We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible sea-view”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #118 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lobby, etc. is pretty nice as you would expect it in such a category, but the real cool part is the sea-view: Waking up with a red sky, landing planes, arriving ships is just unbelievable...

Not cheap, but definitely worth it's price!

Only disappointment was the bar on top which is decorated pretty cheap - but still has a good view!

Fantastic breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room on floor 15+!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,070 - 3,076 of 6,474 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow in every way.
This hotel is stunning, luxurious and modern. We had two suites with beautiful views of the ocean. The location is excellent.
Staff members were really efficient, we felt relaxed and comfortable throughout our stay.
The atmosphere is also what makes this hotel extra special; it is exciting both day and night
Overall, this is a really cool place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a new hotel in Barcelona, the W offers both incredible views and experiences. The pool deck is great for lounging but the beach is even better and private, located just steps away from the building. The room itself is modern, with a great shower/vanity area and extremely comfortable beds- dare I say the most comfortable I have ever experienced while traveling.

While visiting we were able to dine in one onsite restaurant, which was very good. We appreciated the flavored water found in the lobby although we unfortunately seemed to always catch it when it ran out. The restaurants below the W are amazing, do not miss out on eating here for lunch and dinner, I would suggest trying each one of them if you can. Excellent location for beach eating, it really enhances the area around the W. Make reservations.

Despite being slightly removed from the other main attractions in Barcelona, I would most definitely stay here again, as many other reviews suggest, this is an incredible hotel and has some unique features especially for the area. It is a little on the expensive side, but I feel you get more for your money here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Stella CO,

We are happy to read that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us and have been able to discover well the hotel surroundings. Thank you very much for your positive feedback! Should you have any further comments on your visit, please do not hesitate to contact me calling at +34 93 2952800; if you prefer to send us an e-mail, please write to our Executive Office elisabeth.vilardell@whotels.com. It will be our pleasure to be in contact with you.

Should you come back to Barcelona in the future, it would also be my pleasure to personally take care of your next reservation and I invite you to contact me personally in order to plan your stay.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerley,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The greatest take away from this hotel is the view. I was dumb struck when I walked into the room. I thought a fourth floor room wasn't going to be very good, but in contrast I was astounded at the view.

As you would expect from a hotel of this standard, the service is polished and efficient. The drinks at the bar are pricey, but very pleasant. Breakfast in the morning was also good.

From a personal perspective, there wasn't enough "texture" for my liking, but if you like hotels with clean lines, and made from glass and steel then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for my partners 40th Birthday and were so glad we did.
Our suite was gorgeous - especially enjoyed laying in the bath looking out over the port!
We were delivered two free bottles of Cava to celebrate plus vouchers for drinks in the nightclub and VIP passes in case there was a queue to get in (there was!).
We ate in the fabulous Bravo 24 - which we found very relaxed despite its Michelin rating. The food was beautiful - wonderful flavours and gorgeous surroundings. They also gave us a little birthday cake which was a lovely suprise.
From the time we arrived until we left, all staff members were friendly and had a sense of humour.
Right on the beach and near some lovely neighbourhood tapas bars for lunch too.
We'll be back in the summer - no doubt!
This was not a cheap trip but we felt we really had value for money. Good stuff!

Room Tip: Any room is good for the views. The studio suite was good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The W Barcelona is an excellent luxury property. Here are some features I enjoyed
- Efficient, fast service from reception, concierge and bell-boys
- Room was impeccable with typical W styling. Terrific high pressure rain-maker shower head was especially good
- Room views are amazing and provide a sweeping, uninterrupted look at the coastline
- Eclipse Bar on the top level has good cocktails and music, so you don't need to go far for a drink and a dance

We were also there for my gf's birthday - the "W Insiders" went out of their way to provide us with a room upgrade, and then brought a birthday cake and champagne to our room. It was a wonderful touch that we really appreciated.

You won't regret staying at the W when you visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the W this past Winter to celebrate our anniversary and it was everything we hoped it would be. The design and location of the hotel were great, but what made it that much more amazing was the attention of the staff. Galia from the Whatever/Whenever department was very kind and with her help, I was able to completely surprise my fiance. AND, for an unforgettable anniversary treat - she even gave us a better room with better views!

Only downside was the wireless internet - it was slow and expensive.

Otherwise, it was a great trip. Thank you, Galia!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
4,806 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 515 in Barcelona
3,091 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,783 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,153 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $221 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing