We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Execellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #88 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Execellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Everything was perfect, best experience i ever had in a hotel!
The room service was fast and very good service, great food at the restaurant, and the best hamburger i have ever tasted(pool).
It will be my choise every time i will be in Barcelona!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisyliciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,632
    1,422
    471
    221
    171
See reviews for
784
2,564
228
967
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Barcelona was our first stop on a 3 week holiday in Spain, Portugal & Italy and the W Barcelona was by far the best hotel experience I had on this trip with my husband and my previous European holidays. Our wonderful experience started with a very early check-in that we did not expect nor did they need to oblige, but after a 23 hour flight it was most welcome. The hotel is pure modern luxury and I was impressed from the moment I stepped in the lobby. Little did I know how blown away I'd be by the room and the rest of the hotel. First there's the incredible view of the ocean that goes on and on forever in the horizon as you sit and watch from your amazingly comfortable feather down bed or day lounge by the window. Then there's the divine and large shower room and bathroom with great amenities. The pool area was another highlight. Awesome sun lounges and beds (although you have to get in early to secure a prime spot by the edge of the pool), and a great bar with a good selection of light snacks. As you look over the beach deciding whether to sunbathe by the pool or on the private W area of the beach, you know you can't lose either way. Did I mention that there is drinks/food service on the beach? Another Sangria por favor waiter! Loved it. The concierge service, the breakfast, the restaurants, the bars, the service, the room - everything was what I hoped for in a 5 star modern beachside hotel in Barcelona. Please be aware that whilst it's a prime beach location, it's about a 30 minute walk or 7 minute taxi ride to Las Ramblas, but it really wasn't an issue for us. We'll be back again W - thank you!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daniinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

So far, my personal best hotel i've ever visited. Since this visit I want to do several of the W-Concept hotels. The Atmosphere was amazing and very luxurious. Very modern design, WAW Rooms, amazing views and breakfast was superb. Friendly staff who's willing to serve you at best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The staff, the service and the quality of the hotel is fantastic. You can use the beach and you take priority on the beds. The rooms are just fabulous we were upgraded to a suite. The views are amazing, treat yourself and stay here

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent hotel with wounderful view! Rooms overlooking the beach and sea. Great location and very enjoyable pool area! Huge buffet breakfast!
Honestly I can also find some defects: It is absolutely overpriced (if you are not able to get some special offer), cheap finishes (not a real design hotel) and wifi is not offered free of charge in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel view is fantastic, however the sushi is very poor quality, the room i stayed 1611, had hairs in the toilet upon arrival and one of the bathroom rope had a hole on it. For the price we paid i think it needs better maintenance over all.
The bed very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear RadissonDecapolis,

Thank you very much for taking your time to submit your feedback. I have carefully read your comments and I am really very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced.

Allow me to share that your observations regarding the sushi quality and the cleanliness of the room you stayed in upon arrival have been brought to the attention of our Department Managers involved for their immediate review and actions. As far as the bed is concerned, I have been very surprised as it is the first time one of our clients mention is very uncomfortable. We have only been receiving positive comments about the comfort of our beds.

We would be grateful if you gave us a second chance, should you consider this possibility I would be delighted to remain at your disposal.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent the last 4 days of our Barcelona vacation at the W Barcelona. Upon arrival it was apparent that it was the perfect spot for lounging at the pool and playing in the ocean. I'm a beach girl so I was pleased. The bellboy was on point. Got our stuff, tagged our stuff, and whisked our stuff away, directing us to the front lobby. The lobby was the go-to spot for making reservations, tours, crazy requests (called the Whatever/Whenever W program). I however, have no need for having a 24ct. gold limo pick me up and an aquarium delivered to my room. THAT'S the kind of crazy stuff you can do here...for the right price of course. Comforting all the same. The front lobby was fast, friendly, and led us up to our ocean view WOW suite. The elevator plays trance music. Awesome. The walk to the room is red, glowey, and like the set of a Gaga Video. Awesome. That leads me to the room.."WOW". The bellboy was waiting for us with our luggage already organized. He then oriented us to the room. Very helpful because of all the technology. There was a remote for the tv, curtains, IPOD station, and lights. The bathroom was about the size of a second room equipped with Bliss Spa products (much appreciated, plus you HAVE to go to the Bliss spa). Each of us got fuzzy complimentary W slippers (which i still have), and delightful robes. In the bar area they have what's called the Munchie Box....filled will all types of goodies for a whole lot of Euro. Didn't touch it, but sure was cute to stare at. They also had another mini bar set up at the window-bed that overlooked the entirety of Barceloneta Beach. Breathtaking...so much so I teared up it was so, SO beautiful. Last but not least was "Wow" lighting which came with another remote that used touch to manipulate what color light and how bright you wanted it. Fun to play with for sure. Everything was clean, and perfect. The pool area was my favorite spot. Great yummy snacks, and drinks to sip on while taking in the Spanish sun and ocean breeze while people watching. It had direct access to a private beach owned by W so that was easy. Great cheap, eats on the boardwalk but beware, people are ALL TYPES of naked on this beach. Don't let it ruin your lunch kids ;) Again, the grounds were immaculate. We also had a chance to go to Bravo Restaurant in the restaurant. To be honest, the tapas I had on the side-streets of la Ramblas beat this by far and cost me a lot less. We just were lazy and didn't feel like driving in to the city and figured why not. It wasn't bad by any means, but you can do better in Barcelona. Everyday spent here was without worry or care and security that if we wanted anything we could get it. Check out was smooth, and the goodbye was sad. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliesha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing