We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it...”
Review of Koy Shunka

Koy Shunka
Ranked #108 of 11,877 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Reviewed December 7, 2018

We live in Switzerland, where it is pretty much impossible to get decent Japanese food (or any other Asian food), so when we got o other European cities we often try some Asian restaurants (in addition to the local cuisine of course).
Other than London, this was probably the best Japanese restaurant we've tried.
The sashimi was fresh, the cooked dishes were good and the service was attentive.
The price was a bit on the high side for Barcelona, but we didn't mind because it's so hard to get proper Japanese in Europe.
The decor and ambience were nice too, and they had some clever touches like serving Edamame in a fan-like base with 3 different sauces.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dizzydee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Definitely a must. The culinary experience here is one of the best I've had. The food is incredible, every dish served is tasty as it is pretty.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ZoharSagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here through a friend’s recommendation. Sitting at the counter was great as you could see all the staff bustling around in the open kitchen, which was fascinating.

Due to thyroid issues, I could not take the degustation menu as most of the dishes are made with dashi base which has kelp. I therefore opted to go a la carte while my partner went for the works. Each course was beautifully plated and original in concept. We enjoyed most of the dishes - a highlight from the degustation menu was the Asian eggplant.

Service was exemplary and we were made to feel very comfortable. The chefs modified some dishes so that I could try them as well. Everything was classy and tastefully done.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Val O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Such a great surprise! There are not many authentic Asian restaurants outside Asia however this one is getting close... very fresh ingredients and delicious combinations. Unagi was one of the best I ever tried. Atmosphere as well is very similar with the one you find in Japan. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank marineroanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Top quality fish, great service. One of the best sushi restaurants that I have been to and all at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koy Shunka also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Koy Shunka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing