We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, particularly if you don't need a full-service hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #70 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, particularly if you don't need a full-service hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location, just blocks from the Barri Gotíc, with easy access to Metro and RENFE train stops. The private terrace is a great, usually quiet place to enjoy your goodies from La Boquería. Our balcony room was nice, but the balcony wasn't large enough to sit out on (though we could see chairs on the larger balconies for other rooms). Triple shutters helped to keep most of the street noise out.

On the downside, the Wi-Fi was very flaky, especially in the room, less so on the terrace. The bathroom had a bit of a mildewy odor and the staff, though polite and professional, wasn't as warm and helpful as you might hope. Also, as others have observed, there are no in-room fridges or mini-bars.

Overall, a nice place to stay, but if you're looking for more personal service or more amenities, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    693
    136
    32
    16
See reviews for
411
934
127
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this centrally located, very modern hotel on the Ramblas as our first stop on our honeymoon. We were able to walk to most everything we wanted to see in Barcelona. Our balcony overlooked the street, which was particularly handy when we wanted to check out the goings on with the austerity protests going on while we were there. The service was friendly and helpful, especially when (because of the protests) our flight to San Sebastian was cancelled/postponed and we had to stay at Hotel Praktik an additional night. I would definitely stay here again. There was internet, which was a bit slow and limited, but better than nothing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to know that you had a great time in Barcelona and that you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Rambla.
We apologize for the WiFi problems we had last September.

Best regards from Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with the location. It was right on the Rambla and close to all attractions. Seeing the pictures on the sites made the hotel look very attractive and special and if truth be known it was very different from a usual hotel. Saying this, I think the rooms were extremely small and had no real cupboard apart from the end of the bed where you could sort of have your clothes stacked. I thought this was not a quirky idea and was not at all convenient. There was some juice served on the patio for a couple of hours a day but if you missed that then there was nothing at all! I would have thought it fitting to have both coffee and tea plus some cold water served constantly for the price we paid! Another thing that was not up to par was having one computer for public use. Quite often having to wait for an hour just to use it. When at last the computer was free one had to sit on the most uncomfortable poof type chair which sank down as you sat providing no support whatsoever. Agsin the hotel was special in appearance but certainly no big shakes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The location is great, right near plaza Cataluyna and Passeig de Gracia. It's not in the old city but very close by. I love the location, the hotel has a TON of personality, but is very modern. The mix of old and new is very cool. However, the rooms were a bit small. Other than that, I thought it was a great hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for leaving your opinion about Praktik Rambla.
We are really glad that you like the Hotel features even if you found our double standard room small. We also have bigger rooms like our Superior Rooms. Unfortunately we had to maintain the old building features and that’s why not all the rooms are large as the superior rooms.
We hope to welcome you again, maybe in a Superior room next time!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed in a single room for one night and I found the room to be small yet stylish. The twin bed took up most of the space but the modern and clever design elements complemented the room very well. Also, the high ceilings definitely helped to make the room feel less compact than its true size. The air conditioner did a good job cooling the room but it took some time for it to feel cold. The bathroom had a wonderful rainfall shower head and the hotel provided shampoo/soap by H20 by the sink. There were no closets so there's very limited space to hang any items although there were two wall hooks. They did have some under-the-bed storage but that was also limited. The only downside of my room was that the windows faced out into some type of outdoor hallway so they were kept shuttered. It was pitch black when the lights were off (almost like sleeping in a closet) but I discovered that it helped to crack open the shutter to allow some moonlight to come into the room.
The hotel is very conveniently located near the Plaza Catalunya metro station (about 2 blocks) but it was definitely away from the noise and bustle of Las Ramblas. The common areas were beautiful - I found the terrace to be very inviting and spacious. It would be a wonderful place to relax with a cocktail after a day of sightseeing.
The free wifi was spotty but there was a computer in the common area which was available for guests to check email and to surf the internet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to other visitors but I would suggest staying in one of the larger rooms. The single room is fine for a quick one night stay for one person but any longer and you may feel a little bit claustrophobic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joonebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in September and we booked the hotel because of the good comments on Tripadvisor.
The location of the hotel is great: Many Restaurants and Bars are in walking distance. Also the Shopping district including the La Catedral is only a 10 minutes walk away.
The only two minus points were that they charge you a late check out fee (50% of your room rate). This would cover the time from 12pm - 3pm. I understand that this is not a 400 bed room hotel, however I would expect a little more flexibility here. The other minus point was the inconsistency of the WIFI and Internet connection. During our stay at least 1,5 days the connection did not work and there was no sense of urgency to fix it. During our stay we were not the only guests complaining about it.
Overall I would stay again but it would be nice to see both things taken care off.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janssem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Note: Stayed here in July 2010.

Loved our room here! It was gorgeous: spacious, the decor and styling was fantastic, clean, had ample storage and floor length windows so you could invite the beautiful Barcelona sun into your room. Very centrally located to everything. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhThereSheGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you really much for taking time to write such a nice comment about Praktik Rambla.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#79 of 513 in Barcelona
1,661 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#115 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Property: Hotel Praktik Rambla
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing