We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than anticipated!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events

Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.95*
and up
Pyrenees Medieval Village Hike from Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 162 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Spanish Trails was born in 2001 as one of the first small group (max. 8 pers.) day tour companies and incoming travel agencies to experience the best of what Barcelona and all of Catalunya, Spain have to offer. Our year-round, regularly scheduled day tours are all-inclusive fully guided all day experiences, though guests are more than welcome to explore on their own. We cover the corners of Catalunya including the Costa Brava, Pyrenees, Girona, Montserrat and Penedes and Priorat wine regions, as well as half and full day Barcelona city tours and food & wine tours. We also specialize in customized family tours, private touring and small group events. We use comfortable touring vans and our staff are fun, experienced local guides with a deep love and knowledge of the regional history and culture. Average group size in 2011 was 5 clients/tour and we have now proudly served over 13,000 clients over the last 12 years. See you soon! The Spanish Trails team.
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Believe me, we had high expectations after reading all the reviews. We did two tours with Spanish Trails and both were amazing. The first one was the Tapas and wine tour with Danny. If you can only do one tour in Barcelona this would be the one to do. We not only learned a lot about Spanish wines we learned a lot about Barcelona and its different neighborhoods as well. It really helped us navigate the city better on our own. We had an amazing night out. i don't think we got back to our hotel until 1am. Danny also emailed us later with restaurant recommendations which we used. The restaurant was awesome and we would never ave found it on our own.

The ext day we did the Medieval village tour with Saskia(?). Another amazing tour. The town of Rupit is really beautiful. We learned a lot about the history of Catalonia on the drive up which made the ride very entertaining. We had breakfast at a wonderful bakery in Rupit. Great pastries,locally produced cheeses, sausage and hams. Fabulous. The hike was really beautiful and a great way to see some country outside of the city. Lunch was at a great old restaurant in Rupit. Saskia steered us toward traditional Catalan food and it was delicious! The service and the views were amazing. We got back to the city about 6:00. Just enough time to go back to the hotel, change and hit one of the restaurants Danny recommended!

We loved Barcelona and can't wait to go back. When we do I hope we can take every tour Spanish Trails offers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,403
    76
    17
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
“Two great trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spanish Trails was recommended by a friend and we booked the Montserrat and Wine tour with Saskia. It was a great day. Delicious lunch at a Catalan Restaurant and lots of wine at a Bodega in the Penedes Region. I bought some to take home. Saskia is a walking Wikipedia plus she looks like Jodie Foster!! All entrances were included and we could skip some queues.

We immediately booked our second tour which was Tapas and Wine with Danny. The tour includes 5 different Tapas Bars and at each one we tried a variety of Catalan wine. Danny is a wine connoisseur from New York and apart from wine facts he also gave us an introduction to the history of Barcelona. The tour is fun and gets you in the mood for Barcelona nightlife :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tilmanfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The tour with Spanish Trails through wineries and taverns in Barcelona was fantastic. We had a great time and visited many interesting places. The level of knowledge and entertainment the guide provided was the best one I've seen in a guided tour before. More than out on a guided tour it seemed like we were out with a good friend who knew a lot about wine and the area. The next time I go back to Barcelona I will definitely repeat the experience and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ByronStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation for Us and the Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent nearly three weeks in Spain and cannot thank Spanish Trails enough for the amazing job they did in the planning of our trip and the hosting of our family. From the beginning, Tracy and Danny did a very good job of catering to our interests and diverse family needs as we have two young ones of three and four years old. Not only did they guide us in planning our time in Barcelona, but also in Madrid, as Danny lived there before for years!

We spent the first five days in Girona. What an amazing city! It is an old Roman and medieval city that is extremely kid and parent friendly and completely pedestrian. We could easily duck out into the old quarter, walk the Roman wall, eat at great restaurants and even hit the very nearby country-side for nature walks and trail running. We did some private and shared day tours visiting amazing villages on the Costa Brava and the Pyrenees with Charles who has lived and guided in the area for more than ten years. After our return from Madrid, we did three more tours with Spanish Trails including a Montserrat tour with Saskia, a city tour with Andrew and an evening Tasting tour with Danny, all of which we would highly recommend. Thank you to Spanish Trails. We will be sending our friends and family their way!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angiebownagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Amazing tour - learned a lot, drank a lot and ate a lot of authentic spanish food. We ended up having a private tour and the guide was amazing and really showed us what Barcelona is all about!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing