We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
471
162
22
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
162
22
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarcelona sants stationone bedroom suiteown mealsfull kitchengreat apartmentnear the train stationgreat place to stayminute walkvisiting barcelonasofa bedmetro lineraquelcityaccommodationsdishwasherlaundryreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 668 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We picked The Urban Suites based on reading previous reviews from Tripadvisor; all the positive reviews are accurate and paint a great picture of the hotel and area. We took the Aerobus to the Placa Espanya (20 minutes) and walked 10 minutes to the hotel; very easy to do and find. It is located in a perfect location; close to the metro, train stations, grocery stores (Mercadona market is 2 minutes walk away), shopping, restaurants, bakeries and many attractions. The area is in a local Barcelona neighborhood with a real local feel. We felt safe walking home at night. It is also a very quiet area so if you stay in the rooms facing the street it most likely will be quiet. We stayed in room 211 and it was exactly as it appeared on their website; clean, very spacious, plenty of kitchen utensils, storage space, towels and linens. The room had a pleasant view of the back yard and the backyards of several other buildings. Some rooms have balconies, ours did not. The hotel is extremely quiet. The ladies who run this hotel made our stay in Barcelona. They helped with all our “tourist” questions and made us feel very, very welcome.

If you are staying in the room as two couples, or as a family of three or four (one for the bed and one for the sofa bed), it might be a bit awkward. There definitely is plenty of room for four adults, but the entrance to the bathroom is located in the bedroom, so you have to cut through the bedroom to get to it; a bit awkward I would imagine. Also bring Kleenex and paper towels as they are the only thing in short supply.

Also, if you are a traveler who does not have a cell phone you will have to ask the ladies in the office to activate your hotel phone for 5 Euros as it is not turned on until you ask. We never used our phone, but it was there in case there was an emergency at night (health concern, no taxi for airport etc) and we had to phone their emergency number. Don’t assume the phone is on as we did.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want a huge hotel room, the ability to cook your own meals, and be in a place that is easily and quickly accessible to all of Barcelona and surrounding cities. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Steve1330,

Thanks a lot for the very very nice review!!

It was a pleasure to host such a nice couple as you are. And of course we´ll be more than pleased to do it in the future!

Just one note, there are apartments similar to the 211, but with two entrances to the bathroom: one from the suite, another from the living room. Not all the suite are exactly the same, although they are very similar, most of the suites up to 4 people has the 2 entrances to the toilet not to disturb to the guest sleeping at the bedroom :)

Thanks again, we send you a big hug!!!

Raquel, Isa and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Would recommend this apartment style hotel during a visit to Barcelona. It is close to a number of metro stops and Sants station if you are taking a train. Also, there are a number of supermarkets, fruit vendors and on our last day we found a great Market with everything by Hostafrancs metro stop (the red line). I did find the staff to be very nice. They helped us book tickets one night at the last minute to go to a Flamenco at the Palau Musica Catalana. It was worth going just to be in that building which is a UNESCO world heritage site.
Do not hesitate to order pizza from the little shop across the street - very good. Also, the coffee shop 2 doors down has a great cafe con leche with a pastry for 1.50 to 2 Euros - good value. Our favourite restaurant was Cerveceria Catalana. We also had dinner at the restaurant at MNAC oleum. It is lovely and within walking distance of the Urban Suites.
Something silly, but do not ask them to mail your postcards. I spent time and effort writing these and they mailed them 2 weeks after we left - our friends still have not received them!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear AnnaDM,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was a pleasure to host you with your familiy at The Urban Suites and we´ll be pleased to host you again in the future.

Big hug,

Isa, Raquel and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our stay was delightful - the room was super clean and nicely stocked with kitchen appliances and crockery to make our lazy morning breakfasts very easy. The hotel is also conveniently located near a grocery store and several metros, so getting into city centre was really easy. The best part of Urban Suites was the staff, who were very warm and knowledgable about what to see and do in Barcelona. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monique1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear Monique1974,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such a nice review :)

We hope to see you again soon!!

Best regards,

Isa, Raquel and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel during Mobile World Congress. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. They have all the aminities one could wish for. Isa the owner likes to go the extra mile for her guests. We are very satisfied!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primavera100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear Primavera100,

Thanks a lot for the review :)

We expect to see you next year!!!

Big hug,

Isa, Raquel and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at The Urban Suites in Barcelona. We were working at the Mobile Congress. The suites are a short walk to the Fira, the are immaculate, there's free WiFi and best of all is Isa and her sister and Raquel who run the suites. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they will literally help you in any way they can. The Urban Suites rock! An oh by the way I've booked for the gang for same time next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcymarc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear marcymarc15,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about us :)

We hope to see you next year!!

Best regards,
isa, Raquel and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews