We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fonda Gaig

Fonda Gaig
Reserve with
Fonda Gaig is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #743 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I celebrated my last birthday with a friend who is Spanish and she's been searching for a nice restaurant in the neighbourhood for this occasion. (29-Jan-2013). After a glass of champagne, I had a small tasting experience of Catalunya - a portion of traditional Catalan dishes such as trinxat divided into two so that I could have a taste. A bottle of wine followed. For the main course I choose scallops and my friend - meat. Both were delicous! The services was very good and to finish, the restaurant management offered us with a small cake after they found out I had a birthday. Overall, it was a very good gastronomic experience and a pleasant stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    123
    48
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quality and quantity...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Depends on what you are looking for? If quality is your game, this is the spot. We had a wonderful meal, great service, and not another tourist in sight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hdss379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Prepared in a Contemporary Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A very updated decor was matched by interesting and tasty Catalan food prepared in a way that can best be described as a modern take on classic dishes. However, keep in mind this is not a place where molecular style cooking has taken over. The menu is interesting rather than surprising and there are plenty of options. We found the pork dishes amazing in flavor though not overwhelming in portion size. A particular highlight of the evening was a visit to our table after dessert by Chef Gaig who was very charming in describing his restaurants as well as his experiences dining in New York City. The service was professional and the wine list presented opportunities to try wines from some of the less known regions of Spain. Prices were fair considering the quality so we left satisfied on all levels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

With a simple and modern decor that manages to remain warm, Fonda Gaig takes Catalan classics and gives them new life and elevates them with top quality ingredients and creative preparation and presentation. Great service and an outstanding wine list adds to the full effect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedralbes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long wait, average menu, good quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The menu is a typical catalan menu, with a more sophisticated preparation. it was not surprising to see all catalan dishes even though I must admit that the taste was right, the helpless owner (a woman trying to fulfill our desires- as the waiter was not very lively). My daughter got a portion "patatas braves", stir fried potatoes with a mayonnaise/chili sauce, very well known in Barcelona. They were ok, but nothing new at all. The fish was disappointing and my aunt thought the pork meat tasted like lamb. Bad sign...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Montse12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Gaig also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Fonda Gaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing