We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #70 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific terrace”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just returned from a great 3 night stay in Barca. 3 couples with a standard double room each.
We all liked but had some reservations about the hotel. More positives than negatives.
Positives: the outside terrace is a great place to meet, relax & enjoy a drink (bring your own or buy from bar next door)
Location is fantastic two blocks from placa catalunya
Attractive design and boutique character in keeping with Barca.
Good value for money for a city centre hotel
Friendly, efficient & very helpful reception staff.
Negatives:
Though trendy, our rooms were small, with limited natural light, no outlook and occasionally one room had a foisty smell. Not suitable if you want to spend time in the room.
Struggled to get the AC to work properly.
No fridge - forgot that bottled water could be bought at reception until you wake thirsty.

These negatives only had a minor impact on our stay in May but will become more pronounced as the weather gets hotter.

Overall we had a great trip & enjoyed the hotel, particularly the terrace and location. convenient for cheap Aerobus from airport. Didn't take breakfast vouchers for next door's restaurant, but called for one snack which was poor, as was service, But loads of choice for breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alandpamatbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave your review about Praktik Rambla. We are glad to know that you liked the Hotel and enjoyed your stay despite your negative points.
The A/C works fine but we understand that it might be a bit difficult to set it properly. Anyway the front desk staff is always willing to assist guests for anything they need.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    694
    136
    32
    16
See reviews for
411
936
127
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It was truly a wonderful experience to stay at this hotel. We couldn't believe how beautiful it was when we arrived. Everything was perfect. We had a family room with three beds. Very spacious and impecibly clean. The shower was magnificent! I must also say the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The location couldn't have been better. Barely a 10-minute walk to the Placa Catalunya where you can get the Airport bus which leaves every 10 minutes. I honestly could not find one fault with this hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor on the front with two small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for such a wonderful review.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay that much!

We are looking forward to seeing you again and soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Praktik Rambla in late April 2012. I chose this hotel based on internet pictures, reviews, and their interesting concept. The hotel bills itself as a “new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price”. Sounded like a good fit to me. We typically spend most of our time out of the hotel so we have no need for room service, laundry, restaurant, spa etc. I just wanted a small stylish hotel in a good location. Unfortunately some aspects of the hotel did not quite live up to my expectations. The room was small (but typical of an urban European hotel) and very stylish with minimalist furnishings. Much of the buildings beautiful original flooring and ornate plaster crown moldings had been carefully preserved. I really loved the design. (Warning: Praktik website pictures are REALLY good. Take a look at the non-professional pictures on Trip Advisor for a more realistic view of the property). The bathroom had no window and an undersized exhaust fan so it had a pervasive mildew smell. There was no refrigerator in the room and the hotel did not provide any bottled water. I was concerned about noise when we checked in because our 2nd floor room faced the street. But it was actually quiet due to a system of sliding glass doors and shutters that created a 3 layer sound block. We even slept through the early morning commotion on St. Jordi Day. The sheets were scratchy (poor quality) and there was no mattress pad on the bed; simply a sheet right on top the mattress. Not very comfy. We had to ask to have our sheets changed. When I mentioned it to the person at the front desk he said “Oh, I thought you requested that we not change your sheets”. I would have remembered if I had requested that, wouldn’t I? The location was good but not great. It was just a little too far to easily stroll to the Gothic area. We did walk it daily but it was a bit too far for my comfort. Service was friendly and helpful.. They were happy to recommend breakfast spots (not particularly great but close and serviceable) and assist in printing tickets to La Pedrera when we had problems with the Caixa Catalunya machine.

I left feeling that this place just needed some attention to detail. The building is great, the concept is great. Execution just misses a little. In my opinion it was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaineandbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

What a quality place. Beautiful building and furnished with a touch of class. Perfect location - 10min walk from main city, staff couldn't do enough for us, nothing too big or small- from giving us extra plug adaptors to recommending proper local hotspots for food, sangria and Flamenco (make sure you see it!!) upgraded us when there was a 20 minute delay on getting into our room, bedrooms were immaculate and the bathroom is different league. Perfect for a romantic break

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshtharris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Rambla and our free upgrade to a superior room!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The first night we were there our power kept shorting out. After being expected to just put up with not having a bathroom light and having an electrician come into our hotel room at 7 am the next morning, we managed to convey our dissatisfaction at such an arrangement and were given a new room for the night. No apologies at all. Apart from that it was simpatico.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry about the problem with the electricity that you experienced. It was already late at night and unfortunately it was something that the front desk couldn’t fix right away. We were glad to offer you another room for that night. We truly apologize for this inconvenience and the trouble you might had.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Property: Hotel Praktik Rambla
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing