We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crema catalana and chocolate con churros!”

Granja La Pallaresa
Ranked #11 of 105 Bakeries in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Crema catalana and chocolate con churros!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

"When you see locals eating you just get inside"...
That's what we did and we did not regret about it!

Excellent crema catalana and chocolate con churros. Personally I didn't like too much the melindros (if you want only chocolate then you should go to Petritxol Cafe nearby which is also excellent). Very good coffee and good service as well. The place is simple but traditional and it gives you a real taste of "old times" Barcelona. You will see many locals getting inside. Its amazing how fast the place can get full...

Do not forget that they open at 09:00-13:00 and 16:00-21:00 daily/Saturday and 09:00-13:00 17:00-21:00 on Sunday.

Positives:
+prices
+taste
+quality
+environment
+service
+clean

Negatives:
- nothing

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Efthymios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    257
    88
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple yet so perfect ^^”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went to this place because of a locals recommendation. We went to the one on Petrixol (#11) down Portal del Angel( close to Plaza Catalunya). Its a small place which almost always has a line from what I hear but we only waited for about 5 minutes, but I its worth the wait if you have a sweet tooth like I do :)

Finally we get to order,I got a ¨Chocolate con nata¨(which is a lighter version of chocolate fondue with cream on top ), ¨Churros¨ and ¨Ensaimada¨ (is like a soft sweet bun). Everything was delicious, I ate two orders of churros and could´ve had another :P. Service it quite fast, so you wont have to wait too long.

Love the place is casual and great atmosphere, you can come with friends, family or loved ones. It´ll be a great stop after lots of walking or just something to do on a rainy day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank polancomariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold and greasy churros”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

It was my first time trying churros in Spain and I ordered Spanish chocolate and churros and those were cold and greasy which I didn't like it

Helpful?
Thank Maryalice1101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Catalan Cream!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had not set out to find this cafe, but after a long day of strolling the gothic, it just appeared at a perfect time. It is a perfect place to stop, sip something and eat a little desert. It was crowded but the service was quick. The "english" menu left a lot to be desired, so we pointed and pantomimed our way to what we wanted.

Many were getting the churros and chocolate, but we opted for Catalan cream (Spanish Creme Brûlée with a custard that has lemon zest and cinnamon) plus a tall glass of chocolate milk with a generous cloud of heavy whipped cream that we stirred together.

It elevated our blood sugar and introduced me to Catalan cream.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love the churros and so do the kids. We ate it warm and it's crispy on the outside & soft on the inside. The sweetness is just right and it's not oily. The hot chocolate is also my favourite especially during the cold winter days. The whipped cream on top was good though adds to the calories. I dipped the churros with the hot chocolate for a double whammy. Yes, there are many visitors to the store but there are ample seats. They also serve other types of breads, deserts, etc. It's located near the Las Ramblas area so when you are tired walking, do sit down and have some churros & hot chocolate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanazNazeeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granja La Pallaresa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Granja La Pallaresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing