We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #75 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Praktik Rambla, located a stone's throw from Plaza de Catalunya (which is to say, 2 blocks north) on the much more quiet Rambla de Catalunya, is fantastic (and you're a 5 min walk from the airport bus). The entrance to the hotel and the design in and around it is great and modern but with a rustic feel. The staff (and I think we met about 3 different front-desk-clerks) was all amazingly friendly, always cheerful and happy to help and were fun to joke with (I prefer fun staff instead of purely professional staff, these were both). And should they be busy with another guest, sit like a king in the "Princess chairs" in the lobby while you wait.

I read all the other reviews (for this and the top #30 hotels in Barcelona) before deciding on this one, and as I've now been there, I can say they are nearly all spot on. Those who got unlucky with some aspect of the hotel staff or cleaning, probably got just that, unlucky, happens at any hotel. I saw some less-than-accommodating guests who gave the staff a hard time over literally nothing (directions to a Museum for example), and they treated that person like a king regardless. That's good service - and it always came with a smile.

The room was surprisingly small (not much space beyond the bed) but tastefully decorated with bold but neutral colors and (very) high ceilings (they should almost make some pully-system for hoisting up your suitcase into the air). The bathroom was in contrast very big, and decorated with funky green tile and the shower-head is the biggest I have ever seen, you'll love it! The only drawback to the room was that it felt slightly cramped at times and there was no good place to put your suitcase, and clothing storage was also scarce. That said, after the initial "surprise", we made it work just fine and thought no more of it. There's also an in-room safe that's quite large (although beyond a 15" laptop you won't fit it). The room got cleaned to perfection every day, and the "Spa products" (shampoo etc) are truly top notch, I think every guest "steals" a few of those.

If you plan on spending lots of time in your room, this is not your hotel, and probably not your city either for that matter, for any other type of trip, this is a brilliant hotel.

The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are great (this goes a long way in my book), and in our case the room (number 311) was quiet and we slept with the windows open (there is an A/C as well if needed, in April the nights are still slightly chilly).

The back patio of the hotel (first floor) is wonderful, with loads of comfortable lounge chairs and sofas and is very secluded. There's no pool, but if you're in Barcelona for that kind of activity, just go to the beach instead. Instead, buy some Cava (Spanish Champagne) and some Chorizo (spicy sausage) and take a siesta on the deck, that's what we did. The restaurant next door serves as the "hotel restaurant", but in Barcelona you really don't need a restaurant in the hotel, there's food to be had literally everywhere. That said, the restaurant next door serves excellent food, their egg-based breakfast tapas are amazing, try one.

All in all, we loved the hotel, the staff (A+), the location, and we were happy to come back to it after trekking, eating and shopping all over Barcelona. Will definitely come back to this hotel if I have the option & the money to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Praktik Rambla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights in May, the hotel and rooms are in an old building that has been beautifully modernised while maintaining a classic feel. The staff at the desk were very helpful in pointing us where to go in the city and the breakfast next door was small but satisfactory. The room and bathroom were very nice and there was a good wifi connection. You can park round the corner for 20 EUR a night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This small hotel is great. It is in an excellent position. There are plenty of bars, restaurants around. Our room was lovely, very modern and the shower was lovely. Breakfast was not available but it did not matter as there were plenty of places to eat near to the hotel. There is a lovely area to sit out on at the rear of the hotel.

The staff were really helpful, especially as we were there during the volcanic ash incident.

If you want a small, clean, modern hotel that is very central, do not hesitate in stopping here. We would definitely recommend to other people and would stay there again.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsonwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and the hotel was incredibly cool and funky - lovely architecture and trendy interiors. Great location - close enough to walk to the buzz of the bars etc - but just far enough out to be quiet.
We choose a standard double and had asked for a quiet room but did end up with a very small room - especially compared to friends who had a twin room which was 4 times the size. We did ask to be moved but were told the hotel was full - so definitely ensure you get a decent size room. Staff were very friendly and helpful - be very careful with your personal belongings - definitely use the safes in the room as we did have our phone and wallet stolen either in the city or possibly from the hotel - you can never be really sure!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhunter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We have stayed at Praktik Rambla for 5 nights as pre-cruise. Lovely! We enjoyed the room, very clean,comfortable and of good dimension. Their location is perfect, close to everything. This boutique hotel is an hidden gem! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We were in Barcelona for 6 days. The hotel was lovely, excellent situated in the centre of the city and the staff at the reception desk was very helpfull and they spoke very good english as well. The rooms, two double rooms, were clean and comfortable thow not very spacius. There was also free wifi and a corner with a laptop on the first floor that anyone could use. Our reservation didn't include any breakfast so we can't review on it. There is no bar in the hotel ( as far as we know as there was no brochure about the amenities of the hotel which is rather odd) and even the lobby is very small, just two armchairs to sit and wait for your turn, but that didn't bother us. All in all it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympiatzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Praktik Rambla is a very beautiful hotel in the right part of the city - not directly on The Rambla (I don't know if I'd want to stay on the Rambla, too noisy!), but easy walking distance (5 min or less) and close to the subway. If you book enough in advance, you can get some really great deals on the price (I used easytobook.com). The rooms are big, modern, and built to stay cool (which I imagine is great in the summer but we went in December!). The hotel is related to the restaurant next door where you can go get breakfast - I do NOT recommend doing this, you can just go to the Starbucks down the street for less. The staff was very friendly and accommodating with us, and can give great recommendations.
Two tiny complaints: the bathrooms can be a little strange - there isn't really a door, so if you're sharing a room, I hope you are very close! I also never got the wireless internet to work on my iphone...Everything about this hotel is absolutely beautiful though.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theduckiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
1,496 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
1,838 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
1,171 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#131 of 513 in Barcelona
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing