We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and clean room, but not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #160 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“big and clean room, but not worth the money”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My room was clean and large. View from the room was also nice. The hotel is rather new and modern. I would have no major problem getting back to the hotel, but it would not be my first choice. I paid more than 180 euro per nigh for one person, no breakfast (bad value for money in my opinion).
I particularly disliked the waiting time for the elevator in the morning (and from the warning signs, breakfast is not better). This is not acceptable in a business hotel.
Internet was generally rather slow. I was not impressed with the restaurant (though I might simply have been unlike with the dish I ordered).
Regarding location...it depends on what you need/like. OK is you have business in the area, but as a tourist I would probably go for something in a different area. Public transportation in the area is however excellent and taxis are not so expensive.
Some of my colleagues (5) had problems with getting a room and sent to a different, rather distant, hotel for one night. They reported this was handled well, but still it is an hassle that one would like to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italy_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that your stay was disappointing as a result of our price in relation with the quality service.
We had a particular breakdown in one of our lifts and to fix it we spend some days because it was really hard.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    1,684
    346
    88
    48
See reviews for
1,787
770
151
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The rooftop area was the best part of this hotel. Excellent views over the city and a good place to spend a few hours. Our room was comfortable and clean with great views. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed one night at the Novotel Barcelona Diagonal. It is located in a less touristic area more frequented by the locals so it is a plus.The rooftop patio and spa has an unbelievable view on Barcelona. Especially at night! It is a business hotel, so you know what to expect. Rooms are small but very comfortable and most importantly, quiet and clean. All necessary services are available, including board and iron, which is very useful when you travel! All in all, a very good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for leaving your comments in Trip Advisor.
What a pleasure seeing that the hotel was at your convenience.
We are located in a privilege area, we are very well connected with the center and the main tourist attractions of the city. We are also grateful that you like the area where the hotel is located.
We are grateful that you liked the top floor that you can see the incredible views of Barcelona.
Thank you for sharing your comment.
Hope seeing again in Novotel Barcelona City,

Best regards,
MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel - modern and new. THe rooms were nice and the pool and bar on the 20th floor were a hit. The restaurant at the hotel was amazing - strongly recommend a meal there. The breakfast was wonderful too in a room downstairs which was hard to find at first. Negative comment was the slow lifts. Overall a great place to stay. We walked to La Sagradia church and got a taxi into town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribbi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that your stay was disappointing as a result of our lifts service.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future
regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Top hotel. Stayed for 5 nights bed and breakfast. Rooms were spotless and modern design, we had a family room which consisted of a double bed and double sofa bed both were very comfortable .Wide variety and good quality breakfast something for everyone's taste. The roof pool is small but still worth a visit along with roof bar and sofa area and gym,sauna. We had a late flight so these can be used on your last day after checking out.There is 4 x box unit.s in main reception area to keep kids amused free to use as well as free wifi in your rooms. The hotel is situated 400 metres from Clot railway station, which costs 15 euro for the family to transfer to airport. Also we bought T10 cards which enables you to travel on metro 10 times well worth it. We use Luna metro station the most small supermarket nearby about 5 mins walk. We visited most of the attraction in Barcelona , the musical fountain are well worth a visit. They don't start till its dark and arent on every night and it gets very busy

Room Tip: T 10 cards are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMARSHALL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Marshall,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.
We are happy to hear from you that your 5 days stay at Novotel Barcelona City reach your expectations.
Also your opinion about the breakfast buffet is very important for us, specially our breakfast staff, who try their best to satisfy our clients with a high quality and variety of products offered.
The children corner, is something that makes Novotel Barcelona City Hotel prepared to host either work travellers as families visiting the city.

We will be waiting to welcome you again at Novotel Barcelona City.

Yours faithfully,

Xabier H.

Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is pretty well located close to public transport and right next to a taxi stand. Very friendly staff who speaks a ton of languages. The rooms are quite spacious, very well kept and super quiet. The bar/restaurant downstairs is also really decent. The rooftop is really nice and the view fantastic, even if both the rooftop and the pool are quite smaller than what the photos may make them look like.
Only 4 stars simply because I found the drinks downstairs and at the rooftop bar quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasA637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
311 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Overall, I like this hotel because it is nice, clean and the location is superb. I did not like the sheets(poor quality), the towels(thin and cheap), and there was no iron(or board) in the room. I know this is picky, but these are comforts I like, and that take an ordinary nice hotel over the top. Most hotels have way comfortable beds/sheets comforters, this one does not, which lessens your quality of sleep. For a hotel of this magnitude, towels are inexpensive, and why not? If you want to be big time, provide quality throughout. I did like the decor in the hotel thought it was great, also the room was nice. Air Conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#180 of 513 in Barcelona
2,794 reviews
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
1,107 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#92 of 513 in Barcelona
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
#227 of 513 in Barcelona
2,163 reviews
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Property: Novotel Barcelona City
Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#117 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing