We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the curtains around the bed”
Review of Hip Karma Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hip Karma Hostel
Ranked #170 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We don't usually stay in dorms, however we found Barcelona very expensive so we booked with Hip Karma. The rooms are cleaned everyday along with the bathrooms. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking equip, new but small. The entire hostel is new, clean and very nice. I especially loved the curtains that went around the bed giving privacy whilst sleeping and the lock up draws underneath the bottom bunk, large enough to store two 75lt backpacks per person.

They don’t allow alcohol inside the hostel, which is slightly annoying but at least there wasn't people getting drunk and being loud at night, which is the reason why they banned it.

The main downside is that there isn't a comfortable space to relax in... And they let people who aren't staying at the hostel inside - The person staying in the bed across from me came home at 4am with a late night caller. I told the guy at the desk and he just smiled. Luckily we were leaving that morning at had to get up early otherwise I would have been suitably unimpressed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus_and_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

The little Hip Karma is just 5 minutes of walking from the centre, situated in a safe and quiet zone in a distinct palace. Inside almost everything is white with some cool oriental paintings on wall. Bedrooms are clean and every bed has its own curtain and reading-light. Reception open 24h.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buono_il_Polpettone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I've been to quite a few hostels and this is one of the nicest ones I've stayed at. Very clean, modern facilities. There is a new kitchen available to everyone, plus several computer stations. The location is great, right off the Plaza de Catalunya. The Airport bus is not far away. I stayed in a multi-bed room which had the same drawbacks as any multi-bed room in any hostel: people. They have no curfew (great!), so people come in and out all night, often loudly. You should be ok with that or you're probably not cut out for hostel travelling. On that note, I would recommend requesting a bed located far away from the door - unless you're one of the loud ones, then please take the one next to it! Really people, have a little compassion for your hostel neighbors - do you need to turn the room light on just to find your bed?

Good location, clean, modern, and did I mention *cheap*. I paid 5 Euros a night for a clean bed in the center of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sanfrancisco-basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed in this hostel for five nights in August 2009. It all looked nice in the pictures and they did have some of the cleaniest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hostel and the location was good, but that's about it.

Upon arrival I was given a bed for those five nights I was going to stay in the hostel and a padlock to a separate drawer underneath the bed. All beds have curtains around them which is nice but it doesn't block the light coming in from the corridor through the windows. The staff members were playing loud music and people were chatting and using computers outside of the dorm door all night so if you are a light sleeper this is definitely not the best place to stay.

I got back to the hostel late evening on the last night of my stay to discover that all my things had been removed from my bed, and the drawer I thought was safe because of the said lock. When I asked the staff what had happened their answer was simply that " we gave you the wrong bed to start with (I had stayed there for four nights already!!!) and had to remove your things to another dorm. We didn't see you anywhere so couldn't inform you about this". I've never met more arrogant hostel manager in my life. It's a small hostel where a staff member opens the door during the night and I was moving in and out all the time so there's no reason why staff could not have seen me and let me remove my things myself.

The point here is that they went through my stuff. And not only did they remove my things from the locked drawer they advertised as being a safe place to store your things, I also discovered that some of my jewelry went missing because of them. That jewelry wasnt worth starting a legal operation but I'm 99 % sure that they took it while removing my things. When confronting the manager he just shrugged his shoulders and didn't seem to care since it was my last night there. No compensation whatsoever.

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anybody. There is no excuse for interfering with people's personal belongings, let alone stealing them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StockholmSaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntorregrosahezkuntza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cami_Tambo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
AC Hotel Diagonal L"Illa
#220 of 517 in Barcelona
188 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
#99 of 739 in Barcelona
124 reviews
El Raval
HolidaysBCN Hostel
HolidaysBCN Hostel
#265 of 739 in Barcelona
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hostal Apolo
Hostal Apolo
#109 of 739 in Barcelona
139 reviews
Gracia
Hostal Lesseps
Hostal Lesseps
#73 of 308 in Barcelona
182 reviews
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#196 of 308 in Barcelona
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Karma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Karma Hostel

Address: Ronda de Sant Pere #39, Principal -2a, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hip Karma Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hip Karma Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Karma Hotel Barcelona
Hip Karma Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing