We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming little hotel B&B with great Staff close to everything !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming little hotel B&B with great Staff close to everything !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Hostal Poblenou this week and we had a really lovely stay! Mercedes welcomed us with open arms, giving us gorgious restaurants places to go to and handy advices to visit Barcelona - The Staff was really friendly always asking if we needed anything helping us with the luggages and answering all our needs, really appreciated. There was a little extra for a big breakfast but it is worth it ! Served on the terrace it is a lovely start for the day we had tremendous fresh juices with eggs and bacon just perfect before going to walk through Barcelona. Poblenou is a really nice aera 5 minutes from the beach where you can walk for miles or run to stay fit :-) This area is autentic with a lot of shops (cheaper than down town) and lovely bars and restaurants 5 to 10 minutes walking from el hostal - The bar next door is perfect for a last beer or a coffee !

The metro is 10 minutes walking distance and then 15 minutes to the town center (jaime 1) the transports are fast and clean and if you take a T10 tiquet you can use the bus, the underground and the Tramway at the same time just perfect !

The room was big with a nice tableau on the wall, a cather and some coffee and teas at our disposal, we had a nice view on the terrace and the cleaning lady came everyday.

We also used the parking which is not free but really handy and just next to the Hostal very safe !

We really recommend this place it was really charming and not noisy which is great for this big city and we did appreciate a lot the aerea and Mercedes and her great tips !

Gracias por todo y si pasais por Montpellier teneis mi telefono !

Karine y Dolf

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinedolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    56
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
52
88
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
206 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent four days in this hostel. Barcelona is expensive but nevertheless 85€ is too high for what you get. Rooms should be renovated, also the bathroom is old-fashioned. For 85€ you can expect a breakfast with more choice as well. If you want an egg or a yoghurt you have to pay extra.
But the most unpleasant thing was that we hat to discuss more than one hour with the cashier because the bill was higher than offered in the email. Take the offer with you otherwise you have to pay more money than expected.
I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a place to stay where you automatically feel welcome and comfortable then this is it.
Although they call it a b and b, it's feels more like a personal little boutique hotel although offering just breakfast service, lovely little terrace to sit for breakfast or chilling out. A great place to hide from the hustle and bustle for a little tryst.


A good value place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hostal Poblenou is a really nice accommodation and probably a much better deal than many other hotels in Barcelona. The overwhelmingly good ratings made us book three nights there. We had a great time and I would most likely book the hotel again, there are just a few things one should be aware of prior to booking:

The breakfast that is included in the price is a very basic one (bread, butter, jam, cereals, juice, tea, coffee), so don't expect a fancy buffet or anything. You can order scrambled eggs and other things, but that costs extra.

The street in front of the hostal can be quite busy, especially on weekends. So if it says "little balcony" in the room description on the homepage, it most likely means that the room is facing the street and you have to expect quite an amount of noise at night. Earplugs do the job.

The big plus of the place is the service. The little team of three to four women are exceptionally friendly and caring. There are not very many hotels in the world where you are greeted with a handshake.

The overall atmosphere is very relaxed - more like in a guesthouse than in a hotel -, no one complained when we came too late to the breakfast room in the morning, and little issues (hot water did not work because of a boiler failure the first morning, bed was not stable and was shaking quite a bit - so we were offered another room) are addressed quickly and communicated openly.

Poblenou is a nice area, much quieter than the crazily overcrowded old town area, and the Bus 41 is stopping three minutes away. And the beach is five minutes away...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussieman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

For our trip to Barcelona we were looking at Trip Advisor and when we saw Hostal Poblenou, we immediately knew that it would be our stay in Barcelona. We were impressed by the charming style and all the details.

We stayed 5 days in Barcelona in November 2012. When we arrived at the Hostal Mercedes welcomed us in such a friendly way. She's so sincerely. She showed us our room and afterwards we looked together on the plan of Barcelona and she informed us about all the necessary details we needed to know during our stay.

Our room was very charming and we loved the clear colors. The location of the Hostal was perfect to us. Before starting our sight seeing, we went every morning to the beach which is only 300m from the Hostal. The Hostal is located directly to the Rambla of Poblenou which is also very charming. In the evening when we came back from our sightseeing tour it was great to have the possibility to drink or eat something in one of the bar and restaurants near the Hostal. The metro station is only 7-10 minutes from the Hostal and you need only four metro stations to reach the city centre.

It happended that we were in Barcelona during a national strike. During this time Mercedes gave us her upmost support which we highly appreciated.

All in all it was not the last time that we went to Barcelona and we will definitely stay at Hostal Poblenou again. The charming atmosphere, Mercedes and her team who were so frindly and warm-hearted, the great service, the perfect location. All these facts gave us such a nice feeling during our stay which is not comparable with a stay in a usual hotel. At hostal Poblenou you do not only get a room, you also get a big portion of hospitality and friendship.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
290 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Poblenou's, but within an hour you'll get the feeling of being at home! Mercedes always smiles and ask you if she can help. Ask for a subway line or bus and she'll give you top directions!
Johanna gives that same feeling at breakfast-time: there is a buffet, but every morning she'll ask if you want some juice or coffee and serves it with a smile.
The hostal is clean and look's like an old Spanish house. But inside your room there's a well equipped bathroom, flat screen TV and coffee-maker. And: good beds.
Poblenou may be called an hidden gem in a very interesting part of Barcelona!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose this small and reasonably priced B&B on the strength of good reviews we had read, and were not at all disappointed. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The ensuite was spacious with quality fittings. We particularly enjoyed taking our breakfast on the outside, first-floor terrace, which made for a lovely start to the day. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful: as soon as we mentioned the possibility of an open-top bus tour the waitress found us a leaflet with all the information! Other helpful tips made planning our stay easier to organise. There is a laptop in the reception area for guests use, making it easy to check weather forecasts and to get in touch with family back home. We appreciated the use of a fridge to keep our supermarket wine and water cool in the warm conditions. For us, the location was ideal, being close to the beach and also having easy Metro access to the city centre.

Room Tip: We chose a small room at rear of second floor, thinking it would be quieter at night (the Hostal bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyGrey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Hesperia Del Mar
Hesperia Del Mar
#220 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#306 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Poblenou
Amistat Beach Hostel
Amistat Beach Hostel
#56 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Lugaris Rambla
Lugaris Rambla
#150 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Poblenou
Durlet Rambla Mar Apartments
Durlet Rambla Mar Apartments
#252 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Poblenou
Homearound Exclusive Pool Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast
Address: Taulat, 30, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. To transmit a feeling of harmony, light colours predominate in all our rooms. The rooms are equipped with television, air conditioning and heating. For those travelling with their laptops we provide Wi-Fi area, but if you just want to check your e-mail, we have a shared terminal with internet connection... everything with no extra charge.The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Poblenou Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing