We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #75 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2010

if you're looking for a cheep hotel, comfortable, well decorated, clean, near the city center, friendly receptionists who speak the most common languages.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
Thank patrickmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Praktik Rambla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2010

After reading the many stellar reviews here, my husband booked us for four nights at the Praktik earlier this week, requesting a balcony room as mentioned on the hotel's website. No communication was received about the request but when we arrived we were given a small, dark room on the fourth floor with one window looking out onto some back walls of other buildings.

The room itself was nice enough, the bed was large, and the bathroom was terrific - large and well-appointed with a great shower. Unfortunately the room had nowhere to sit other than the bed itself which is not terribly comfortable for a multi-day stay. The communal lounge area on the first floor is comfortable though, with a large area inside and an even bigger terrace.

When we asked about the room we were given there was a half-hearted response about the fact that the hotel was full and there wasn't anything else available. The second day we were there we again asked if there were any brighter rooms available and were told that you have to request balcony rooms when you make the reservation and pay extra and that the hotel was full. In fact, we would have been happy to pay extra for a better-located room, but that had never been communicated to us in any way.

Other than not being terribly helpful about the rooms, the staff seemed ok, friendly enough as we came and left each day.

Free wi-fi is a plus in any hotel and the signal here was strong but the internet never worked properly for us. Some sites were never accessible and it was impossible to post blog entries or upload photos or check in for our flights. The PC in the lounge area seemed to connect to sites better than our laptops so maybe the wireless network has some different configurations. After the lukewarm response to our room enquiries, we never did talk with the staff about the wireless problems.

The elevator broke on our second day at the hotel. With a room on the 4th floor (with very high ceilings) this was a tiresome inconvenience. The elevator was fixed promptly the next day though.

The location is very nice, just a block and a half from Placa Catalunya, very convenient to public transportation, restaurants, shopping and sights.

I would really like to say we had a fantastic stay at the hotel but with the internet, elevator and room hassles I would have to say it was just ok. I would recommend it but with reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixelsnFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I really liked this hotel. Our room was adequate, nicely designed. The shower was really modern and great. I loved the location....walking distance to everything, but on the less crazy/crowded side of las ramblas. It was perfect. The only drawback was that the walls are thin and I could hear neighbors talking and alarm clocks and cleaning staff made lots of noise in the morning in the hallways. All the sounds echo so everything seemed loud and it was hard to sleep in the morning. But if you're an early riser, it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leecylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed here for five days during our honeymoon, the hotel staff was excellent, they really went above and beyond for us. They are always ready with a good suggestion, be it directions, places to eat, or things to do.
If you are looking for a practical place, with no gimmicks, no frills, just a clean room with lots of charm, this is the place. The hotel has few amenities, but the staff is always there ready to help in any way. Also, the location can't be beat as you are right on Las Ramblas, but further up on the street from all the revelry so you are not bothered by the noise. We will be returning to Praktik Ramblas!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in March and could not find fault. Our flight arrived in very early so our room was not ready on our arrival to the hotel but this was to be expected. We did get into our room at check-in time and also got the bonus of an unrequested free upgrade to an absolutely huge superior room, despite booking the cheaper option.Bed was so comfortable and big, there was a separate alcove containing a flat screen and a leather couch and the bathroom had a great rainforest shower and nice toiletries supplied. Staff were friendly in a laid-back way and were glad to recommend pubs, restaurants and anything else we requested.We loved the Ciudad Condal eatery across the road at the corner for breakfast, tapas, snacks and drinks, as do the locals it seems.Other nice food places nearby were Taller de Tapas and Cerveceria Catalana. Don't miss the Boqueria Market for food, atmosphere and colour but go morning to early afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This property is in a wonderful and very convenient location to all, mass transit, trains and busses and the sites. All within walking distance. The staff are very pleasant and check in was prompt. Even though the room was not ready we were made comfortable on the mezzanine with free internet and within 20 minutes in the room. Staff was able to make great recommendation for site seeing, food and methods of transportation. Remember you are in a big city with the associated noises such as street traffic, occasional sirens and sometimes loud drunks. The room was nice, never turned on the television but used the free wi-fi. A mini fridge would have been nice. There are two restaurants on either side of this hotel are very good One serves Tapas and the other, “La Botiga” with a very nice menu and a quieter atmosphere…all prices very reasonable for the area and very good service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mapwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

beautiful, comfortable, central location yet quiet, amazing staff. so fun to go back to at the end of the day. thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oorit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
1,495 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
1,837 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
1,171 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing