We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel in an excellent location! Plus awesome hotel staff!”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #38 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed at this well appointed hotel in the beginning of August. The location is fantastic; within walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. What was most memorable for me was the staff - i have never experienced such warmth and superb service from the hotel staff especially the front desk and F&B staff! They were always happy to provide directions and earnest recommendations for restaurants. Its so refreshing to see that they were always smiling and happy to serve - keep up the good work guys!

I fell in love with Barcelona but my stay at this hotel definitely helped made it top the charts!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July. Upon arrival you walk into a small modern boutique hotel. The hotel has a clean and fresh smell. We arrived early and they stored our things while we went and explored the city. When we returned the room was ready. The room was smallish but well designed so we had space for whatever we needed. The shower was a little bit hard to figure out, but eventually we did. It didn't have a door which I didn't really get, but it didn''t really bother me. The towels were very nice and thick and the sheets and comforters were good quality.
They have a place for drinks on the main floor but it was not very crowded. The pool upstairs was busier. After walking around all day in the heat it was very nice to take a quick dip in the pool before dinner. At the time we were there around 5-7 at night it was not busy, but there were a steady stream of people coming for a quick dip. There were plenty of towels and chairs available. It was interesting to see the other rooftops in the area, but I wouldn't say there was much of a view at the top, except of the other rooftops. Their were pigeons drinking from the pool, at all times, but I am not sure that there is much that can be done about that. When we were there they did not have drink or snack service but that would have been nice.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel was that it was in a very nice neighbourhood with a lot going on. It seemed like the best part of town to stay in as it was unique, authentic with a fun vibe. In general, I loved Barcelona and this was in keeping with the feel of the city. People are friendly, fun and dress amazing throughout Barcelona.
The only thing that they didn't have which I guess is a North American thing, but would be welcome in hot weather, is the availabilty of cold water with ice. I did ask and it was not very easy to get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetripplanner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

the hotel location is the main +, next to la catedral' in the heart of Bari cothic' 2 min. walk from la rambals/
very clean hotel, great service and very nice staff/
the breakfast is very good, variety of cheeses, cakes, beverages' very recommended/
nice swimming pool on the roof/

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DrBishara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and couldn't fault it. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The roof top pool was a welcome relief in the hot July climate. And the location was right in the middle of the gothic section, close to bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. All within walking distance. I would recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Perthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for our first three nights in Barcelona. It was a great place to get acquainted with the city- right next to the Cathedral and an easy walk to lots of places. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with tips, directions and honest recommendations for restaurants. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool was a surprising and delightful bonus- in the evenings there is a masseuse and you can have snacks and drinks delivered poolside. Great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank emryerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice hotel - a cool place to stay rather than warm and comforting. Not planning to be a home from home! The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms excellently equipped (no bidet?) with the shower superbly appointed. The pool on the roof is super with nice beds and seats. Nice device as well. Watch out for the heat of the decking! Bad for youngsters particularly.

Didn't do breakfast here - just too expensive.
The other thing was that they ran out of 2 separate bottles of local digestive-with a bit of a shrug -slightly amazing for this quality of hotel. WiFi also didn't work for much of our stay.

Good place for the height of the summer though and aircon worked very well and quietly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
R.Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is one of the best hotels at which we have ever stayed- anywhere. First, the location is ideal... around the corner from the Cathedral, and right in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Every sight worth seeing in Barcelona is within walking distance, except for Parc Guell, to which you can easily take the bus. It is literally less than a five minute walk to a major bus terminal, so it's very easy (and cheap) to take a thirty minute bus to and from the airport (don't bother with a taxi from the airport- the bus is very easy, much faster and way less expensive). Secondly, the service at this hotel was second to none. From the moment we walked in and met Alex and Carlos, they did their very best to make us feel welcome and happy. We arrived very early in the morning, and they told us that they would get us into our room as quickly as possible- which they did. Our room was very clean, and larger than expected for a European hotel. The wifi was strong and reliable all the time. The room was cleaned quickly and beautifully every morning. After a long day of sightseeing, the rooftop pool was such a nice place to recharge in the late afternoon. A little rest, a little sun, and a nice cold glass of their yummy Sangria, and we were refreshed, relaxed and ready for an evening out! EVERY staff member at this hotel was courteous, friendly, professional, and genuinely wanted to help in every way they could. Most spoke English extremely well, and if they didn't, they tried so hard! I absolutely cannot say enough about the staff in this hotel- spectacular! The manager should thank them all personally, and give them each a big raise! They deserve it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,109 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
553 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 516 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#72 of 516 in Barcelona
2,070 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $120 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing