We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for budget / solo people”
Review of Hip Karma Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hip Karma Hostel
Ranked #166 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good for budget / solo people”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hostel is perfect for people on a budget or by themselves.

Very central, helpful staff, free wifi with computers if you don't have your own, curtains on all the beds for privacy and locks on the drawers for your belongings.

Also has a fully working kitchen if you decide to cook your own food and the bathrooms are very clean and hygienic.

Also has a 24 hour reception.

Very recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    38
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
8
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am a first-time hostel guest in my fifties. The Hip Karma Hotel is an immaculate accommodation on a street that is not overly busy. The staff speaks perfect English. There are numerous Internet terminals, laundry service provided by the staff for a fee, and locked drawers that will hold carry-on sized luggage and other items. A very clean kitchen makes it possible to prepare food for oneself if desired. Each bunk has privacy curtains, a reading light and a comfortable mattress. There are rules and the travelers are respectful. There is an ATM across the street, Metro and good food within 2 blocks, and the Plaza Catalunya is a ten-minute walk away. The significance of the Plaza Catalunya is that tour buses and the Aerobus stop there, making an airport limo unnecessary, and there is also shopping and plenty of places to eat or buy groceries, including fast food. The property is announced by a small sign and is on the second floor, not wheelchair accessible. Be prepared to pay additional fees for linens, etc., and it would be helpful if you request a bottom bunk up front, if needed or preferred. Also note that the showers and toilet are separated from the bedrooms by "public" space so pack a robe or wear appropriate garb when in transit. I truly enjoyed my stay there and would recommend The Hip Karma Hostel for anyone who wanted the kind of experience I did.

Room Tip: There were six bunks in my room. Never having used a bunk bed, I found myself unable to hoist mysel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is the first time I had stayed in a hostel for years, but had read some good reviews and needed something cheap but in a good location in central Barcelona. This place more than filled the gap. Firstly, the hostel is just 5-10 mins walk from Las Ramblas and very near 2 metro stations, the nearest is Urquinaona which is literally just a few minutes walk or a bit further is arc de triomf. The hostel is very clean and really modern, staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a great feeling about it and you never felt unsafe or like you were going to be robbed, although you do get your own draw with padlock to keep valuables secure. I had read one thing about this place before I left that it was mixed wash facilities and dignity was left at the door, this wasn't the case, there are separate facilities for males and females. The beds are comfy and have the security curtain to give you privacy. Overall a fantastic stay and would go again if travelling alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location, fantastic staff & really clean room/bathroom.

I wasn't expecting it to be so modern, was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas-Sliema, null, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

At first, this hostel was somewhat difficult to find. I was standing on the corner of Girona and Ronda San Perre for about 5 minutes before I realized that there was a glass sign (I will use this as my excuse for not being able to find it immediately) on the corner of the street, closer to the Placa Catalunya area.

Also important to note: YOU MUST PAY IN CASH!!

Other than that, I have nothing bad to say about the place, save for the lack of a lounging area. The rooms are clean, the facilities are clean, and there is never the nettling sense that any of my belongings were ever in danger of being pilfered. Locks may be rented for 5 euros; and there are rather voluminous locker/drawers underneath the bunks that are used for storage.

Possibly the best aspect of the accommodations, though, were the fact that the bunks had curtains that granted privacy to whomever was inside. That was really appreciated, especially since it was hot in there.

The location is just north (or whatever "up" was on the local maps) of the Arc de Triumf, about 4 blocks east of Placa Catalunya and the entrance to La Rambla, and is metro-accessible. There is also a 24-hour convenience store just down Ronda San Perre that has anything you may find that you forgot/need, and there are coffee shops and bars dotted throughout the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed at Hip Karma a couple of years ago with a group of friends while we were studying abroad. While it is a little tricky to find, it is a super clean, modern hostel with great staff! The beds are super comfortable and the little curtains on each bed provide privacy. The bathrooms were super clean, the location is great, and it is definitely not a "party environment." It was quiet when we stayed. I have to say, for what we paid, we couldn't beat it! HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

it is difficult to find, it is at corner of two streets, there is just little sign on doorbell.

the advise is "to follow down the street" but you can turn to direction to the sea instead....

there are around many coffee houses and restaurants, including supermarket

after 23:00 no showers, no Internet.

staff speaks goid English

otherwise OK

Room Tip: probably not the one which is at corner - I guess these are lower numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#73 of 722 in Barcelona
118 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#101 of 722 in Barcelona
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#61 of 722 in Barcelona
1,216 reviews
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#139 of 722 in Barcelona
81 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 722 in Barcelona
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Karma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Karma Hostel

Property: Hip Karma Hostel
Address: Ronda de Sant Pere #39, Principal -2a, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hip Karma Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Karma Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Karma Hotel Barcelona
Hip Karma Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing