We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Martinni in Spain!”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #37 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved this Hotel, travel there with a group, everyone there was soooo nice, the room was amazing, the restaurant was great, we felt tired one night and trued the restaurand, food was deliciouse, Marian at the bar/restaurant was the best Martini maker we had, and we have been traveling for two weeks in Spain, if you tell her she will make it! So sweet!
The staff was great, we loved Ruben and Andrea the afternoon staff! Always smiling and welcoming us!
We willgo back, in a heart beat, I am from this City and the location was perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ended up at this hotel basically on accident. I had booked our hotel stay at a different hotel (K & K Picasso) through Hotels.com. On our arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked, but they were going to put us up in one of their sister locations, Catalonia Catedral. Initially, my husband and I were furious, but it ended up being a FAR better location than the K & K.

The rooms were very nice and modern with a flat screen TV and an updated bathroom. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. But what I loved the most was the location!!! You walked outside the front door of the hotel and there was plenty of shopping and you were only a block or two away from La Rambla.

If I were to be in Barcelona again, I would definitely book at this hotel mostly for it's great location. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel had the best front desk staff I experienced in the month in Europe. Super friendly,helpful and accommodating.
First, the hotel is located in the wonderful Barri Gotic quarter of Barcelona. Within walking distance of all sites. It's important in Barcelona to find a hotel with a good location because the city is spread out and their metro is not helpful for tourists. So you take more taxis, which can add up.
Even though the name says "catedral" and sounds old, this is a modern hotel. The appointments are upscale and the rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. There is even a rooftop pool (small) and lounging area. A great place for a nightcap.
The staff speaks English impeccably and is extremely helpful. When we arrived, we didn't care for our room and were moved with graciousness to another room, even though the hotel was very busy. The front desk young man said "please ask if there's anything I can do for you" and he meant it.
Barcelona is such a wonderful city. You won't be disappointed with this hotel unless you're looking for something quaint.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Experience_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a lot of research we decided to book this hotel for a city break with friends and we are really glad we did. A traditional looking hotel with a very modern heart in the centre of the Gothic quarter. The hotel was smart, clean and very friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with t.v., wardrobe with safe, large comfortable bed, black out curtains which were great for a good nights sleep, fantastic bathroom with large, hot shower. Very minor problems with no drawer space and coffee not replenished in room but the friendly staff were quick to re-supply when reqested. Great choice`at breakfast. Bar provided generous sized refreshment. Hotel close to La Seu Cathedral, Dali exhibition, La Rambla etc. Would definatley stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front were disturbed by noise from street cleaners, people returning home etc whilst the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I loved this hotel. The location can't be beat. The decorations and cleanliness was great. The front desk guy, forgot his name now, was awesome. He helped us out with the best restaurants and places to go. Everyone was friendly. I will come here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely staff and the best position ever! We had a superioor twin/double which had its own balcony looking down on a beautiful square. I've stayed in inner city hotels before including Barcelona and the size of this room was superior to others.The Gaudi museum along with others were on our doorstep and fab shopping too! Hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#57 of 517 in Barcelona
2,132 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 517 in Barcelona
1,260 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#14 of 517 in Barcelona
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#73 of 517 in Barcelona
2,084 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#38 of 517 in Barcelona
1,936 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 517 in Barcelona
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $130 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing