We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #92 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The W Barcelona is an excellent destination for the business traveller. While the location doesn't lend itself to easy walking around the city, everything within the hotel is perfect (including the spa!). Loved my business trip even more because of the W stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,676
    1,435
    477
    221
    177
See reviews for
801
2,586
232
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a 3 night stay in November with my girlfriend. Found all the staff to be friendly and courteous on check in, the bar, door, restaurant and concierge.

We were lucky to get a room facing the beach on the 20th floor. It is impossible to tire of the view from the wonderful floor to ceiling windows. We loved the seating area against this as well. Room was spotless and modern. The toilet with glass door a little too modern for our liking though, not keen on the sink in the room either. The wet room shower though was excellent.

Drinks and food are expensive as you would expect. Quality and service is excellent and the bar area/lounge is a great place to drink in the evening.

Outside seemed pretty slick, nice pool area and right on the beach (over the walkway).

Close by are a range of restaurants and bars, the walk to the bottom of the Ramblas is a nice 20 mins one. Cable car to Mony Juic very close.

we loved this place overall, got a reasonable late deal and would recommend and go again. Do a lot of traavelling and there are niot many places I'd return to.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Beach facing room, 10th plus floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

As you'd expect from a W Hotel the rooms were stylish, roomy and comfortable. My room had a great water view, although given the location I expect it would be impossible to find a room that didn't overlook the water.
The overall design of the hotel was exceptional again as you'd expect.
The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly when having to deal with the impact of a national strike.
The gym was well equipped.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Once again, a style triumph from Starwood W Hotels. Fantastic room with floor to ceiling window (bed facing it) and a view out to sea. Lovely seating area all along the window also.

It's not absolutely perfect - the lights in a W (or the ones I have stayed at anyway) are never quite bright enough when sometimes you need them to be, I don't like the fact that the toilet, sink and shower are all separated or that the shower and toilet are only surrounded by shaded glass (why would anyone want their outline to be seen when they're on the toilet??!). Didn't have breakfast as it was ridiculously expensive. Did eat dinner in the bar one evening which was fine although not outstanding (and a bit cold). But despite all of that I still can't give it less than five stars as the overall experience is so cool.

Great bar, lots of nice treats in the room (at a price of course!). Would be fun in summer with the lovely outdoor pool / bar area and right on the beach.

We got a fantastic deal on the price of a room booking it as secret hotel at lastminute.com so that was the best part!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuvetDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the W in Barcelona on business. Lucky me, I was upgraded to a corner suite with amazing views of the sea. It truly did feel like sleeping on a deck of a ship (without the motion sickness). The service was superb, although at times a bit over the top as I received a call and a visit from the hotel to ask how I was liking my stay. I dined at Bravo24 or whatever it's called, which is a bit pricey, but serves excellent Catalan food. The skybar is just amazing. I think it's a bit pretentious to have a VIP section in such an incredibly small bar, but hey I guess I wouldn't be saying that had I been on the other side of the rope. All in all I can highly recommend a stay at the W in Barcelona. I do suggest that the W Barcelona interior designers go pay a visit to the W in DC to get them fix up their style.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shereen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights in an ocean facing room and had an amazing time. You can do a whole trip to Barcelona and never see the ocean. This hotel is right on the beach, by the port and 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes bus from the old part of town. The decor, room, atmosphere, service, everything met our expectations. I got a great deal using Priceline and would go back any time. The seafood restaurants closeby are unbeatable. You can also walk to the gondola that takes you to Montjuic. Check the pictures for the amazing pool, rooftop bar, lounge. Great hotel. Our room faced the noise of the lobby which was a minus but we had a basic room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

W Barcelona hotel has everything a good hotel should give you - outstanding view from our room even when you are lying in bed - the full length glass wall windows give privacy and a fantastic view of the sea, beach, city and mountains; a bed so comfortable you never want to get out of it, and great food. The view is outstanding and the bay window seating a treat to cuddle up in the comfy bathrobes with a hot cup of tea, and watch the sun rise over the ocean: waking up very early due to jetlag has never been so much fun! There are lots of thoughtful details in the room: an iPod dock and radio; nice toiletries; drinking water in blue glass (not plastic) bottles.

What took us some getting used to were the glass cubicles (felt a bit strange) as toilets, and the complicated lights switches that took us some time to figure out how to turn off. Unfortunately, there was no fridge in our room to keep the cake we had got to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea facing the beach - it's awesome and great to gaze at during the day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaTorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing