We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The W hits more than it misses but is still very much a work in progress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #92 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“The W hits more than it misses but is still very much a work in progress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world including the Barcelona Arts and so are very well placed to act as a barometer for the service provided by the W.

Firstly the positives. The staff were fantastic. They were welcoming, knowledgeable, happy and highly motivated. From the multilingual bellboys to the reservation staff. The lobby was a perfect example of contemporary aesthetic, the pool area tranquil and the club reassuringly hedonistic.

Now to the negatives. We arrived at 6 pm and greeted by Luis at the reservation desk. We were informed our room was not as yet available. This was further justified by the fact that there was a room available, however we were to be 'upgraded' to a better room which would be available shortly. This is known as gift-wrapping in the industry. After complimentary drinks we were shown to our room which was not an upgrade. It was the room we had booked, on the wrong side of the hotel (facing the harbour as opposed to the beach). I had no expectation of an upgrade but I do have moral expectations and mendacious staff fall well below those expectations.

On arrival to the room there was relatively loud drilling taking place somewhere on the floor. After taking up Luis's 'do give me a call if there is anything I can help you with', a maintenance chap was sent up who after acknowledging the noise promptly disappeared. No follow up call was made and we were woken every morning by drilling.

Now many reviews on this site amplify what are essentially petty foibles. My usual response is an incredulous metaphorical eye rolling. However when a hotel throws down the gauntlet and attempts to redefine the industry, they must realise the discerning clientele they aim to attract are a fickle bunch, and there are many hotels that offer far more and are far better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,676
    1,435
    477
    221
    177
See reviews for
801
2,586
232
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The W Barcelona really names its rooms correctly. I stayed in the Fabulous Room and it was definitely that. The view of the beach (even from in bed) is stunning and the cool lights in the room add a cool ambiance. It has a huge shower with rain head, fluffy robes and slippers. I was there for a conference and enjoyed every bit of it. The main conference area, meeting rooms, common spaces, and poolside cocktails all were great. The food and service for all meals and breaks was superb. Definitely one of my top hotels ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear BJarvi,

Thanks for this review, on the occasion of your recent visit to W Barcelona for business purposes.

I was delighted to read that your Fabulous room was to your liking and expectations, and that you were able to enjoy it. Also, I am happy to see that you appreciated our meeting spaces, the food and the service in general.

Hope to be able to welcome you back soon again to our hotel.
Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Stay. Everything was fine.. But only One Complaint. There is NO Free Wifi connection in the Guest Room . Free Wifi available only in the Lobby. This is the First hotel I am experiencing this sort of inconvenience. And also Most of the TV channels are paid channels . Otherwise it was a good stay in a good location with a good view of the beah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Joseph T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Barcelona on the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us in April. I am very happy to read that in general you had a great stay at our property.

Indeed, at the present time, it is not feasible to offer Free Wifi connection in the rooms, however it is indeed free of charge in the Living Room of the hotel.
On the other hand, I would like to inform that we do have almost 80 TV channels which are free of charge. Furthermore, we do have the pay per view for the movies which are chargeable like the majority hotels worldwide.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon again to W Barcelona Joseph T!
Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, it feels boutique and is very big in style and chic...the food , staff and restaurants are amazing..its right on the beach and has a cool beach bar called SALT BEACH....
It has a private nightclub on the top floor that gives immediate access to residents..the rooms are really amazing with the most spectacular views of barceloneta ....perfect for a weekend break or even just a mid week night away..

Room Tip: ask for sea view but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907lisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

W Barcelona may not be in the city centre, but there is nothing better than waking up and seeing the beach stretching in front of you and enjoying breakfast overlooking the pool.
The Spa and gym are both amazing, the rooftop bar (well almost roof top) had a great atmosphere and no standing in line if you are a guest!
The hotel has a couple of good restaurants and then in the summer there are some other nice ones on the beach front, so if you don't want to go into town you don't have to - but if you do its just a 15min taxi ride at worst.
The rooms are all very similar in size and very adequate, if you are sharing with someone other than your partner - I can imagine that the bathrooms can be a little intimate. They were however very well appointed and well maintained.
The restaurant manager, English originally, was fantastic and so helpful - plus he went out of his way to make our stay very memorable.
The hotel is contemporary and cool, but not to the point that you feel uncomfortable if you are not in the most trendy outfit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Travelloverlady,

Thanks for having dropped your thoughts to TripAdvisor further to your stay with us in March. I was delighted to read that our property location by the beach & sea and all our facilities allowed you to enjoy your stay at W Barcelona. Your positive comments encourage us to go further and work harder in order to ensure that our Guests have a marvelous stay in our hotel!

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honored to welcome you in our hotel once again.
Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel in stunning location. The view of Barceloneta by night from the window was just amazing! The best I ever seen!
Clean room and helpful personnel.

Only two points:
-It is not that closed to the metro station/public transportation.
-The transparent door of the bathroom/WC could be an issue if you are sharing a double not with your partner.

Room Tip: Higher floors for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

When you stay in a hotel of the standard of the W Barcelona you expect the service to be as faultless as the hotel's presentation. However, although the latter was perfect the former differed from excellent to non-existent.

A week before our arrival I emailed the hotel to confirm our booking and inform them that my wife and I would be celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary during our stay. Although a note was placed on our reservation about this, no reference to our special occasion was made when we checked in nor was the process as informative as that of other guests checked-in by other staff, who were given information about the hotel's facilities, bars and restaurants etc.

However, when we returned to our room later that evening we did have two half bottles of Freixenet on ice waiting for us, which was greatly appreciated.

On our first morning we had breakfast at the Wet bar where moments after we sat down we were served by Jackie who introduced herself and provided great service, and all with a warm and welcoming smile.

The good service continued when we were at the Eclipse nightclub which ended with each of us receiving a complimentary shot upon payment. On our second and last visit to the club we asked the waitress if we could sit in the V.I.P. area - which she kindly granted - even though we didn't have a prior booking. She could easily have refused but she was very accommodating. However, once there our presence was ignored by the waitresses which lead to me ordering my own drinks from the bar.

The nightclub is quite small, intimate and dark with its low red lighting but does afford good night views of the city. We also received a warm welcome from our waiter throughout our anniversary dinner. I don't know his name but he was polite, attentive and kindly took some pictures for us and fulfilled my request of handing my surprise anniversary gift to my wife at the specified moment.

However, the experience my wife and I received at the Wet bar on our last day really disappointed and annoyed us - to put it politely. It was abysmal, unprofessional and not befitting of or expected at a hotel of this standard.

We were largely ignored by the staff who gave plenty of attention to other people. We ordered beers that never appeared from a member of staff who we never saw again and when we asked another person to chase them up, 20 minutes later we were still waiting, prompting me to go and order the beers from the bar myself.

When we decided that we had had enough we asked for the bill which took another 10 minutes to arrive. When we finally got it we were charged for the beers we never received and after it took two staff members to resolve it and subtract it from our bill we then had to wait another 10 minutes to receive our change and only then after we asked for it.

We then went to a beach bar less than five minutes from the hotel where the staff acknowledged our existence, gave us a menu, took our order, gave us our beers and change all within five minutes of sitting down.

Anyway, we had a sea-facing Wonderful room that was bright, clean and well presented. As you would expect it had all the usual provisions, a hair dryer, iron, toiletries, safe and a minibar that faces the room door!

The W is obviously perfectly located for walks along the beach and if time is not at a premium then you can walk to Las Ramblas. However we took a taxi every time which never cost more than €10 per ride. Also, if you buy tickets for the GrayLine Barcelona tour bus DO take the orange route but DON'T waste any time on the green route. The orange route will take you close to all the 'architectonic and emblematic' buildings of the city including Sagrada Familia, Nou Camp, the 1992 Olympic Stadium and cable car etc while the green route is rather bland and sparse.

The W is certainly the most modern looking of all the hotels in Barcelona and I would stay there again, if only to see whether the indifferent service we received was just a one off experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Taurean,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the TripAdvisor website, and thank you for choosing W Barcelona to celebrate your fifth wedding anniversary. Congratulationns and all the best!

We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed in general your experience with us. Although we are really sorry and desire to apologize for the dissatisfaction you expressed about the service you received at the Wet bar. We pride ourselves on a prompt and efficient service and I do sincerely hope you will accept that your experience there is certainly not reflective of our usual standards.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments which are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future.

We hope to have you and your wife back soon to provide a most enjoyable stay.
Hasta pronto!
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing