We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveler rating
1,022
448
58
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,022
448
58
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gothic quarter great location rooftop pool stayed at the catalonia cathedral square pedestrian street central location short walk barri gotic rooms are modern tapas would definitely stay here again excellent hotel picasso museum la rambla would highly recommend this hotel sight seeing
Filter
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July. Upon arrival you walk into a small modern boutique hotel. The hotel has a clean and fresh smell. We arrived early and they stored our things while we went and explored the city. When we returned the room was ready. The room was smallish but well designed so we had space for whatever we needed. The shower was a little bit hard to figure out, but eventually we did. It didn't have a door which I didn't really get, but it didn''t really bother me. The towels were very nice and thick and the sheets and comforters were good quality.
They have a place for drinks on the main floor but it was not very crowded. The pool upstairs was busier. After walking around all day in the heat it was very nice to take a quick dip in the pool before dinner. At the time we were there around 5-7 at night it was not busy, but there were a steady stream of people coming for a quick dip. There were plenty of towels and chairs available. It was interesting to see the other rooftops in the area, but I wouldn't say there was much of a view at the top, except of the other rooftops. Their were pigeons drinking from the pool, at all times, but I am not sure that there is much that can be done about that. When we were there they did not have drink or snack service but that would have been nice.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel was that it was in a very nice neighbourhood with a lot going on. It seemed like the best part of town to stay in as it was unique, authentic with a fun vibe. In general, I loved Barcelona and this was in keeping with the feel of the city. People are friendly, fun and dress amazing throughout Barcelona.
The only thing that they didn't have which I guess is a North American thing, but would be welcome in hot weather, is the availabilty of cold water with ice. I did ask and it was not very easy to get.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetripplanner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

the hotel location is the main +, next to la catedral' in the heart of Bari cothic' 2 min. walk from la rambals/
very clean hotel, great service and very nice staff/
the breakfast is very good, variety of cheeses, cakes, beverages' very recommended/
nice swimming pool on the roof/

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DrBishara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and couldn't fault it. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The roof top pool was a welcome relief in the hot July climate. And the location was right in the middle of the gothic section, close to bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. All within walking distance. I would recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank Perthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for our first three nights in Barcelona. It was a great place to get acquainted with the city- right next to the Cathedral and an easy walk to lots of places. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with tips, directions and honest recommendations for restaurants. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool was a surprising and delightful bonus- in the evenings there is a masseuse and you can have snacks and drinks delivered poolside. Great stay.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank emryerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice hotel - a cool place to stay rather than warm and comforting. Not planning to be a home from home! The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms excellently equipped (no bidet?) with the shower superbly appointed. The pool on the roof is super with nice beds and seats. Nice device as well. Watch out for the heat of the decking! Bad for youngsters particularly.

Didn't do breakfast here - just too expensive.
The other thing was that they ran out of 2 separate bottles of local digestive-with a bit of a shrug -slightly amazing for this quality of hotel. WiFi also didn't work for much of our stay.

Good place for the height of the summer though and aircon worked very well and quietly.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
R.Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews