We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, good hotel, good people”
Review of Sixtytwo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sixtytwo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by friendly, English speaking staff at check in, who volunteered to hold our bags before our check in time. Our room was spotless, and even smelled clean. Comfortable beds, quiet, good temp control.
I looked at the last two reviews and agree with "Luxurious Hotel in Barcelona" and I just didn't have any of the complaints of "Not a 4 star hotel" had (maybe they got a bad room). We had no problems with the free wifi.
We'll stay there again in September.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

"good spot, good hotel, good people" and let's add "good guest" :-)
Thank you so much for sharing your Sixtytwo Experience with other tripadvisors!
We will be glad to welcome you again in September.
Wish you a great summer,
Alex Tetard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a long gap, we finally had a wonderful time together. And, the credit goes to my husband, who booked this accommodation for our stay. What a fantastic place! Impressive entrance, luxurious rooms, amazing food, good bathroom facilities, etc ... all this was wonderful. Staff here was - the best! I really enjoyed a lot and will recommend all my friends to visit the place once.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Wooow! Thank you so much for such a great review.
And thank you to your husband too! :-)
Wish you the best,
Alex Tetard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel mostly because of good reviews on tripadvisor. But the truth is that there are too many things wrong with this hotel on too many levels.

The only two good things about the hotel are the cleanliness and the location. It is possible to reach any major Barcelona attraction form there either on foot or by metro. There is even a direct train line to Figueres just around the corner. Unfortunately, that concludes all the positives.

We booked a triple room figuring it would be large enough for two people, but discovered that it's barely fit for one. Beds occupy most of the room and it is hard to walk around them. There is absolutely no room for luggage. We had to be very inventive and rearrange the furniture to fit two medium suitcases. The only places you can dwell when in the room is on top of the beds. The beds are too soft and bend underneath you providing no sleep comfort. Also you can easily fall off from them if too close to the edge.

The closet has a heavy sliding doors with double mirrors. When opened it completely cuts you off from toilet, corridor and exit. The mirrors cloak the passage so it is likely to smash into them accidentally if not warned by your fellow companions.

The windows handles are removed, so no fresh air can be let in. The air conditioning hums strongly when on the minimum and thunders and roars when on the maximum. So imagine sleeping in such room without any fresh air or cooling.

The bathroom appears nice, but it has three serious flaws: 1) flushing the toilet results in a fountain-like content spraying all over the place or even you if you are not a quick jumper; 2) the sliding transparent doors leave 1-2 inches of lateral gap providing zero privacy; 3) the potential smell from e.g. "number two" spreads to room quicker than being sucked into the ventilation.

The internet was free of charge, but there was no adequate table for a laptop and no chair in the room. Since the hotel had no lobby, the only way I could use the internet was from the bed in a lying position like a teenager. The connection was so bad that I actually had to use another free access WiFi which did not belong to the hotel.

The isolation from the outside noise is good, but not from other rooms or the corridor. You can literary understand every word whispered behind the wall. Even if you switch your own noisy air conditioner off, the one from the next room will annoy you for sure. And on those rare occasions when you escape that disturbance, the motor driven blinds will make it up for you. Also, continuously while any of the lights are on, the room is filled with an irritating cricket-like noise.

I could go on counting dozens of other minor irritating things, but I believe you've got the picture. With all the noise, the lack of fresh air and the lack of space in what should be a triple room, the Sixtytwo hotel will put your family integrity or friendship to the ultimate test. If you wish to see how really close and devoted you are to each other, look no further. Otherwise, for the money they are charging I am sure you can get a much better deal in Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you have money to throw away book a luxury deluxe room which is probaly the only good room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hateshabbyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your "Sixtytwo Experience" with other guests.
We really do appreciate you underlining our prime location and our cleaning service.
Unfortunately, it is clear that this was all and believe we are really sorry for that.
It is a pity we were not able to know all these points during your stay. We could have shown you were the Sixtytwo lounge is, leave you the openning window system, take your empty luggage in order to give your more space, check the wifi system or give you an ADSL cable in order to give you a prime connection, etc.
Some structure issues were definately not easy to solve, but many others it would have been a pleasure at least to try.
Believe the purpose of our day work is not to irritate you, but the total opposite.
Sorry again for all what went wrong.
Wish you the best in your future travels,
Best regards,
Àlex Tetard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location. You are just in the middle of the action.

This place has seen better days, overall look is tired and in need of serious TLC. Toilette smelt of raw sewage, in fact it was really strong.

I travel to Barcelona on a regular basis due to business commitments. During my one night stay there was no Internet at all, despite been promised that it would only be a matter of hours which was not the case. I had to make alternative arrangements to get vital work done.

At check out I left my details for the director to contact me and discuss this issue further. As did not hear anything I called the day after and was told that I'd be contacted during the same day, to my utter disappointment this was not the case.

Based on this experience I will never stay again.

Thanks for reading, Gabriel

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Gabriel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Gabriel,
We are really sorry for all the inconvenience you had during your stay. We are used to give for free to all our guests a good wifi connection. It is correct we had a serious wifi problem during your night stay and we were 16h without offering that service.
As explained on both emails sent directly to you, sorry again for answering you 48h after your departure and we keep our promise to offer you a great deal for your next business visit to Barcelona.
At your entire disposal,
Àlex Tetard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

i would say the location is about the best thing about this hotel, as the area is surrounded by high end shops & lots of local cafes and restaurants to discover, and has a few touristic attractions 5 minutes away for those of you who are interested in them.

The area passeig de Garcia is bit quieter than other area's in Barcelona which i liked there's a feel of sophistication

the room needs major renovation, the bed mattress was very old and uncomfortable, the bathroom door was broken, the whole design of the room is old! and needs to be revamped!

it didn't feel like a hotel but more like a barely serviced apartment room, the staff are sometimes friendly and sometimes are just not feeling it. the television is very tiny and useless.
i wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: "The executive room is just fine, don't go for the upgrade nothing special"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ree-alhajri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for underlining the fact that The Sixtytwo has a great location. We take all your words into consideration and inform you we really try to keep our rooms updated. Be informed for example in these next 6 months new TVs will be available in our rooms with a new channel offer.
Wish you the best in your future travels.
Best regards,
Àlex Tetard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. The hotel is in a great location, close to the action, but not too close. Nearby shopping is excellent, with some super stylish brands, plus a few decent wine bars and tapas places. Easy enough to get to all the other parts of the city from here and an excellent place to come back to after a day's exploring.
Very clean, light and contemporary rooms, friendly staff and an overall great experience. I would stay here again for sure,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Hayley,

Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your Sixtytwo Experience with other Tripadvisor users !

We are so happy to read you really appreciated our home and location.

It will be great to welcome you back in 2014 with our new complimentary services :)

You will be able to find free drinks (Nespresso coffee, teas and flavoured waters) from 11 am until 1 am at the lounge.

We will also be pleased to invite you every day to the cava apertif with homemade chips. At 6pm at The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge.

We wish you a Happy New Year 2014 ¡!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Àlex Tetard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husbad booked this locely hotel and from the begining was a total sorpise. They had everything we asked for in the room (for exmple a perfectly cold espumante, candles, glasses, chocolates, etc). The location is unique, 2 blocks away from the train and metro station. The bedroon is a little small but it has a very nice terrace! One of the best things was the breakfast in a delicious room, perfectly desinged, very abundant and tasty. They also gave us a discount in the breakfast with the tripadvisor cupon. Can´t wait to be back

Room Tip: print the coupon for breakfast and ask for the rooms in the back with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Palicin,

Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your Sixtytwo Experience with other Tripadvisor users.

We are so happy to read everything went just as you expected :)

We inform all our guests the SEXYTOO WELCOME you got on arrival can be booked through our website before your arrival or during your stay at the front desk. It is composed by a bottle of cava, chocolates, candles and a "sexy pack".

Wish you the best in your future journeys,

Best regards from Barcelona,

Àlex Tetard
Hotel Sixtytwo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
323 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#16 of 516 in Barcelona
1,141 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#21 of 516 in Barcelona
447 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
958 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixtytwo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtytwo Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $114 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixtytwo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona is the perfect hotel for those who enjoy the finer things in life and who appreciate privacy and personalised service. Located on the emblematic Paseo de Gracia surrounded by Barcelona’s best shopping, it is right in the heart of the latest fashion trends and Gaudi’s most representative buildings. The Sixtytwo is an authentic boutique hotel where design and modernism harmonise perfectly.Located between Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, The Sixtytwo has preserved its 1897 modernist façade and interiors and coupled them with designer furnishings. Tasteful touches courtesy of Moooi, Vitra, B&B and Philippe Starck give life to the hotel lobby and lounge, while the comfort of its 45 rooms is in part thanks to televisions by Bang&Olufsen, telephones by Jacob Jensen, taps by Tangent, Etro bathroom products, iPod stations, intelligent lighting systems and Nespresso coffee machines. At The Sixtytwo, all guests enjoy complimentary internet access. Our breakfast offer, including both a buffet prepared with fresh quality products as well as dishes à la carte cooked to order, will not leave you indifferent.The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge is open from 5pm until midnight. With a peaceful and cosmopolitan ambience, it is a meeting point for those in search of an extended wine list and a varied gin and tonic selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sixtytwo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing