We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barcelona Tapas and Wine Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events

Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.41*
and up
Pyrenees Medieval Village Hike from Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 162 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Spanish Trails was born in 2001 as one of the first small group (max. 8 pers.) day tour companies and incoming travel agencies to experience the best of what Barcelona and all of Catalunya, Spain have to offer. Our year-round, regularly scheduled day tours are all-inclusive fully guided all day experiences, though guests are more than welcome to explore on their own. We cover the corners of Catalunya including the Costa Brava, Pyrenees, Girona, Montserrat and Penedes and Priorat wine regions, as well as half and full day Barcelona city tours and food & wine tours. We also specialize in customized family tours, private touring and small group events. We use comfortable touring vans and our staff are fun, experienced local guides with a deep love and knowledge of the regional history and culture. Average group size in 2011 was 5 clients/tour and we have now proudly served over 13,000 clients over the last 12 years. See you soon! The Spanish Trails team.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barcelona Tapas and Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was the most magnifient way to start Barcelona. My fiance and I were crazy enough, after a full days a travel, to go on this tour and expereince Barelona from a locals point of view right off the bat. It was the best thing we could of ever done because it really gave us a good direction of where we need to go the rest of our stay. Our tour guide was Danny and he was a sponge of knowledge regaurding the history or Barcelona and its food and wines. He really opened our palette to the glories of what Barcelona has to offer, and the group that we were paired with was a blast. Definately a good way to make friends and really expereince Barcelona for everything its got. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    76
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Foody Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Absolutely loved the tapas tour with Danny our host! A MUST DO if you enjoy discovering the best in local food and wine on your travels and well worth the price.The food and wine were excellent and Danny's obvious passion and knowledge of this foody heaven ensured an exceptional evening of tasting and fun.We'll be trying one of Danny's recommendations for dinner tonight!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerrys58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas tour and Girona/Costa Brava = outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

A group of 8 of us opted to sign up for 2 tours with Spanish Trails. The first was a tapas tour through the central part of the city. Not only was the food fantastic, but the detailed history of everything we were passing, between restaurants, was priceless. Charles really knew everything about the city and was able to tell the story behind the numerous squares/cathedrals/markets Barcelona had to offer. Had I not been on the tour, I would have never learned the history behind much of the landmarks we walked by during our trip!

The second tour we took was to Girona/Costa Brava. Our group was lucky enough to get Charles as our guide again. This tour was a fabulous way to spend a day to see the smaller side of Spain (and get out of the "hustle and bustle" of the city). The one thing I really liked about this tour was the flexibility of it. Charles went above and beyond to make sure we got to see everything we wanted. For example, we were passing a small village on our way to Costa Brava and Charles was kind enough to stop so we could see it.

I would recommend both of these tours to anyone, and have no doubt that the rest of the Spanish Trails tours would be outstanding as well!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great job start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We used Spanish Trails for 1) van transportation for four from Barcelona airport to Rupit, 2) private Barcelona city tour with Paloma as our guide and 3) private Montserrat and Wine tour with Charles, all arranged by Tracy via email and phone calls. Everything worked out perfectly: the van driver was waiting for us when we came out of baggage claim and got us to Rupit safe and sound. Paloma was very knowledgeable and instantly flexible with our schedule as we toured the highlights of Barcelona. Charles was amazing: knowledgeable, engaging, funny and even took our lunch orders at a wonderful local restaurant in a small village at the foot of Montserrat! And the bio-organic vineyard tour he arranged was incredible, where the manager spent time showing us the entire operation from the plants to the tasting of some very nice wines (that we ended up purchasing for the remainder of our trip and even took a bottle to a great restaurant in Barcelona that Charles recommended).

The vans used by ST were roomy, clean and comfortable and were perfect for our party of four. We would highly recommend Spanish Trails for anyone planning a trip to Barcelona and touring Catalunya!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day in the Pyrenees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent a day with our guide Charles and a great group of people exploring the Pyrenees and nearby village. Charles was awesome, he explained a lot about the Spanish/Catalan culture which was very interesting. The hike offered beautiful scenery and we ended with a huge traditional Catalan lunch in a fantastic restaurant. I highly recommend if you are looking for something to do outside of the city...it was a nice break from the crowds! Thanks, Charles!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing