We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #31 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Harrold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we chose this hotel for its location, which was perfect for us, in a very pretty and atmospheric district of the city. The reception staff were welcoming on arrival and were outstandingly helpful throughout our stay, giving us useful advice about restaurants, and things to do and see. We loved our room which was on the top floor of the hotel and had a private terrace, so we could sit out and sunbathe and enjoy the street sounds below (buskers etc) without being on view ourselves. The room was decorated in a minimalist/monochrome scheme, very comfortable, bed too big! (could not reach side table...) Bathroom amazing, good attention to detail, even a heated mirror which didn't steam up, and everything looked very clean. We'd paid for breakfast and this was excellent, buffet style with plenty of choice and good quality ingredients , breakfast was served until 11am so time for a lie-in/lazy start to the day, if you wanted this. We didn't use any of the other facilities, checked out the pool but it was freezing (it was march)

Room Tip: we had room 410 - would ask for this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonwillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    400
    51
    11
    8
See reviews for
282
676
45
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Catalonia Catedral hotel is located right around the corner from the gorgeous Barcelona Cathedral. The location is ideal for exploring the gothic architecture and the excellent shops and cafes nearby. I had a superior room which had black-out curtains on all the windows in case you needed an afternoon nap, a well-stocked mini-bar, and a large, sparkling bathroom. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. There are only a few English-language channels, mostly news shows. I didn't have breakfast in the hotel - there is a Starbucks right near the cathedral and many other options. It was hard to find the bartender one early-evening, and once she brought our drinks, we never saw her again. The restaurant serves tapas in the evening, but I didn't have a chance to try them. The wireless internet is free and works well in the lobby as well as the guest rooms. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: There are quieter rooms away from the main thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Negatives - 1. If you are facing the main street, the windows are not soundproofed, no matter what they tell you. 2. Every time I turned on the heat, it sounded like a propeller. It was actually quite loud. 3. No carpeting in the hallways, so if other guests are loud or coming in late, you hear it.
Positives - Great staff and great location.
I don't know if they have rooms that don't face the street, but I might return in warmer weather if they do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Positives :Reception staff exceptionally helpful, beds very comfortable,rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast good, excellent location.Manager apologised immediately when we completed our form suggesting improvements .
Negatives: Over priced. Misunderstanding as to whether breakfast was included.This was expensive.First morning no one greeted us or showed us breakfast arrangements in restaurant. Coffee machine not straightforward. Holes in bedroom curtains, tray chipped.Bedroom refreshments provided no milk for drinks, just two tea bags and three de caffeinated coffee sachets. Water for baths and showers lukewarm on two mornings. Glass door on bathroom means light shines into bedroom. Door scraped along floor noisily. Room not cleaned until 2pm despite us leaving it on three occasions.Lounge area small and chilly.Drawers didn't open fully as door to wardrobe didn't open wide enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

excellant hotel.worthy of high rating on trip advisor, would definately return.only gripe is that we had to contact reception to obtain a key to open our room window.this is inconvenient and also a potential safety issue in event of fire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

key points
-stones throw from the cathedral, Ramblas, port, and place de catalunya
-clean, modern rooms, clean bathrooms
-service was always friendly

-being in the center isn't always quiet- but overall great place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWayne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,930 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#63 of 513 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
2,046 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
622 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Property: Catalonia Catedral
Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing