We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff need to be changed”
Review of Sixtytwo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sixtytwo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 12, 2010

the hotel is great,location is very good near city center, staff are rude

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for such a good mark taking into account the staff was not as expected. All the team wants to apologise if at any moment something went wrong. We are proud to work for this little boutique hotel just perfectly located and we just wish to give the service the Sixtytwo deserves.
Best regards from Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2010

Location,Room,Breakfast,Wine Tasting,all of very high standard.Really enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel.However the room safe is very small and we left all our documents,passport ,two wallets,phones as much as we could in the safe.On our return home I realised to my dismay that my small wallet containing credit and debt cards health card and a some of british money was missing.Phoned the hotel before cancelling the cards to be told phone back the following day as the cleaning staff we not available(understandably it was after midnight)Cancelled cards.Phoned the next day as requested but to no avail no wallet was found.We always use the safe for our valuables and don't open it till we are ready to return home.So please be aware that the safe is small and take care with your property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing this review with all the tripadvisors. All the Sixtytwo staff is sorry to read that after a great stay with us, the lost of your wallet cause you this trouble. It is true our safes are not very large but if we had found your missing belongings we would immediately have sent them back to you. Our housekeeping department always takes care strictly of all lost items in our rooms. However, in common areas such as the corridors, lounge, hall... a lost item can be found by any other guest before us...
Best regards from Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

As most of the other reviews say, this is a lovely boutique hotel, fabulously located between the two famous Gaudi houses on the Passeig de Gracia. Staff are very friendly, rooms clean etc etc. Our only complaint is that the bedroom walls are paper thin which meant that we could hear everything (and I mean everything) that was happening in the room next door, even to the extent that we could hear someone's normally spoken conversation word for word. In the end we had to put music on in order to block it out, which probably meant the people on the other side of us didn't get much sleep either! Having said that, when the neighbours were quiet, the beds were really comfortable.

One other tip - most of the taxi drivers had never heard of this hotel and struggled to locate it, even when we gave them the exact address. Our friends arrived at 2am and the taxi driver gave up and asked them to get out the cab further down the road! If this happens, ask the cab driver to drop you off at the Hotel Majestic on Passeig de Gracia. That's a massive hotel and about 4-5 doors down from No sixty two.

Oh, and if you don't fancy paying for an expensive breakfast, the cafe a few doors down does a lovely coffee and bagel in the morning and opens late in the evening too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your Sixtytwo point of viea with the Tripadvisor readers!
Taking into account the Sixtytwo just openned in Septembre 2009 (just a year ago your visit) we are not surprised about the cab problems. It is just a matter of time... Giving the address: Paseo de Gracia nº62 it will for sure work and will drop you just in front of the door, where the cabs actually have their own rank.
Be informed the Sixtytwo breakfast service offer 2 possibilities: the buffet-à la carte breakfast for 19,80€ per person, and the cafeteria service which allows you to order a coffee, a croissant... paying just as if you were at a bar for what you have requested.
We do take note of your noise problems and we will do our best in order to minimise them as soon as possible.
Keep travelling positive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed in a suite which was very large especially by European standards, with a fabulous bathroom, large tub, immaculate. Patio was huge with lounge chairs and table. A little pricey but we felt it was well worth it. Location is unbelievable, within one block of Gaudi's Casa Badlio, basically the best neighborhood of Barcelona. We did not have breakfast because it seemed too expensive particularly given the array of options within two blocks. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Bellboy who delivered introductory bottle of cava on ice (a nice touch) wasn't very knowledgeable though. Training on guest orientation, particularly to the high tech integrated lighting system, would be helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on our experience at the high end of their rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing such a nice review with all the tripadvisors!
Receiving so nice comments keep us working at our standard.
We appreciate your recommendation about the lightning system and we will make sure all our future guests are informed.
Best regards from Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I booked one of their Executive Rooms through Expedia - and I looked-up the Trip-Advisor recommendations beforehand. None of my expectations came true.
The late shift concierges were not at all interested in their guests. They were just hanging around in the lobby, and not understanding my issues. Firstly I booked a non-smoking room, but there was none, and the receptionist said, I should open the window. Bummer. The one who guided me to my room did not even know what to show me upstairs. He was a funny one - lost in space. The rooms are spacious, that's true. And I guess some time ago it's been a modern, state-of-art environment - but once I stepped into the bathroom I was disgusted. The shower was so mouldy, I could hardly breathe. I've never been in such a messed up shower room. It was quite offending, to offer this kind of place for money.
The same receptionist said: he wouldn't understand my problem, there'd be a tub too, and I could simply close the shower and now use it.
Well, that's a strange perpective.
The replacement room they wanted to give me for one night (and then move again), had other service issues, I doubt that the bathroom's floor's been cleansed before me checking in.
The next night (after talking to the supervisor) I stayed in another room - no shower (only tub) but everything's been a bit sticky and worn-off. A shame because you could clearly see that somebody invested a chunk of money in this hotel. Given the great location some people might enjoy staying here. But neither on business nor for fun I'd return. The bathroom reminded me of my worst campsite experiences when I was young. But for the price of € 200,- /night this is a no go!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your point of view of the Sixtytwo with other Tripadvisor readers.
We cannot denied our black natural stone bathrooms after just 6 years of use, do not give a good impression. However, we can assure they are cleaned every day, even if unfortunately white lime stains remain. Since the Sixtytwo has reopened its doors in Septembre 2009, after 2 months refurnishment, we knew our bathrooms were also in need of a "new look" and this is the reason why in January 2011 already 10 bathrooms have been redone and the other 35 bathrooms will follow before the end of summer. (But it must be said, if we have thought they were not reaching a minimum standard, we will not have offered our rooms)
In reference to the staff, as the manager, I just can personaly apologise. The night shift has obviously received your review and have been prayed to do their work properly.
We just hope to offer you the possibility of living the real "Sixtytwo Experience" in the future!
Best regards from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Spent 6 nights here. An excellent choice. Great location, easy access to all sites and conveniences. Rooms are good size, modern & clean. Staff is most helpful. Breakfast is a bit high in price, but there's a great selection. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Wow! Thank you for such a nice review!
All the staff is more than pleased to read your nice words and we are just waiting to welcome you very soon.
Take note that in February 2011 we have added new Sixtytwo activities:
- Wednesdays: free wine tasting.
- Thursdays: gintonic afterwork.
- Fridays: live jazz&blues music.
Keep travelling positive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a trendy establishment in a great part of the city, on one of the best upmarket streets close to two of Gaudi's famous buildings and a short walk to the subway and to La Ramblas. I had a large premier room with an alcove sitting area overlooking the back which was quiet and pleasant. The beds are soft and comfortable. The breakfast is good but pricey and probably need more staff as the used plates take awhile to be cleared and the food to be replenished.

But it just misses on a few simple issues: the duvet is too thick for the Barcelona climate but the hotel has no blankets, the bottled water is not replenished after the first bottle, there is no slip mat for the bath / shower and the floor of the bath is quite slippery. I am amazed if people have not been previously injured - I had to use the had towel getting out to stop slipping. The air conditioning temperature controls can only be adjusted by the front desk - why? This is suppose to be a 4 star hotel.

And the rooms are a bit pricey so I think a charge of 12 euros a day for wifi is a bit extreme. Yes there are two free laptops in the lounge to use but that is not the point. And finally although there are 4 English language news stations on TV why cannot they supply an English movie channel station or even Discovery.

But overall not bad.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions with the other tripadvisor readers.
The Sixtytwo hotel has reopened just in September 2009 and we keep learning from our guests needs. We are pleased now to inform you:
- we do have blankets on request.
- we give you the possibility of regulating temperature in your room.
- we are refurnishing all our bathrooms with no slippery baths and brand new materials on floor and walls (all bathrooms will be redone before the end of summer 2011)
- the welcome water is for free on arrival, than there is the minibar water (payable service).
- sorry but the internet service is still the same: for free on 2 labtops at the lounge, 12€ per day for the wifi (wifi internet service is for free when booking a Privilege or Suite rooms).
Keep travelling positive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
310 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
944 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixtytwo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtytwo Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $142 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixtytwo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona is the perfect hotel for those who enjoy the finer things in life and who appreciate privacy and personalised service. Located on the emblematic Paseo de Gracia surrounded by Barcelona’s best shopping, it is right in the heart of the latest fashion trends and Gaudi’s most representative buildings. The Sixtytwo is an authentic boutique hotel where design and modernism harmonise perfectly.Located between Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, The Sixtytwo has preserved its 1897 modernist façade and interiors and coupled them with designer furnishings. Tasteful touches courtesy of Moooi, Vitra, B&B and Philippe Starck give life to the hotel lobby and lounge, while the comfort of its 45 rooms is in part thanks to televisions by Bang&Olufsen, telephones by Jacob Jensen, taps by Tangent, Etro bathroom products, iPod stations, intelligent lighting systems and Nespresso coffee machines. At The Sixtytwo, all guests enjoy complimentary internet access. Our breakfast offer, including both a buffet prepared with fresh quality products as well as dishes à la carte cooked to order, will not leave you indifferent.The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge is open from 5pm until midnight. With a peaceful and cosmopolitan ambience, it is a meeting point for those in search of an extended wine list and a varied gin and tonic selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sixtytwo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing