We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Yuppies”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #112 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect for Yuppies”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

So, you know how most 5 star hotels seem to cater to an "older" clientele and the fun hotels are usually cheap hostels in a bad location? Well, look no further. W Barcelona is a true world-class property that has an ultra-modern lounge, amazing pool area with bar and a priceless location/view from every room. My wife and I were there during the Spanish Grand Prix weekend and were greeted by a decent DJ playing at the check in. The hotel is an architectural marvel, that's both new and technologically advanced rooms with mood lighting etc. There are a lot of gadgets to explore in this well thought out hotel. The view from our 25th floor room was breathtaking and we were only a couple of floors down from the awesome club located on the top floor. The pool area is also increadibly trendy and fun...did I mention that already? The hotel is right next to the beach and only a short walk from cool restaurants, central Barcelona and one of the marinas. We got the special benefit of running into Michael Schumacher a couple of times since he was staying there also. This was an exceptional experience we would love to repeat! Highly recommended if you're not on a budget and not in your 60s.

Room Tip: No bad views in this hotel. Try not to be at the very top as the top floor night club goes well into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,828
    1,497
    513
    244
    204
See reviews for
841
2,711
242
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The W Barcelona is amazing in so many ways. The location is convenient. We used the local buses to get around and the bus stop is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Our room was incredible with a million dollar view. The concierge desk, which helped us on a few occasions, was excellent. The staff are all young and enthusiastic. Mr. A. Costa at reception stood out as someone who made us feel very special. Our stay at the W was a highlight of our visit to Barcelona. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Upon arriving into Barcelona, British Airways had lost our luggage. The W Hotel staff was very accommodating and understanding of trying to help us get our luggage delivered to the hotel as soon as possible. The W Insider team was the most helpful throughout our trip to Barcelona. In particular, Pamela and Sarah treated us with exceptional service and helping to arrange the special requests I had for planning my engagement. They went over and above to arrange our reservations at the restaurant and upon our return from dinner they decorated the room. Our room was spectacular with a view of the coastline. The rooms amenities were also exceptional. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Simply stunning architecture and decorating if the modern style is your thing, and it definitely is mine. Really a 4+ star hotel with a couple of rough edges to keep it interesting.

On the way to the hotel, you can see it forever and and while your anticipation builds at the sight of actually entering the glorious building, you may be forgiven for thinking you'll never get there. This hotel is off the beaten path across from the cruise ship dock and there is construction both along the circuitous route and adjacent to the hotel.

You may also be forgiven the look of horror as you step out of the cab only to realize that a veritable sea of hot pavement separates your position at the curb from the actual entrance to the hotel. Maybe they could invest in some of those resort golf carts with the yellow and white striped canopies to ferry people to and from the curb - OK it's hyperbole, but it really is an unexpectedly wide promenade for such a high-end hotel!

We arrived early in the afternoon, and there were no bellmen curbside to assist with the forementioned obstacle either. The single gentleman outside seems only to be there to direct taxis (and he has his hands full as this is a very busy hotel.) They really need a couple more full time bellmen hanging around *outside* and schlepping bags from the curb to reception.

Once inside, we were greeted with a sea of people. There are 4 or 5 checkin stations, fully manned, but the lines move slowly. Once you get face to face with a human though, the experience is courteous and friendly. Our room wasn't available due to our early arrival so they took our cell number and offered to call us when the room was ready. Never did receive the call, but when I went back to inquire about the room, it was ready by their standard checkin time of 15:00.

Arrival pains aside, once you're in the cocoon, this is a truly striking hotel. Visually impressive and full of helpful staff. Drinks are expectedly pricey, but not out of line with other hotels in this category.

The views from the higher floors are worth the cost of admission, assuming you are on the left (north) side of the hotel facing the beach, not the harbor side.

We had one of the Fabulous rooms on the 21st floor facing the beach/boardwalk and were impressed by both the size of the room and the view. Modern and clean with all the amenities you'd expect including an iPod player. The bath area (I hesitate to say "bathroom" because it wasn't a room) was a little funky, with the sink in the main room and the shower and toilet both in their own glass-enclosed roomettes with doors opening into the main room. Not complaining, it is a W after all, and style is what they do best. I personally found it fascinating, but others may be put off by it. The shower was spacious with good water pressure and plenty of hot water.

Due to its location, there are not a lot of things to do adjacent to the hotel other than the beach, so we wandered down the boardwalk in search of dinner. There are some beachy and reasonably priced restaurants a 10 min walk up the boardwalk.

While you're there, stake out a spot on the beach and enjoy the "lounge chair" service. No better place to relax with your beverage of choice. Also, the pool bar is a beautiful spot for enjoying the ocean breeze if not a dip.

Checkout was unfortunately a mess. Long lines, long waits, slow computers. Reception is something they really need to address. Took me 10 min in line, 10 min checking out, and another 10 when I finally got the bill and realized they forgot to add the breakfast charge. The guy at the desk had a heck of a time getting the restaurant to answer the phone so he could update the bill! Really, this should have been handled automagically by the computer.

Overall, the hotel was stunning as to be expected, and once inside lived up to my expectations for a hotel of this class. Dearth of bellmen and checkin/out aside, everything else was, as they say, Fabulous. I'll definitely be back my next trip through Barcelona.

Room Tip: Go high. Beg for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Upon entering the hotel and exclusively escorted by staff to the private elevators taking my friends and I up to the night club/lounge on the top floor, we made our way through the chique interior and delved into some bubbly and dancing. The place is filled with lots of pretty people and great to engage in meeting some fun ones. Eye candy abundant too for the ladies!
Service was supreme and a table was cleared for my friends and I when we entered and ordered the champagne.
Give it a try. Views are sweet,, in every aspect!!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GenandLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

beautiful hotel - very stunning, but service is poor. Service is very cold. I even wrote a letter to the manger about a problem I was having I did not get a response at all - not even an apology! Besides the service my room AC did not work - and this building gets very hot because of the sun and the ocean. I noticed a lot of outside guests in the hotel hanging out and next time if I am in the mood for a 14 euro mojito - I may stop by as well . I will NEVER stay there again

Room Tip: rooms are hot - you will sweat. The ocean and sun make the building warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbabe733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Everything about this hotel screamed luxury! Being SPG members we were immediately upgraded to a high floor room...with a view that is amazing!

From the food, to the pool, to the beach, to the service, this is one of the bet hotels I have ever stayed in.

Bravo W! Thanks for making our European trip even more incredible

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbhubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#59 of 513 in Barcelona
4,575 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
2,922 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing