We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar to your Saves list
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Cardenal Vidal i Barraquer, 15, 08035 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A simple hotel with basic but clean and comfortable rooms. We stayed overnight with our two children and found the reception staff to be very helpful and informative about accessing the city ( the Montbau metro was a few mins walk away. )
We went for the evening buffet, keenly priced at 9 euros each and were pleasantly surprised - eat as much as usually like with wine included. Breakfast also good and plentiful.

It did feel like we were going back to our student halls days but we quite like this, the grounds of the accommodation are tranquil and traditionally picturesque.

The only downside was the lack of air conditioning - this made for a very humid evening in the rooms and it was difficult to sleep albeit we did go in July with peak temperatures.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I totally agree with Svetlana Jam. But I must emphesize the great, beutiful and romantic park of the residense. You just want to stay there and relax.There are great buildings in the teritory of the residence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful place to stay!Really. But not for everyone. Now I try to explain. It is located 10 minutes on foot from the metro station Montbau. On the one hand it can seem far from the center but it is L3 - the line which connects many historical place and it takes only 25-30 minutes to get any of them (including your foot way).On the other hand its location gives you a unique chance to get park Guel on foot!!!! Also 30 minutes (I've done it!). What is more - the price 42 euro for two persons including breakfast (not bed really with reasonable choice)! Good bathroom, room is very simple but clean, staff is very polite and helpful. Being honest, I should say about troubles: there is no condition and a safe in the room. The lack of condition is partly compensated that the windows face to the park. And now about the main advantage - beautiful old park of this Residensia - wonderful and unique!There is one more benefit - own parking in the guarded territory. Please, see my pictures - they say to you more than my words

Room Tip: there are two types of room:standard and modified - take modified, of course - they have a good bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

On a Motorcycle Holiday touring Spain with my wife, this place was unbelievable value for money. A bit basic but perfect for our needs. Breakfast was a little basic but very good. It was only a 5 minute walk to the Metro Station, we had two brilliant days in Barcelona one of our favourite Cities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinjyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at this residence for one night in early June , as we left we said it was a pity we were not there for longer. The rooms are basic twin rooms , we had superior ones and the beds were comfortable , cleanliness including shower room was excellent. The beauty of this place is the grounds it is set in , it has gardens with statues and fountains and ponds , as one walked around it felt like being in a retreat. There are not many facilities here , there was a coffee and snack machine in the modern block we slept in and we breakfasted in the dining room in the older building , good continental breakfast in a nice large dining room (they also appear to do evening meals) . It is easly to get to on metro line 3(green) to Montbau station - we came by train from the airport changing at Passeig de Gracia (easy) and did the journey for 1.03 euros using a T10 ticket(well worth buying at Euros 10.30 for 10 journeys of 1 hour 15 mins on all public transport forms in the city , more than one person can use the same ticket - just go through the barrier and pass it back - this is legal !!) The Residencia is a 7 or 8 minute walk downhill to the "matches" sculpture and turn right - obviously harder uphill going back ! The surrounding area felt safe and was quite peaceful , there are not a great many places to eat here , we had a drink outside on the pavement at a tapas bar and We ate at a bar/restaurant called El Parque and this was Spanish food (tapas are good portions) at reasonable prices and the owner was very helpful , the other restaurant near the station was Chinese , we did not try this . All three are between the metro station and the residence, El Parque is off to the left around a corner between the Chinese and the fish restaurant. If you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Barcelona in a nice setting , do try this , (it is also good for the Park Guell which is on about 4 stops back towards the city - station Vallcarca is best as it has escalators to go up the hills to the park)

Room Tip: we had superior rooms - some people complained about bed quality on reviews so it is probably worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Yes, the hotel is not fancy, the rooms are hostel like in size and the hotel elevator is small and dated, but the property is kept up and clean. Each of my rooms had it's own bath, shower and closet. The Wifi reception was weak on the fourth floor so we went down the "La Sala" (3rd floor) where a TV and several couches were located (no TV in rooms --- but you should be exploring during the day as resting at night). The small gardens around the grounds were very nice (although quickly toured). The ocean breeze was refreshing, and the view at night enchanting. Several parrot family birds even flew in amongst the trees by the room at night.

The hotel is located closed to the green metro line and extremely convenient for travel to the usual tourist spots.

Our dinner was a very good assortment of roasted vegetables, salad, bread, chicken, potato, wine, coffee, etc... Be sure to tell the staff early however if you plan to attend as during lighter attendance days (such as it was when I was there) the cook staff prepares a number of "plates" in advance and does not present the entire buffet as usual. It was perfect for use after a day of traveling.

CONS: Little information regarding how to get here.

Without being directly in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the city and away from the norm, the information desk at El Prat airport was horribly misinformed. Do not let them misdirect you! I was told it would cost upwards of 70 Euro for a cab --- that was not true. Upon my return the trip was 20 Euro for 3 people and about twenty minutes away from El Prat.

The El Prat voyage (large suitcases in tow) took almost two hours and cost almost 50 Euro for three people using the information desk prescribed route. We bumped our luggage up and down many steps and even had a close call with 3 woman intent on pickpocketing (ha ha ... no such luck that day ladies). The bus and metro approach may be suitable for light travelers and backpackers but I'd suggest a taxi for arrival with luggage. If you have a phone call the hotel directly and have them arrange the taxi for you on arrival (I had no phone).

I'm not a local but if you'd still prefer to travel by bus and metro, my suggested route would be:

The A10 (blue bus) to the city center ("El Centro")
then take the Green metro line to Montbau.
When you get off at Montbau
head downhill toward the sculpture of a book of matches and turn right.
About halfway down the street you'll find a gate where you must buzz in.

The walk from the metro is 10 minutes at most.

(The El Prat info desk provided directions: Bus A10 > Metro Blue line to Horta > Bus 185 to Hotel --- 2HRs!)

I hope the hotel does more to provide better suggestions on how to arrive in the future. It would be interesting also to better understand the history of the place (but that's what Google's for). Overall I found this out of the way, affordable, peaceful and enjoyable, I'll definitely add it as stop for future travel.

Room Tip: I paid extra for the deluxe but it may not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chambochambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#392 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#170 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#404 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge L'Hospitalet
#377 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#313 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Hostal Alogar
#230 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar

Address: Avda. Cardenal Vidal i Barraquer, 15, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse of the Salesian seminari Martí-Codolar The hostelry of the Salesian seminary Martí-Codolar is a place of shelter for people or groups who wish to spend a few days of rest in an idyllic garden environment, a few minutes from Barcelona town center. Our means and resources are limited and we cannot provide the services of a commercial hotel, but we do offer all the amenities in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. To make it possible, we ask all our visitors to follow a set of simple rules: Reception Our reception staff is 24 hours available. Dinning-room service The dining room works as self-service, but the tables are assigned on a group basis. After each meal and before leaving the dining room you are obliged to collect your dishes from the table and leave them in the indicated containers. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 09:30 am, lunch from 01:30 to 03:00 pm and dinner from 08:00 to 09:30 pm. In all cases the dining room will close thirty minutes after the set time. For hygiene and cleanliness reasons, it is not permitted take food or drink away from the dining room. If for health reasons you need a menu with special needs, it will be necessary to let us know at the moment you book your stay. You also must do so in case you wish to request a picnic. In case your arrival is out of the aforementioned timetables we can also offer you a picnic, which you can pleasantly enjoy in our gardens as well. Large groups - more than 10 people - must request their intention to book meals or the cancellation of these with a minimum notice of 24 hours. Not being done this way, in the first case we could not guarantee the service, and in the second guests should equally pay. Smaller groups will be able to report back on their intentions until 10:00 pm of the same day, which will be also valid for the regulations of meals for larger groups. Bedrooms Bedrooms do not have TV and it is not allowed to smoke or cook inside them. Check-out is before 11:00 am, with the delivery of keys at reception. The bed linen is changed every three days and the towels every two days of stay. Common spaces We request the most attention and care with the animals and plants in our gardens. Furniture Furniture should not be moved from its place, unless having our explicit authorization, and this also includes the garden. Parking Our parking is very limited in its dimensions, so please reduce the number of vehicles to park in order to not saturate it and park always respecting the limited areas. Buses must be announced at the time of booking and will be assigned a specific space. Given these circumstances, the hostelry cannot guarantee parking spots for all its guests at all times. Others Always take the precaution to close the doors of your bedroom because the guesthouse Martí-Codolar is not responsible for the possible misplace of belongings, which also includes the ones left in reception. In order to ensure the rest for all our guests, please be silent between 11:00 pm and 08:00 am. The internet access is free and the key will be advised at the front desk upon arrival. It is not permitted the use of bathing suits or the lack of pieces of clothing in the public spaces of the house, neither the exhibits that could dismiss morality or the appeal of the rest of the guests. The Salesian Seminary Martí-Codolar reserves the right to refuse admission in case of non-compliance with these rules. Have a nice stay and hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar Hotel Barcelona
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing