We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel, check in early” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praktik Rambla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #69 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, check in early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in September 2011, Thursday to Sunday morning, had reserved a standard room. Got there at around 5 pm only to be told that the only room left was on the first floor, right off the shared lounge, with a window that faced the back patio. For privacy sake, the window had a wooden 'fence' in front of it so patio guests could not look into the room. So the large window was actually just a view of a big, black wooden fence - hence, no sunlight. We asked to change rooms but the hotel was full. The room was gorgeous, but no window view and we did get woken up by people in the shared area, so we asked to change rooms for the next 2 nights and the only way possible was to pay extra, which we did. We got a lovely room on the 3rd floor facing Rambla Catalunya. That room was actually smaller, but still gorgeous details, and the balcony on the street was really nice. Just room to stand on the balcony, but still - great to people watch and get fresh air, and was still very quiet. Gorgeous hotel and great location. I would stay again, but check in early (like 2 pm) and be prepared to pay extra to get a window with a view.

Room Tip: Check in early, ask for room on upper floor (or risk window with a fence view), be ready to pay extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaZ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Good afternoon

Thanks for taking time to write a review about the hotel. In the hotel we have standard rooms with view over the inside building or superior rooms facing the Rambla de Catalunya or the "eixample courtyard". Always those rooms cost more than the standard ones. We always try to provide them for free to all our guests but sometimes, with the hotel full, it is almost imposible to change rooms or to give upgrades for free, as we must give always preference to the people paying for them.

I am glad your experience was positive and we will be very glad to welcome you again with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    656
    126
    29
    16
See reviews for
379
881
120
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is right on Las Ramblas. It's a gorgeous older building that has updated rooms to very chic and efficient. The single room is very small, but organized well to maximize space (if you only have one bag). It's clean and the staff is very helpful and welcoming.
There is free internet in your rooms but unfortunately the signal was not strong enough to use on their beautiful deck, which was a great respite for the city at the end of the day.
The single bed was super comfortable too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest
Thanks for the review, The Praktik concept is always big beds and very comfortable and very clean rooms. Sorry for the internet if it caused any inconvenience, those problems are always fixed as soon as we know them. Our single rooms are very small but very convenient for one person travelling alone.the size depends on the structure of the building, which is part of the modernism of Barcelona, so we cannot change walls or similars.
We look forward to have you back in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We recently had a couple of nights at this hotel and needless to say after the title of this review, we were not impressed.

Firstly, the website flashed up
Showing off stylish rooms and beautiful green tiles at an affordable price! We were amazed. Then the booking process commenced and we found the rooms that apparently started at the low prices touted were not available. We soldiered on anyway thinking it looked good enough to stay there for the same price as The Claris we'd considered anyway for a bit of luxury. Done, booked.

On our arrival we were happy to find the location to be very central and the lobby and hallways to be exquisite, it was looking so promising. Then we saw our room, the room we'd paid €218 for, turned out to be INCREDIBLY pokey. Rooms starting at €50? Cleaning cupboards?

The next problem was that the bathroom STANK of mold. We called reception to alert them to this and see if we could change room but were pretty much told that it didn't smell!! It really did, why would we lie!? The small window in the room did little to ventilate and the massive monolithic console in the middle of the room dominated the entire space needlessly and was impossible to find anything in due to the 'subtle' lighting.

There was no water provided in the room despite a letter from the management saying that there would be and to be honest, the staff were rather surly.

Anyway, maybe we caught them on an off few days but the room was overpriced and unacceptable.

If it had been at a lower price, fine, you get what you pay for. But what we paid for what we received? There are a ton of better places to spend ones money on in Barcelona. I'd suggest going to those places before being tricked by the flashy website.

STYLE OVER SUBSTANCE IN FULL EFFECT.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oblongbiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest

We are really sorry because your experience in our hotel didn’t satisfy what you were expecting.
We would like to explain you that during your stay with us there was a big congress in the city and that is the reason why the rates were high. Normally our rates start from 80€ + tax (according to our website) and they change depending on the availability and the congresses in the city. The rate you mention ( starting from 50€ ) is the one from our low cost hotel located a few blocks from us.

About the smell you were saying was coming from the bathroom was humidity from the proper shower and that our cleaning ladies clean everyday with hot water the whole bathroom, and maybe they didn’t ventilate enough the place, I apologise for that, but you can be sure was not mold.

The water you mention was served in the front desk at the time of check-in, we do it that way so you can have it cold straight from the fridge, and of course you could have asked for it anytime during your stay and we would be very glad to provide it immediately.
I hope you give us in the future another chance to demonstrate we work hard in our services and please let us know when you want to come and we will inform you about if any congress or similar is taking place in the city.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Terrific location, but some staff are less attentive than others. I was locked out of my room twice and had to wait 20 minutes for the maintenance guy to open the door for me. No offer was made to change my room, I did not ask because I had just arrived and wasn't planning to go out again at9 pm. Design hotel means bare floors and you hear every step from upstairs and hall. There is a large patch of mold on the bathroom ceiling that indicates no maintenance is being done. A/C vent filled with dust. At 200 euros a room they need to raise standards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've been to Barcelona several times with friends, and I've stayed in hotels that have not convinced me. This time I decided to look for a better one not so expensive but in a good location. I found it thanks to my TripAdvisor's member update with the "Top 10 Boutique Hotels under $200". As my parents were travelling with me I was a little worried that the hotel would be too hip for their taste. But they loved it, the hotel is very chic, in an old historic building, with the best attractions around the corner and also great restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a common area perfect to chill out and rest after been all day walking around Barcelona. We stayed in two very big rooms, very clean and with charming balconies overlooking the Rambla Catalunya. Overall for the price and location it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngPIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you and your parents really enjoyed your stay at Praktik Rambla and that you are content to choose this hotel for your visit to Barcelona.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again and in the meantime we send you greetings from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here in September 2010. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the main tourist street of La Rambla. It was a great location within walking distance of all of the cities main sites and with public transportation close by as well. The rooms were perfect mix of modern but blending into the old world charm of the hotel. Our room had a large bathroom with floor to ceiling windows. The hotel was clean and the staff were quite friendly and able to give us must see recommendations as a trip to Barcelona was only 2 short days. I will gladly stay here again on my next trip to the city.

Room Tip: higher floors have the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your nice review and we are glad that you had a nice experience at Praktik Rambla and that you found our location convenient to explore the city, especially for short stays.
We hope then to see you soon!

Regards from Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was a very pleasant place to stay. Helpful staff (all spoke English and Spanish just fine- probably lots of other languages too, but I didn't try). The fact that you're in an old historic building is evident from the public spaces, which I thought were very tastefully maintained. The room seemed fairly new and was quite stylish.

I was by myself, so I stayed in a single room, which was comfortable, but very very small. And the windows faced directly out to the next building, so there was no view whatsoever. Probably not the case in all the rooms. Even though there are tons of people out on the street at night quite late, I didn't hear them at all from my room. The price of the room seemed very reasonable compared to other options in this neighborhood.

My guess is that every drawback I experienced had to do with the fact that I selected to stay in a small single room, and that these are not drawbacks of the hotel in general. I'd stay here again, but spring for a nicer room.

Room Tip: The single is very small, so beware if you're selecting this type of room. My guess is that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
We truly thank you for leaving a comment about your stay at Praktik Rambla. As you say, our single rooms are pretty small and they are all interior so they have no view. Only superior rooms face the street or our intern courtyard. Whenever it’s possible, we prefer to assign double standard rooms to people who reserved a single room for several nights because we understand that could be kind of uncomfortable. Anyway, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the drawbacks you experienced.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#76 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Property: Hotel Praktik Rambla
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing