We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pinnacle of the Barcelona Shoreline”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #95 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Pinnacle of the Barcelona Shoreline”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

With photos to follow, the W is the place to stay in Barcelona. My fiance and I stayed here at the tail end of a Med Cruise. What a place! Just looking at it makes you want to stay there. As we boarded the cruise, my fiance commented on the hotel. How could you miss it?

The minute you arrive at the hotel you are treated like king and queen. The lobby is quite impressive. We spent the time on the ocean front patio sipping mojitos (sp?) and testing local fruit given us by the friendly bartenders. We then traveled up to the top deck poolside and enjoyed more drinks and the view of the beach. Fantastic.

We changed our clothes and went to the Ellipse bar that night. As we approached the private elevator for the lounge, there was a lengthy line to get in. We entered the velvet rope line (to funny, but it does wonders for you ego.. haha) and were told that only guests of the hotel could enter at this time. I ask the doorman to check his list and we were allowed to enter the elevator (which had a concierge). The Ellipse is amazing! I highly recommend go to this lounge, even if you are not a guest. The service was a bit lacking, but we had managed to get in before they were really ready to serve, so we gave them a pass on it. Once it started getting busy, the drinks flowed. We enjoyed the view very much and didn't stay to long. We are not the all night party types like we used to be. Once in a while maybe... lol. We were told that we missed seeing Paris Hilton and her "people" by one night. She had secure the VIP section of the lounge, which was just a velvet rope between the main area and a couch and love seat with table.

The room itself was very cool. Push button black out curtains and a shower that was very spacious. We were not on the beach side but we did have a view of the shoreline in the opposite direction. Not bad, but for special occasion, ask for the beach side view. The mini-bar was stocked with top shelf liqueur and the lighting in the room seemed to be everywhere, color changing, but not over bearing.

We ate breakfast in the hotel prior to leaving. Very nice atmosphere, but the breakfast was a bit lacking, IMHO.

I wish we had more time to spend there. But for +$500 a night, we had spent our budget flying to Spain and taking the amazing Med Cruise (highly recommended by the way).

Lastly, the month of our stay is a bit off. We stayed here earlier in the year but I (we) just discovered this incredible world of TA and wanted to give back!

Room Tip: For a special occasion, ask for the beach side view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandTJune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,748
    1,463
    490
    229
    186
See reviews for
815
2,644
235
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

unfrendly staff, too expensive wifi in room(over 20 euro), unclean restroom, bad location(far from city center), no coffeepot and coffee. if you use any item in room by mistake, you will be charged.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Misun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Misun S,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at W Barcelona with other travelers. I highly appreciate your comments about your personal experience that will always help us. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay.

I do apologise if our staff let you down on this occasion, and I have been very surprised as this is not the usual feedback we receive from our discerning guests. We train and remind all our staff to be helpful and courteous and I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

On the other hand, I have taken good note of your comments about the free Wi-Fi in the rooms but regretfully I need to inform you that as the quality of Wi-Fi in the rooms are much better than in public areas, it is not feasible to offer it for free at the present time. However, and as you are aware, you can find free Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel.

You also raised a point about the lack of coffee making facilities in rooms, and I need to inform you that regretfully these are not part of our in-room standards. However, we have a few of them available at the Whatever & Whenever department and can be placed in the room upon guest request. Therefore, the next time you stay with us, please feel free to contact Welcome Desk or Whatever & Whenever if there is anything you need which is not provided in the room and we will be more than delighted to assist you.

Finally, I appreciate that every one has a preferred hotel location, and I am sorry to read if you found it far away from the city center. As you are aware we have 3 bus stops just in front of the hotel, with buses going to everywhere.

Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your recent experience at TripAdvisor, and giving us the opportunity to apologize.
Best regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We visited this hotel over the Easter Bank Holiday.
The views, bars and swimming pool are fantastic.
We spent Friday evening in the VIP area of the Eclipse bar and had a fun evening at the party, DJ was fantatsic playing a wide mix of music and the service improved as we became more settled, but that always seems to be the same at hotels like this.
Overall if you are looking for a fun stay on the beach in Barcelona then the W is a must visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmangan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest from London,

Thanks for staying with us during the Easter break. As per your comments in TripAdvisor, I can see that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel and we are very happy about that. I am delighted to read that you appreciated the views from the hotel, the Eclipse and the swimming pool.

Looking forward to welcoming you again for another break, best regards from Barcelona!

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The W Barcelona is a flagship for W and Starwood in many ways, and for good reason. For starters, its a stunner, and can be seen from all around Barcelona. Furthermore, service is very good and helpful (especially the Whatever, Whenever Concierge). Finally, it's a scene -- much like Barcelona -- in that its fashion forward, colorful, and the right amount of 'in'.

I came in from New York and a friend came in from Hong Kong, and we spent a few nights around New Years there. We had a wonderful beach view with a gorgeous sunrise over the ocean each morning. The view of the city was vast -- and while it doesn't give you the direct intimacy of a hotel in the heart of Barcelona, it is just far enough removed that you can enjoy a full day of sightseeing, and return to a more relaxing location. We enjoyed that. Add perks such as the martini bar set up on arrival, chaise lounge by the floor to ceiling glass windows, bliss spa, the rooftop Eclipse club, and Philips mood lighting, waterfall shower, beachside pool and lounges, and you have one sexy hotel.

New Years Eve was a hoot -- so much fun. But however fun it was, it dissipated muy rapido -- the clock struck 12, everyone was happy, but by 12:30 people were gone. We then went up to Eclipse Bar, which was a blast.

The W Barcelona is sexy. Enjoy a nightlife experience or a few nights... we sure did!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsavini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

It's one of the best hotels I ever tried. I was on my honeymoon and they made me feel like it. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. I would defiantly go there again. The lounges and the lobby is really nice to have a drink or snacks on it. The only issue it's a bit far from Rambela street and some other attraction..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Almousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest from Riyadh,

WOW! Such a fantastic review when you mentioned that we are one of the best hotels you have tried. I am very happy to read that you had a great stay with us on the occasion of your honeymoon and that our staff did a great job.

We look forward to welcoming you to W Barcelona!
Hasta pronto!

With kindest regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay at the W Barcelona. The hotel has somewhat in excess of 400 rooms so the lobby can get a bit busy when checking in, but staff try their best to be as quick as possible. We were given a 15th floor double room overlooking the city and beach which had the most amazing views of Barcelona, the room was spacious with the softest bed I have ever had in any hotel (stayed at Park Hyatts, Raddisons amongst others). The room definitely has a wow factor about it including a walking shower for 2 and large sitting couch by the bay window.
We made use of the pool aka WET which has some lovely sunbeds and a small pool to cool down in, there is also direct access to the beach with more senbeds and towels available.
Excellent stay all together, would recommend for the experience. Note: its a W hotel, so expect to pay for everything! example: there are no tea making facilities in the room so a cup of tea will set you back 5 euros in room service plus a 5 euros delivery charge! so you do the math every-time you call them up to your room! oh and remember that unless you like walking a lot, its a taxi ride back and forth from the town centre, each ride will set you back around 10 euros.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible for the best views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianuk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thanks to our status with Starwoord, we were upgraded to a Fabulous room at reception, and the room was fabulous, never tired of opening the curtains to a stunning view across the beaches of Barcelona.

We arrived late in the evening for a long Easter weekend, and were greeted by Damola ( ?? ) on reception, who was frendly and really helpful explaining everything, and quickly getting us to our room, even offering free drinks at the bar as we had a special birthday.

The hotel is very stylish, the rooms are stunning, with a lot of nice design features... the rainfall shoer is great, and the lighting features in the rooms are nicely down

Everywhere the staff cannot do to much for you, everything you need appears quickly and easily, can't fault the service

The hotel bar is nice, but the music a little loud, but the outdoor areas are great, and very much reminded us of beach clubs in Miami. The beach bar at the front is also nicely done

One tip, the bars / resturants outside the hotel at the front are much betetr value for breakfast and lunch, are are really nice places to sit in and watch the world go by

Its a 10 - 15 minute walk along the front to Barceloneta and loads of bars and restuarants

There are some negatives, but nothing spoilt our visit,

As many people have said, the extra charges are crazy, 4 euros for water and 19 euros per day for internet access are ridiculous, but are easily avoided. I'd recommend to management to reconsider these charges, they are almost criminal

The Eclipse bar is massively overated, and was very sad and empty when we visited... but

We loved the W and Barcelona and will visit again,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,428 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,659 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing