We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous" is right!!”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #107 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Fabulous" is right!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The W Barcelona really names its rooms correctly. I stayed in the Fabulous Room and it was definitely that. The view of the beach (even from in bed) is stunning and the cool lights in the room add a cool ambiance. It has a huge shower with rain head, fluffy robes and slippers. I was there for a conference and enjoyed every bit of it. The main conference area, meeting rooms, common spaces, and poolside cocktails all were great. The food and service for all meals and breaks was superb. Definitely one of my top hotels ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear BJarvi,

Thanks for this review, on the occasion of your recent visit to W Barcelona for business purposes.

I was delighted to read that your Fabulous room was to your liking and expectations, and that you were able to enjoy it. Also, I am happy to see that you appreciated our meeting spaces, the food and the service in general.

Hope to be able to welcome you back soon again to our hotel.
Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,791
    1,482
    503
    240
    196
See reviews for
824
2,679
239
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Stay. Everything was fine.. But only One Complaint. There is NO Free Wifi connection in the Guest Room . Free Wifi available only in the Lobby. This is the First hotel I am experiencing this sort of inconvenience. And also Most of the TV channels are paid channels . Otherwise it was a good stay in a good location with a good view of the beah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Joseph T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Barcelona on the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us in April. I am very happy to read that in general you had a great stay at our property.

Indeed, at the present time, it is not feasible to offer Free Wifi connection in the rooms, however it is indeed free of charge in the Living Room of the hotel.
On the other hand, I would like to inform that we do have almost 80 TV channels which are free of charge. Furthermore, we do have the pay per view for the movies which are chargeable like the majority hotels worldwide.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon again to W Barcelona Joseph T!
Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, it feels boutique and is very big in style and chic...the food , staff and restaurants are amazing..its right on the beach and has a cool beach bar called SALT BEACH....
It has a private nightclub on the top floor that gives immediate access to residents..the rooms are really amazing with the most spectacular views of barceloneta ....perfect for a weekend break or even just a mid week night away..

Room Tip: ask for sea view but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907lisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

W Barcelona may not be in the city centre, but there is nothing better than waking up and seeing the beach stretching in front of you and enjoying breakfast overlooking the pool.
The Spa and gym are both amazing, the rooftop bar (well almost roof top) had a great atmosphere and no standing in line if you are a guest!
The hotel has a couple of good restaurants and then in the summer there are some other nice ones on the beach front, so if you don't want to go into town you don't have to - but if you do its just a 15min taxi ride at worst.
The rooms are all very similar in size and very adequate, if you are sharing with someone other than your partner - I can imagine that the bathrooms can be a little intimate. They were however very well appointed and well maintained.
The restaurant manager, English originally, was fantastic and so helpful - plus he went out of his way to make our stay very memorable.
The hotel is contemporary and cool, but not to the point that you feel uncomfortable if you are not in the most trendy outfit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Travelloverlady,

Thanks for having dropped your thoughts to TripAdvisor further to your stay with us in March. I was delighted to read that our property location by the beach & sea and all our facilities allowed you to enjoy your stay at W Barcelona. Your positive comments encourage us to go further and work harder in order to ensure that our Guests have a marvelous stay in our hotel!

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honored to welcome you in our hotel once again.
Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel in stunning location. The view of Barceloneta by night from the window was just amazing! The best I ever seen!
Clean room and helpful personnel.

Only two points:
-It is not that closed to the metro station/public transportation.
-The transparent door of the bathroom/WC could be an issue if you are sharing a double not with your partner.

Room Tip: Higher floors for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

When you stay in a hotel of the standard of the W Barcelona you expect the service to be as faultless as the hotel's presentation. However, although the latter was perfect the former differed from excellent to non-existent.

A week before our arrival I emailed the hotel to confirm our booking and inform them that my wife and I would be celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary during our stay. Although a note was placed on our reservation about this, no reference to our special occasion was made when we checked in nor was the process as informative as that of other guests checked-in by other staff, who were given information about the hotel's facilities, bars and restaurants etc.

However, when we returned to our room later that evening we did have two half bottles of Freixenet on ice waiting for us, which was greatly appreciated.

On our first morning we had breakfast at the Wet bar where moments after we sat down we were served by Jackie who introduced herself and provided great service, and all with a warm and welcoming smile.

The good service continued when we were at the Eclipse nightclub which ended with each of us receiving a complimentary shot upon payment. On our second and last visit to the club we asked the waitress if we could sit in the V.I.P. area - which she kindly granted - even though we didn't have a prior booking. She could easily have refused but she was very accommodating. However, once there our presence was ignored by the waitresses which lead to me ordering my own drinks from the bar.

The nightclub is quite small, intimate and dark with its low red lighting but does afford good night views of the city. We also received a warm welcome from our waiter throughout our anniversary dinner. I don't know his name but he was polite, attentive and kindly took some pictures for us and fulfilled my request of handing my surprise anniversary gift to my wife at the specified moment.

However, the experience my wife and I received at the Wet bar on our last day really disappointed and annoyed us - to put it politely. It was abysmal, unprofessional and not befitting of or expected at a hotel of this standard.

We were largely ignored by the staff who gave plenty of attention to other people. We ordered beers that never appeared from a member of staff who we never saw again and when we asked another person to chase them up, 20 minutes later we were still waiting, prompting me to go and order the beers from the bar myself.

When we decided that we had had enough we asked for the bill which took another 10 minutes to arrive. When we finally got it we were charged for the beers we never received and after it took two staff members to resolve it and subtract it from our bill we then had to wait another 10 minutes to receive our change and only then after we asked for it.

We then went to a beach bar less than five minutes from the hotel where the staff acknowledged our existence, gave us a menu, took our order, gave us our beers and change all within five minutes of sitting down.

Anyway, we had a sea-facing Wonderful room that was bright, clean and well presented. As you would expect it had all the usual provisions, a hair dryer, iron, toiletries, safe and a minibar that faces the room door!

The W is obviously perfectly located for walks along the beach and if time is not at a premium then you can walk to Las Ramblas. However we took a taxi every time which never cost more than €10 per ride. Also, if you buy tickets for the GrayLine Barcelona tour bus DO take the orange route but DON'T waste any time on the green route. The orange route will take you close to all the 'architectonic and emblematic' buildings of the city including Sagrada Familia, Nou Camp, the 1992 Olympic Stadium and cable car etc while the green route is rather bland and sparse.

The W is certainly the most modern looking of all the hotels in Barcelona and I would stay there again, if only to see whether the indifferent service we received was just a one off experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Taurean,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the TripAdvisor website, and thank you for choosing W Barcelona to celebrate your fifth wedding anniversary. Congratulationns and all the best!

We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed in general your experience with us. Although we are really sorry and desire to apologize for the dissatisfaction you expressed about the service you received at the Wet bar. We pride ourselves on a prompt and efficient service and I do sincerely hope you will accept that your experience there is certainly not reflective of our usual standards.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments which are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future.

We hope to have you and your wife back soon to provide a most enjoyable stay.
Hasta pronto!
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

the hotel is very nice. it's not everywhere that the first thing you see when you wake up is the sea. it's one amazing view!
the downside is that it's not very close to the tourist attractions but I didn't find that very important.
the room was very nice and very clean and the bed very comfortable and since I went there for work waking up relaxed was very helpful.
I did not quite understand the whole glass bathroom in the middle of the room thing but it is big and an interesting concept, I guess.
the staff is lovely, very helpful and speak very good English. breakfast was amazing, I couldn't get enough of the jamon and tortilla and the delicious pastries.
I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_pesamosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#57 of 512 in Barcelona
4,519 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#182 of 512 in Barcelona
2,850 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 512 in Barcelona
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing