We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“w hotel barcelona”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #93 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“w hotel barcelona”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

i have just spent 2 nights at the w hotel barcelona, if you are wanting to relax with 5 star expectations right next to the beach this is the place to be. The beds are the comfiest i have ever slept in, fantastic views from rooms, staff cant do enough for you and the nightclub on the 26th flor is amazing. would def recomend and return

Room Tip: i stayed on the 1st floor but from what others were saying from other floors all were amazing with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Gemma b,

Thank you for your positive comments!!! We greatly appreciate it.

We will be honored to welcome you again to W Barcelona for another amazing stay!

All the staff here and.....the Barceloneta beach are waiting for you!

Hasta pronto.
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,713
    1,447
    485
    225
    182
See reviews for
808
2,619
235
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed here for a couple of nights mid June 2013. We had a Cool Corner Suite, which we had been upgraded to due to the fact I work in Travel, which was absolutely stunning! I could NOT have asked for a more beautiful view, with the most breath taking views looking out onto the ocean.

Massive bath in the bedroom, which I thought was a nice touch. Also the largest shower head I've ever seen in the seperate shower room. Don't have one bad thing to say about the room we had.

Food and drink was quite expensive at the hotel, so we chose to eat out most of the time. Some beautiful beachside restaurants a short stroll away from the hotel, all relatively priced, and delicious food.

The service at the hotel was poor. We waited nearly three hours for our room to be ready, even though we turned up on time. We then had to go back to the desk and ask what was going on to then be told our room was ready, they had no intentions of letting us know. As long as we were sat at the bar spending money to kill three hours, they were happy.

We then had maids entering our room without any notice while we were still asleep one morning! Wasn't impressed with that at all. Felt I constantly had to have 'do not disturb' on the door just for peace of mind that we wouldn't be disturbed while in the shower or bath!

To sum up.. The mist beautifuuuul hotel I've ever stayed in, just a shame the service was quite intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First the pros. My room had a great view.
Now the cons. Good looking staff but badly trained equals spotty service. Food is average. I don't like having my bathroom open plan to the sleeping area, call me old fashioned. Decor is "nouveau industrial". Expensive. Small things not working or not being done (e.g turn down service). No problem in a 3/4 star place but you should get more from a W hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms are wonderful, the views excellent.
Public spaces are hideous, awful loud jarring Muzak everywhere. Service poor, slow and intrusive when it finally arrives. Wifi close to useless and very expensive.
A hotel that seems to dispose its guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691Tall_guy691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 691Tall_guy691,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at W Barcelona in May with other travelers.

We were happy to read that you loved the rooms and its views, however, please accept our apologies if you left with a bad impression of our public areas and our service. We have been very surprised as this is not the usual feedback we receive from our discerning guests concerning the public spaces and our service. Your comments regarding the service being poor & slow will be discussed with the Executive Committee of the Hotel, and corrective actions will be taken.

Hope to be able to welcome you back in a very near future.
Thanks for your feedback!
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Regrettably we just spent 1 night at the W in Barcelona. We wish we had stayed 5. We got treated like royalty as SPG platinum members. The location is a bit away from town but not away from the action. Great place to walk outside and people watch or just stop and have a Gin and Tonic on the beach. Our room was amazing, it was huge with views to die for. Just had to figure out the light system. We were given free passes for the big DJ pool party that night and had a great time watching all the beautiful people. Service was great. We left with a smile and will be back!! My wife made me promise.

Room Tip: Do not Hesitate. Get a high room facing the City. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Danify,

What a shame that you could only spent one night at W Barcelona! However, we are very happy to read that you were able to enjoy your short visit with us, and that you could take advantage of the DJ pool party taking place at the Wet Deck during your stay. Your satisfied comments are motivating for all of us and I would like to renew my thanks for your support.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon again to W Barcelona, but this time for a longer visit!
Hasta muy pronto!

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a harbour facing room. The floor to ceiling windows gave terrific views of the harbour, where many cruise liners came and went, and of Montjuic. The room was very modern, clean and had a great shower. Could have no complaints with the room. In the lobby area, the hotel offers free water and apples, which were delicious. There is also an Internet lounge where computers with complimentary Internet access are provided.

We had breakfast in the hotel. The food was of good quality and there was a good selection. On our first night, we arrived late therefore ordered pizzas from the room service menu. They cost about £15 each and were very poor. They were undercooked and soggy in the middle..not what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is located about a 25 minute walk from the centre if Barcelona however you can get a bus from the bus stop at the entrance road to the hotel. The cost is 2 euros per person and the bus stops at placa de catalunya. A short distance from the hotel, along the promenade, there is a small supermarket (Spar) which is very useful. There are also a couple of restaurants nearby if you don't want to travel into the city centre each night.

All in all a great hotel experience, only disappointment was the room service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maltese0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location with spectacular views but with very
Average service (be prepared to wait for 20 minutes to be served at bar!)
Constant music in public areas, including reception, bars, restaurants, lifts, toilets, after a while it gets too much
Fantastic rooms but strongly suggest getting a room with a beach view
but be prepared for the noise from the beach if you like your fresh air and windows open
Easy access to key parts of the city and safe to walk around
Extremely comfortable beds and very well equipped rooms and good room service
Not enough reception staff at busy periods be prepared for a 20 minute wait and that was for a regular Westin hotel user (SPG) account holder
If eating in the bar (eclipse) be prepared to wait for 1 hour at busy periods



Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chrismranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#51 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing