientated hotel. It has a roof top bar and a small gym, with views out to the Sagrada Familia.

Cristina and her event team are fabulous and I couldn't thank them enough for helping me with the event. The food is great, especially for mass catering and the breakfasts are fantastic. We dined out in the local area each night; the Rambla Poble Nou is very close and full of great bars and restaurants.

The sea is +/-25 mins walk.

Room 909 is more than adequate for a single traveller; rooms 09 and 011 are opposite the lift, though the noise is not an issue. Clean and well stocked and the housekeeping staff are very friendly (though not bi-lingual). Free Wifi, ask for codes on reception for each of your devices.

Room Tip: Rooms 09 and 011 are opposite the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Emma,
First of all thank we appreciate you taking the time to provide a review.
Great to hear that you had a wonderful meeting with us.

We hope to see you again in Novotel Barcelona City,

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very polite staff. The best breakfast I ever had in a hotel, again with great service. The greatest roomview one can think of. You can see the whole of Barcelona with views on the Sagrada Familia, Montjuich, the breachfront and cetrainly the magnificent torre agbar just in front (see picture). Excellent working elevator, large choice of free computers with printer at the hall. Very tasty restaurant dishes. Located opposite a large shopping mall and close to the metrostation ( upon arrival you may have some problem finding the hotel). Hammam on top of the building with chill out opportunity. Swimming pool was closed of course in winter. This must be a paradise in summer (but it already is in winter)..

Room Tip: Ask for a room (almost) on top with view on the torre agbar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misseghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time sharing your comment in TripAdvisor.
It is really a pleasure read that our guests enjoyed their stay at Novotel Barcelona City

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good location for both business & leisure. Taxi's always on hand, Tram less than 2 minutes away. Staff all multi-lingual & friendly. Only used the restaurant for breakfast (€20.00) full selection.
Bar not expensive for a major European city.

Access to all areas of Barcelona very good , so long as you know where you are going!

Rooms are all comfortable, free Wi-Fi very clean & comfortable. Hotel is approx. 40 minutes to one hour from Airport (subject to time of travel)
Has very good leisure facilities - did not have time to use but again well maintained & clean.
There are several bars & restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. What a pleasure that seeing that the accommodation, our staff, the services and the location was at your convenience.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity we have to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,

MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#207 of 515 in Barcelona
3,038 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,033 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
2,276 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 515 in Barcelona
2,553 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $100 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing