We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveler rating
1,001
441
55
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,001
441
55
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quartergreat locationrooftop poolstayed at the cataloniacathedral squarepedestrian streetcentral locationprivate terracebarri goticrooms are moderntapaspicasso museumlovely hotelwould definitely stay here againwould highly recommend this hotella ramblalovely room
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is one of the best hotels at which we have ever stayed- anywhere. First, the location is ideal... around the corner from the Cathedral, and right in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Every sight worth seeing in Barcelona is within walking distance, except for Parc Guell, to which you can easily take the bus. It is literally less than a five minute walk to a major bus terminal, so it's very easy (and cheap) to take a thirty minute bus to and from the airport (don't bother with a taxi from the airport- the bus is very easy, much faster and way less expensive). Secondly, the service at this hotel was second to none. From the moment we walked in and met Alex and Carlos, they did their very best to make us feel welcome and happy. We arrived very early in the morning, and they told us that they would get us into our room as quickly as possible- which they did. Our room was very clean, and larger than expected for a European hotel. The wifi was strong and reliable all the time. The room was cleaned quickly and beautifully every morning. After a long day of sightseeing, the rooftop pool was such a nice place to recharge in the late afternoon. A little rest, a little sun, and a nice cold glass of their yummy Sangria, and we were refreshed, relaxed and ready for an evening out! EVERY staff member at this hotel was courteous, friendly, professional, and genuinely wanted to help in every way they could. Most spoke English extremely well, and if they didn't, they tried so hard! I absolutely cannot say enough about the staff in this hotel- spectacular! The manager should thank them all personally, and give them each a big raise! They deserve it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I picked this hotel in Barcelona for its location, and we were not disappointed on that front - set next to the Cathedral, the hotel is in one of the nicest plaza's in Barcelona and a quick walk from all of the best sites. The rooms were nothing to write home about, however - they were very small (basically fit nothing more than the bed) and the air conditioner was sub-par (we had to sleep half the time with nothing on the bed to keep from over-heating). There is a small pool on the roof, but the water is quite cold and it was filled the entire time with noisy kids - not the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. In short - we loved the location, but the rooms were lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NebWehttam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

A surprise trip for my mothers 70th
Couldn't fault this hotel the breakfast / location / service
The only negative was tried to re book in June and no one responded to emails so ended up staying at the equally fantastic art gallery hotel
Catalonia catedral has the best location ever
This is my 5th time to Barcelona and each time has been wonderful

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location . Great customer service and nice modern rooms in an old building . Reception staff excellent and bar lady . Really enjoyed our stay and would stay again . Not easy to get to by taxi and it's in a shopping street .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expat-kiwis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing. You are a short walk most sights in Barcelona. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful, full of great information and recommendations. The "contemporary" rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious (for European hotels). My family of 6 fit comfortably in two rooms. We used our balcony to sit outside in the late afternoon/early evening. The breakfast buffet was good, something for everyone in my family. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Cinammongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews