We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Urban Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Urban Suites
Ranked #42 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent, highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is one of the best places I've stayed in Europe so far. Staff are very nice and helpful, rooms are large and very comfortable, and it is very convenient to get anywhere in the city (3 different metro stations and lines within 5 min walk). Quiet neighborhood with a large grocery store nearby. Parking is extra but worth it. Includes a self serve laundry facility as well.

If you want to stay in the heart of the city, this isn't that place but if you are ok being a few metro stops away, this is perfect. Just a 10 minute walk to the Pl. Espanya and bottom of the Mont Juic hill. Excellent value for $.

Only 2 areas for improvement - 1) Wi-Fi in room had a very weak signal and sometimes dropped out (need another router or maybe cords in room for direct hook up?). 2) Halls are tiled and this makes noise carry. Guests should be made aware of this when they arrive and to be courteous of others - several times late at night other guests doors slamming and I could hear children yelling. Not a huge problem if people are made aware.

When we come back to Barcelona, we won't even look for another place to stay, this is it for us. Bravo to the staff - thank you and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Trav11er,

It´s great to read that you think we are one of the best places where you have been hosted!

We have taken note about your advices. We always ask for our guests to behave correctly and not to disturbe to the other guest and most of them are very polite, but sometimes... They don´t behave as good as we would love... Anyway, as I told you before, it´s strange to find unpolite people here!

Thanks very much for the nice review!!

Hope to see you again :)

Best regards,

Isa, Raquel and Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    144
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
275
174
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have just came back from Barcelona and had a great time with my family in The Urban Suites. The apartment we stayed had 2 bedroons and a full kitchen. The pictures on the website were very accurate, the furniture are brand new. The apartment is located right next to a metro station, a supermarket and Plaza de España. The staff is very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grabalieiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear grabalieiro,

Thanks a lot for your nice review :)

It has been a plesure to have you here with your family and we hope to see you soon here!

Best regards,

Isabel, Cristina and Raquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a lengthy stay at the Urban Suites, 9 days. The room was very large, easily accommodating my husband and I and our two teenage daughters. The location for the hotel is very convenient. It is extremely close to transportation and an easy walk to olympic village, which is great for jogging, besides there being many sites to see.
I had never stayed at an apart-hotel like this before, but I found that there was excellent, personal service, the staff at the hotel was always available, had great advice and were in general friendly and accommodating, much more than I have ever experienced at a regular hotel.
With the rooms typically being very small in Europe I don't think you can do better than this for a family.

Room Tip: Identify the number and age of kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbzeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Guest Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear sbzeff,

Thanks a lot for the good review. It was delightful to have you here and help you when you needed. You are a great and healthy family.

It was very nice to see in the morning when you came back from running around Montjuic :)

We definetly hope to see you again over here!

Best regards,

Isa, Raquel and Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

6 long-time friends from college spent at urban suites last weekend in BCN. The apartment has many advantages: It´s only twenty minutes from the airport by bus, and 10 minutes from the city centre by underground. The apartment is big enough with 2 dorms and a double-bed sofa in the living room,and best of all, it has a backyard were you can have dinner, breakfast or have a great siesta to recover from last night party. Tv sets and hi-fi in the apartment, so bring your music with you ( USB compatible).

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment number 100 for the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pablopelayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear pablopelayo,

Thanks a lot for the nice review ^.^

It was a pleasure to have six Cantabrians as nice as you.

As we talked, we hope to see you over here again, but this time with your family. Looking forward to knowing your baby!

Best regards,

Raquel, isabel and Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at The Urban Suites for 4 nights with our three daughters and really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was clean and was spacious (2 bedroom unit) with a full kitchen. The pictures on the website were very accurate. Right next to a metro stop and very easy to walk to Sants train station. Great bakery steps away for coffee, restaurants close by in a nice, quiet neighborhood. The folks in the office were all very helpful and it was a very nice stay, I would recommend, especially for families that want more space than a hotel and allows the option of eating some meals in your room. Great setup, thanks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chfijlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear chfijlr,

First of all, thanks a lot for the nice review!

We hope to see you with your family again over here!

Best regards,

Raquel, Isabel and Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our 3 day stay in barcelona was very enjoyable and made especially memorable due to our apartment. Centrally located, great under ground parking (lift takes you directly to the basement), clean, comfortable, excellent facilities (lcd tv in bedroom as well as living room). Wifi strenght in the living room is a bit spotty, sometimes drops. Very close to 2 metro stations. Overall brilliant stay. Love the place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digi051669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel_Direccion, Public Relations Manager at The Urban Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear digi051669,

First of all, thanks a lot for the nice review.

We really hope to see you again over here!!

Best regards,

Raquel, Isabel and Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Although the Urban Suites are not normally staffed at weekends, Isabel was extremely proactive in emailing us in advance to ensure we were met by one of her colleagues for a Sunday check-in – an excellent first impression.

TIP 1 - Unless you have a prior commitment I would suggest avoiding arrival on Sunday as the main supermarkets are closed, it’s always helpful to be able to get the food and provisions out of the way first!

I would describe the decor as IKEA’esque. We opted for a one bedroom apartment, all rooms were well sized, huge beds, a TV in both the bedroom and lounge (BBC World and CNN for the latest news – would have loved an English movie channel!), kitchen equipped with microwave, oven, dishwasher, fridge, kettle crockery and cutlery (a communal freezer is also available). Bathroom was excellent having two access doors via bedroom and lounge – shower is highly efficient, hot and really powerful if you need to crank it up.
If travelling on a budget the sofa converts to a double bed, a great option for parents with two smallish children.

Well located just 2 mins from Tarragona Metro and 5 mins from Sants Railway station. An additional bonus is safety, whilst you are very conscious of the potential bag snatching problems in the city centre we felt extremely safe in our ‘local neighbourhood’.

TIP 2 – Buy a T10 metro ticket, metro is the easiest and most practical means of getting around the city. We stayed a week and used 4 x T10 between the two of us.

Top Things to Do
• Sagrada Familia – THE best church we have ever visited – allow 2-3 hours to do it justice (open til 8pm)
• La Pedrera and Casa Batlo – two further examples of Gaudi’s amazing work
• Montserrat – don’t bother with the coach tours, do it yourself and buy a TOT Montserrat Card from Espana train station(around 38 Euros)- covers railway, rack rail, funiculars, museum and audio visual plus free lunch. Allow a full day and wear sensible walking shoes as there are some great mountain walks
• Picasso and Miro Museums – you can easily spend 2 hours or more in each
• Hop On/Hop Off bus – always a great way of familiarising yourself with the city when first arriving

Finally, we would like to express our sincere thanks to Isabel, Cristina and Raquel for putting up with our many questions and requests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestMidsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#155 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
El Raval
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Feelathome Plaza Apartments
#33 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
08028 apartments
08028 apartments
#43 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Cosmo Apartments Sants
#99 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#58 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Suites

Property: The Urban Suites
Address: Sant Nicolau 3 - Rector Triado 50, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Suites is a building of holiday apartments in Barcelona, situated 5 minutes walking from Spain Square and 5 minutes walking from Sants Station. It has four metro station very closed ((Tarragona, Espanya, Sants Estación & Hostafrancs), that´s why is very well conected to La Rambla, Camp Nou and Sacred Family.The Urban Suites is very well communicated to the airport. The airbus stops in Spain Square and the train from the airport in Sants Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Urban Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Hotel Barcelona
The Urban Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing