We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet stay in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rambla Gothiko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rambla Gothiko
Ranked #403 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A quiet stay in a great location”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Unlike many reviews about this hostel we had a quiet stay. We were lucky enough to have a double room with private bathroom at the back of the hostel. I'm sure this made a huge difference. Yes the walls are a little thin between rooms but we never had any trouble and didn't hear much at all from the room next to us which was occupied. Most of the time we felt like we were the only ones in the hostel although we know there were at least 2 other rooms occupied. It was great to have a fridge and microwave in the common area. The whole place felt very secure and was very clean. The only downside was that the toilet was extremely small. Location is excellent! Our advice is don't eat on La Rambla! Find a great eating place around the streets near the hostel. The food is better and the prices excellent. Overall a great stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondebride86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in this hostel this weekend for a friends birthday, was originally just 2 of us then on the day we had to change our room from a twin to a triple, this was no problem at all! The owner is so helpful and even greets you with a welcome drink!

Our room was so clean and comfortable, we used the shared bathrooms which were always free and very very clean!! There is also a fridge and freezer, kettle and microwave!

Was a bit difficult to find but that's my fault so make sure you follow the directions fromt he booking site and print the map and address! Location wise its perfect, by the harbour, 15 min walk to beach and about 10min walk to la ramblas.

Will definitely be staying here again and will recommend to my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_sweeney12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed at the Rambla Gothiko. The first time was when I was traveling with friends & the second was with my mum as I was happy with our first stay. Both within the last 6 months.
The rooms and bathrooms were always immaculately clean.
The staff were professional & helpful. The location was great. Within walking distance to the beach & main shopping streets, free walking tours & bike tours start from 10 mins walk away. We didn't need to catch public transport anywhere.
Overall a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Upon reading the various reviews, my girlfriend and I were a bit apprehensive about booking this hostel. But I am so glad we did! I'm the kind of person who dislikes staying at hostels as they are normally crowded, noisy, unclean, etc. but this place was none of those. Raif and his business partner were great hosts and def. made our stay in Barcelona very enjoyable. They even gave us a free glass of Cava (Spanish sparkling wine) when we checked in! Though we didn't have an en-suite, the showers/bathrooms were always clean and were always available for use. The room itself was clean and modern, with a comfy double bed, wardrobe and a balcony overlooking Barri Gotic. Being situated a five-ten minute walk from Port Vell & Las Ramblas, there were plenty of bars, restaurants and Metro stops nearby. Oh yeah, the super market just down the street was great, selling cheap fresh baked bread and wine (and anything else you need during your stay). We also made use of Rambla Gothiko's microwave & fridge to store beer, food, etc.
The only thing I can really complain about was the noise at night, as we had the room right on the street. From garbage trucks to bar-goers, you can really hear it all. But for us, only the first night was difficult to sleep through. After that, we hardly noticed. But for me having a balcony was def worth it! (NB: We shared the balcony with the room next door, which was empty due to the remodeling for the majority of our stay)

Conclusion: This hostel rivals staying at a nice hotel! Great value, great room, great location, very clean and great service. This place was perfect for our couple's Barcelona get-away. Would def. return!

Room Tip: Maybe, ask for a room away from the street for a more quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishscaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had 3 good nights at the hostel. After a long research we chose this Hostel and we feared it would be a bad experience.
But when we arived at place catalunya we called the owner to announce we're almost there.
And he was very kind. He was waiting for us outside and offered us a welcome drink, we chose cava!
He was so kind and in the corridor were a lot of bathrooms and toilets.
We had a room with shower and wc but we didn't used them a lot. The wc was a little bit to small and the shower was not really handy.. So choose a room without bathroom, you don't need them.
It was very clean in the rooms, the kitchen, reception and bathroom.
There was a microwave oven and fridge!
The location was great. Near to ramblas, near to the beach and near to port vell which has a great view and a huge shopping centre!

A great experience. If you can stand young people and there noise from time to time.
The airco was really great in the hot temperatures!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here mid-May and were very impressed by the room, service and location. Although we weren't in a room with an ensuite bathroom, this wasn't a problem as the shared facilities were spotless and in three days I only once had to wait to use them.

The location is great - only a few minutes walk from the bottom of La Rambla - and there are loads of attractions, restaurants and bars within walking distance. For things further afield, there is a metro stop at the bottom of La Rambla.

The only vaguely negative thing I have to say about Rambla Gothiko is that if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs, as the narrow streets mean that any noise on the street is going to seem very close by. But the positives far outweigh the very minor negative.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Exceptionally clean, terrific location and good value. Staff were very helpful and welcoming - we accidently broke a window pane in our room and they fixed it up very next day and apologised for the inconvenience even though it was our fault! Bring earplugs to sleep with, however, there is no street noise but building is extremely echo-ey and other guests' doors rattle most of the door. Rooms and bathrooms are small but very clean, location is secure. Just the noise factor so be prepared!

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room at the back, so you don't have people coming past and you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
121 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#112 of 521 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#22 of 521 in Barcelona
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#45 of 521 in Barcelona
1,761 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
No photo provided
Avinyo Mansion
#547 of 759 in Barcelona
1 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Palace Hostel
Palace Hostel
#571 of 759 in Barcelona
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambla Gothiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambla Gothiko

Property: Rambla Gothiko
Address: Davinyo 39, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rambla Gothiko Hotel Barcelona
Rambla Gothiko Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing