We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$264
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$222
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$166
$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Mercer Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$525
$361
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $406/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$248
$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$559
$503
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
234
369
181
46
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
369
181
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quartervia laietanagreat locationroad noiseel borntop floorlas ramblasborn areatwin roomcity breakstreet sidelight sleeperwould stay againbusy streetcomfortable roomsbars and restaurantshop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 867 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017

After a small problem with our first room, we were moved to a much better room and the staff could not of been more apologetic and helpful throughout our stay. The staff are lovely and are always there to help, the rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, bed are so comfy! We had breakfast every morning which again was great, lots of choice. Me and me Mum have nothing to fault on this hotel, we would defiantly stay here again and my Mum has already started saying about going back. We used the roof top terrace, sun loungers and mini pool a lot on our stay too. Short distance to the beach and many shops to be explored around the area. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilynoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We originally booked at the Medinaceli Hotel but on arrival was moved to 4* sister Hotel Colonial, due to not having a twin room that night and no air conditioning.

Hotel Colonial is situated in the Gothic quartre and is an impressive looking Hotel. My sister and I asked to view a room at the back of the Hotel and view a room facing the front. We chose room 508 facing the front with great views of the Gothic area. Windows were sound proof so street noise was not heard and rooms were good so we did not hear other travellers. We were offered free breakfast for four days and a free safe because of the change of Hotel.

LOCATION:
Great location, Hotel Colonial is near everything and situated in the Gothic Centre. Las Ramblas is a 7 minute walk and a 10 minute walk to Beach Barcelonata and the Port where there are many restaurants. There are two 24 hour shops adjacent to Hotel so you can fill up your mini fridge in the room.

TIP: We used Barcelona City Tour Hop on Hop of bus to look around Barcelona and see all the attractions. The cost was 29 euros per day and 39 euros for two days this is unlimited travel till 8pm. They have open top buses that are frequent every 5 minutes and they are audio tours in all languages.

ROOM 508:
A lovely room with a view, our room was clean and big enough with twin beds facing the front of the Hotel. There are free toiletries that are in the bathroom drawer along side a hair dryer, the toiletries were regularly replenished each day and consist of small soap, shower cap and shampoo satchets. The soap was very thin and snaps easily. A small mini fridge is in the room and one free bottle of water is provided on arrival only. There was no kettle, tea or coffee facilities but on the lower floors there are vending machines. Plenty of clean towels are provided and the room maid cleaned our room everyday. There were 10 hangers in wardrobe but not many drawers. The television only has 3 channels in English and they are all news channels. Our beds were firm and very comfortable, it was very hot weather when we stayed and air conditioning was quiet and could have been colder but was ok. There is a Safe in the room and a key is provided at reception with a small charge. There are two lifts that worked well and we didn't have to wait long despite being in busy season.

Bar: There is a bar at the end of the reception hall. Not many people visited the bar maybe it was because of the hot weather and everyone was out. I asked for ice at the bar and the staff were friendly and supplied ice free of charge.

Breakfast: Situated in the basement floor -1. Breakfast starts from 0700 to 1030am. I suggest you dont bother with breakfast it costs 12 Euros per person and caters more of a Continental buffet style breakfast. Scramble egg, bacon and small sausages were available but unfortunately all the food was cold even at 7.30am! Pastries were also tough so I suggest you go elsewhere as it will be cheaper and food would be better. The only nice touch about breakfast was the Champagne which was included in the price. Coffee, tea and orange juices etc are all selected from a vending machine. Make sure you take your breakfast ticket down with you every day or you will be turned away by the breakfast lady. The breakfast ticket is given to you when you check in.

Reception: This was a pleasant experience, we had a quick check-in and check out and we could not fault the friendliest and helpful Reception staff. The Bell boy was very helpful. When we were leaving for the airport in the morning our Taxi was booked and our bags were put in the car for us after breakfast, no hassle thank you.

Another tip: Reception also sell tickets for tourist attractions which we took advantage off and walked pass the long entrance queues!

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this hotel and we would vist again thank you Colonial you didn't disappoint us.








Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank SangaSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for four nights during our summer vacation to Barcelona. I would say location wise, the hotel is perfect in terms of nearby to the old city and the famous La Rambla street. However, the hotel offers basic facilities and I don't consider it as a real four star Hotel because of the these reasons. First, there is no mini bar in the room - even not the kettle with green tea bags. Second, the amenities provider in the washroom are quite basic.

Nevertheless, the hotel is in perfect location and if you are getting the price deal bit lower than other four start hotels (with better facilities) , then it is not very bad option.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Adnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Great location. Close to metro, hop on hop off bus stops, If you love the Gothic quarter then this motel I would highly recommend. The room was small but perfect for 1 to 2 persons. Curtains were drawn so very dark when entering but you can open up and also open window/door. There was no view as I was at the back of the motel, but that didn't matter as only there to sleep. Also at least it was looking into another motel or shop front.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank prjascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This is a centrally located hotel in Barcelona, right on the square at the Barcelona cathedral. Very convenient to Picasso museum, shopping and restaurants. Buffet style breakfast is good but over priced-- stop in at a nearby cafe instead!. Great beds and shower.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tdej475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews