We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Wonderful!”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #112 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I thought the hotel was Wonderful, Marvellous and Fabulous.

After I booked this hotel I went on tripadvisor and as most people would got drawn towards the worst reviews, so I was a little apprehensive. But I can tell you my daughter (20) and I had a wonderful time.

The staff were so kind and very attentive, check in went very smoothly we had one person in front of us and a member of staff (a very attractive man and that really goes for all of staff) came and apologised for any delay (2 minutes to be exact) and took our bags. The receptionist was very friendly found our room, checked we had breakfast included. We then were taken to out room on the 12th floor which had a fabulous view and I thought was comfortable with a stylish design.

This hotel is for people who appreciate interior design and as this is my job suited me right down to the ground. All fixtures and fitting are done with thought and impeccable taste.

We went to the ground floor bar on a few occasions we were served immediately, their cocktails seem expensive at 12 euros each but at most restaurants we went to they were at least 8 Euros but the W cocktails are made from fresh ingredients and served with a lovely big bowl of nuts and they really didn't skimp on the alcohol, they were delicious.

The breakfast was marvellous so if you can get a deal with it included its certainly worth it, it has a great selection of fruits, breads, cereals, cakes, ham, cheese, even meatballs and if that doesn't please you they will make you any type of eggs you want. The staff again a very handsome bunch were never far away with coffee and juice everything seemed to be of the highest quality.

I love travelling and have been to many good hotels and I felt this was one I'd definitely revisit if I had the chance. Maybe its because I go with a good attitude and with a fun sense of humour people alway seem to react in a generous and positive way to me.

Sandee Brown

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srbEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,828
    1,497
    513
    244
    204
See reviews for
841
2,711
242
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel's biggest selling points are its seaside location and the modern design of its rooms. We had an unobstructed view of the sea (as do most rooms, I believe). The arrangement of the furnitures, with the bed in the middle of the room and seats along the window, makes the most of that view. However, 15 minutes' walk to the nearest metro station, it is a little far from the bustle of the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_o_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed here for business trip in December . The rooms are spacious and I had a beautiful view over the bay. The location was great for me as I needed to be near the Port.
It is expensive but no more than other hotels of its class. Service was brilliant and a trip up to the cocktail bar is a must.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This very cool and wonderful hotel is fully described by other trip advisors so i will only comment on the location.

I am a walker. I especially love to walk in interesting locations. It will take you 30min to walk around the marina into the "touristic" area of town. It is a world class walk. There are places to stop for a coffee or refreshment. I was there in the winter, so the fantastic beach location was really not applicable. I would pee in my pants to stay here in beach weather!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avrom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The "W" is a worldwide guarantee for travelers who seek a fashionable, friendly and at the same time elegant "resort" to lodge in major cities. Based on the experience insofar, the W Barcelona is even above this average status, with a truly impeccable customer service and the indisputably unique sensation of feeling at home, while lodging at a hotel. Courtesy, warmth, efficiency, friendliness, availability, flexibility...patience...are just some of the highlights I would attribute to the W Family. Simply W-Onderful, Whenever, Wherever.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My experience at this hotel was fantastic. I loved the rooms and the breakfasts were outstanding. The gym was nice, views amazing, and I just generally thought it was a great place to stay. You do have to walk a bit, but I didn't mind. 20 minutes to the born district and it was great exercise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamkjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Check in was a little slow with only one person manning the desk. However, once we got to check in our Gold membership got us an upgrade.
The room was clean and the view was superb. Concierge and staff were generally quite helpful. Some were fairly friendly but I dont think this is generally the case in most W hotels that I have been to.
it was slightly inconveniently located but makes for a peaceful location.

We would definitely go back to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsenlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#59 of 513 in Barcelona
4,575 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
2,923 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing