We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Ranked #248 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Good: great location, lovely rooms, clean, excellent value and very helpful staff. Not so good: no tea/coffee facilities in room, not a huge choice or variety for breakfast, but some nice cafés located within 100 metres. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    320
    158
    36
    32
See reviews for
146
370
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a great location, right next to a spectacular Cathedral! Walking distance to Metro, restaurants and promenade. Dont expect a 5 star service, but stuff is quite friendly.
Unfortunately they don't speak English much :( Not much help from the concierge about local events or directions. Plan your own trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Turok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a short city break. The rooms are very clean and a good size with good heating/ac system. bring your own shampoo, shower gel as only tiny sachets provided. Good bathroom and shower.
You must pay 2 euro per day to use the safe in the room. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast buffet was acceptable with friendly staff. Spanish meats and a lovely Spanish omelette, very fresh bread. No fresh orange juice or anything but it was not untouchable like some reviews I have read.
The hotel is in walking distance to most attractions and has a metro very close by.
Look into taking the Aerobus which took 25-30 mins to town at 5.90 euros each, or taxi at 28 euro, although either were quick and efficient.
Overall it was good value for money and worth taking a look at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed December 2013. Short city break for my partner and I. Short taxi ride from airport to hotel which was a bonus. And short walking distance to most attractions. Check in wasn't great as only one person on reception with a long que waiting. When checking in we was given no direction or information not even a direction on where the room was allocated as this was our first visit. Room was nice but small. Very clean but unfortunately no tea or coffee facilities, also room was very dark due to having no natural daylight... On booking had requested a road side view but never got instead we had view facing a wall. Breakfast was nice and breakfast staff were friendly. Overall average hotel and in my opinion not a four star.

Room Tip: Ask for a road view as you end up facing a wall which mean limited daylight making room very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Yet again in Spain pay a four star hotel price and get a two star hotel , when will this ever come to an end. We spent one night in what was supposed to be a four star hotel but in our opinion we have been in better two start hotels with a better breakfast and larger rooms.

Room Tip: Look for another room in another hotel for sure it will be cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel for business and found it just acceptable At reception the hotel had lost my booking and the very limited English of the staff made sorting out the problem difficult.

My room was nicely designed and comfortable but quite small. The bathroom was also nicely designed but the toiletries available were very limited.

Hotel facilities were also quite limited and the staff not always attentive. In the bar, for example, the waiter was more interested in watching a quiz programme on television than serving guests. Breakfast was only just adequate too.

Perfectly adequate for an overnight stay but not a 'must stay' place when I next visit Barcelona.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NickLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved this hotel , our room was at the front , we had superb views .The staff are very helpful . We loved the decor of the hotel and our spottless large room , best of all is the location , so easy to step out and walk to all the interesting sites , the local restaurants were great with good prices .The hotel is good value , would stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#327 of 513 in Barcelona
59 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#271 of 513 in Barcelona
462 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#308 of 513 in Barcelona
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#232 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#472 of 513 in Barcelona
454 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#110 of 513 in Barcelona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Barcelona

Property: Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana, 3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#205 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonial Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelona Colonial Hotel in the Centre of the city of Barcelona, is the ideal place to navigate the city. It is an impressive stone colonial building located in the Gothic quarter. It is very close to the most important places of interest of the city, such as the Cathedral of Barcelona and the beach of Barceloneta, and very well connected by public transport. The Hotel Colonial Barcelona, next to the Town Hall and the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, is very well connected to the main attractions of Barcelona, by bus and subway. The nearest beaches, such as la Barceloneta, are very close to the hotel, just a 10-minute walk away, as the Cathedral. It is also within walking distance of Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo Maritimo. In a historic building of Barcelona and very near the most important monuments of Barcelona, the Barcelona Colonial Hotel has 81 rooms soundproofed, bright and comfortable wooden floors. Pets are allowed All rooms have air conditioning, heating, TV flat and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. We offer you different types of rooms, all of them equipped with all the comforts and complete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonial Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing