We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #118 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and my wife picked this hotel as a luxury birthday break. It was a perfect choice. The hotel is only two or three years old and you can see it as everything is super clean and spotless.
The pools are fantastic, the restaurants served excellent food with great views.
Although the W Hotel is at the end of the beach we found the location very good.
An excellent five star boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,157 - 3,163 of 6,473 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

On arrival, the hotel lived up to the description as listed, was totally impressed with all aspects of the service, complimentary mint flavoured water & apples on arrival in reception, very attentative staff, pleasant & willing,
So much to say - take it as an out of this world experience............................
Loved Barcelona

Room Tip: No need, all come with sea view, beds devine, rooms full of gadgets..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachqueen1england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really enjoy my stays at this W. I have stayed at a few W's around the world and this in my opinion is the best by quite a margin. It is everything the brand aspires to, sophisticated, urban, unlike say the W in San Diego which is just noisy.


Great staff, very good choice of restaurants available. Breakfast is very good but the wave restaurant is too small for the hotel, so there are queues or they ask you to eat elsewhere in the hotel.

Location is perfect as far as I am concerned, you can be in the city is 5-10 minutes by taxi or can walk there, or jump on the cable car thing. Barcelona is fantastic and I think in comparison to the other higher end hotels in the city, the W is really good value for money.

The rooms are clean, I had a cool corner suite and it was stunning. Fantastic views of both the city and the sean

Little niggles in the suite, include, no coffee or tea, complicated lights and electrical system. I found turning on the tv fairly complicated once it was off, I had to remove my room key and reset the system to get it back on. Don't even want to talk about the lights.

Room Tip: Higher is better and pointing away from the city is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

W Barcelona is the best.
It's studied to detail,
staff is great, casual, but very professional,
kitcken very tasty,
rooms are a paradise, but with color-therapy!!!
enjoy the pool and the sun.
do not miss the spa!!
during the aperitif I would have preferred music like Lunare project
I hope to return soon

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff are very very attentive, whether you are checking in, asking numerous questions of the concierge , room service and waiting staff, they are polite, helpful and charming. The room has a gorgeous view of the beach, sea and town in the distance. Early morning tea ordered via room service is prompt. if you are technically minded you will have no problem but for those NOT technically minded the lighting is a challenge, there are switches for everything including opening and closing the curtains - we have yet to master the room temperature - it took us a while to find the correct switch for the light in that alcove by which time we decided to just switch the air con off when we really wanted to warm the room slightly. The breakfast choice is amazing and should suit everyone. Free newspapers, Internet and apples in reception area. Beautiful, beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Higher than the 14 th floor and an even numbered room for the BEST view. Smoking permitted on 6th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel - very W - with smart, comfortable, well-appointed rooms. There is a smart bar and a rooftop bar/club. Expect great, friendly service and good drinks and food. Quite expensive for the location, but by Port Olympic for livlier weekend / summertime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnduroAfrica007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 days. The good was the hotel views are great. The rooms are bright and airy. The down, room service was un impressive. The front staff were ok. It's about the show not the service. The Internet prices should be included for the price of the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Jody F,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is very important for us because your feedback let us known were we have failed. With your comments we know the areas where we have to implement improvements in order to reach our client´s expectations. I have carefully read your comments regarding the service at in-room dinning, and let me inform you that I will transmit your comments to the In-Room Dinning Manager. However, we would highly appreciate if you could send us more specific details by e-mail ( elisabeth.vilardell@whotels.com). Concerning the internet prices, I would like to inform you that internet connection is free at the public areas however at the moment is not feasible to offer it in the rooms.

Happy to see that enjoyed the views from the hotel and you liked our rooms.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
4,803 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#202 of 515 in Barcelona
3,089 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,783 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,151 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $219 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing