We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,521)
Filter reviews
1,521 results
Traveler rating
1,002
441
55
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
441
55
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quartergreat locationrooftop poolstayed at the cataloniacathedral squarepedestrian streetcentral locationprivate terracebarri goticrooms are moderntapaspicasso museumlovely hotelwould definitely stay here againwould highly recommend this hotella ramblalovely room
Filter
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,521 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As everyone else has said the location is perfect. Right in the hart of the the action. Close to shopping, restaurants, bars, sights, the airport bus, the metro, the rambla (but not right on it so not quite as noisy) - perfect. The hotel itself is also excellent with small but stylish reception area, a nice restaurant, bar and lounge area on the next level with an outdoor terrace, plenty of seating and a restaurant with views over the plaza in front of the hotel. The glass lifts are also a nice touch with views over the central courtyard and if you take it to the top floor you'll find the excellent roof-top pool deck, a great place to relax after a busy day shopping, sightseeing, eating or whatever you've come to Barcelona for.

The room itself was large and very well appointed. We had a corner room with large windows and views over a little plaza below. The bed was big and comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean and all the usual amenities were there including free wifi.

Service too was excellent, friendly, efficient and happy to accommodate special requests (we were sick at this point in our trip and the hotel organised a doctor to come to our room) including a late check out for 30EUR (a fee which was waived at check out anyway), which was very convenient as we had a 6pm flight out - it meant our afternoon could be spent relaxing on the pool deck before a 12 hour flight rather than killing time in an airport or in the streets of Barcelona.

We also ate in the restaurant here and it was very good. Kind of spanish accented french cuisine, with some interesting options as well as some old favourites. And, of course, great service. We didn't have the breakfast as there are any number of cafes and bakeries within a 5min walk.

Overall - excellent. A great choice for a stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a splendid hotel. In an excellent location in the old town by (you guessed) the cathedral, this must be one of the best places to base yourself for a touring break.

It's probably easier to list the shortcomings, because everything else was excellent. So: the lifts (elevators) were slow and a bit quirky, and... well that's it. Can't think of anything else to be negative about.

A most enjoyable three day stay.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After much research and indecision, I chose this hotel and couldnt have been more pleased. Super clean, great location, and the staff were top shelf. They were so informative and willing to help and genuinely wanted my stay to be pleasant. They recommended walking routes, buses, and nearby restaurants. All were spot on! Hotel was close to Placa Catalunya, the Gotic Cathedral, and the Picasso Museum. Another review said it was convenient to SagradaFamilia. Not really walkable, really a walk to Placa Catalunya and then a bus. I will stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank kimber0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is terrific. As others have noted, the location is unbeatable; you are steps from dozens of restaurants, bars and tapas places, and only a few steps more from the sights of the Gothic Quarter and the shops and transportation in Placa Catalunya. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant and the rooms (we had a terrace room next to the pool) are roomy and well-equipped. Two minor shortcomings keep the Catedral from perfection: (a) pushing two twin beds together to form a king only works if the beds' legs are secured to prevent shifting -- these weren't; and (b) the HVAC unit emits a high pitched whine when it operates, which meant that we had to keep it off when we slept. Luckily, the weather was temperate, so it was not uncomfortable, but this could be serious at other times. (It may have been a problem with our room's unit that could have been fixed had we apprised the staff, but it was easier to live with it, since we spent very little time in the room.)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for a few nights mid week to check out Barcelona and get a bit of sun; great location, did the whole of barcelona on foot and the roof top terrace pool was ideal for catching a few hours siesta in the afternoon. The pool is small, as you would expect on the roof and not heated, so while the temp was 25`C and not a cloud in the sky, the pool was too cold for an October dip. Rooms are smallish and most look into an internal courtyard, but the customer service was very good. We didnt have breakfast, as at 19€ pp, there are numerous cafes on the cathedral courtyard next to th ehotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews